Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

WGSS 365: Gender, Justice and the Environment: WGSS304-Men, Manhood & Masculinities

Finding Books

You can begin searching in Orbis using a string of keywords but the most successful way is to use subject headings. Check out the tab above for suggested subject headings relating to gender studies in general. Or see below for more specific subject headings.

WorldCat - another catalog of more than 50 million holdings from libraries around the world. Check here for other resources about gender studies.

Subject Headings

Masculinity

Androcentrism

Men

Brotherhoods

Wild men

Husbands

HIV-positive men

Jewish men

Male prostitutes

Gangs

Dandies

Man-woman relationships

Machismo

Sex role

Finding Articles

Alt-Press Watch -Covers a wide range of national and local publications that complement and challenge mainstream media.

Alternative Press Index (and Archive) - This database is the largest collection of alternative literature. 90% of the materials indexed in it are unique and used to report and analyze cultural, economic, social and political change. 1991 - present

Gender Studies Database - Journal articles, book chapters and websites are indexed int this database which covers a wide range of topics in gender studies scholarship. Coverage goes back to 1972 - present

GenderWatch - A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject including business, education, the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology and pop culture. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, government and NGO publications. 1978 - present

LGBT Life - Provides citations and some full text articles on lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. It covers core scholarly publications, as well as many alternative publications and grey literature. Disciplines covered include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, psychology, religion, sociology, and more.

These are the primary databases used in the field of LGBTQ research. However there are a plethora of databases in other disciplines that include information about LGBTQ topics. I'd encourage you to use these other databases as well in your research. For suggestions of other databases go to the subject guide list.

Please Fill This Out

I'm also looking to improve my teaching. Please help me by filling out the instruction evaluation form.

Thanks!

Your Personal Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Jennifer Snow

Contact me!

Gwyneth Crowley is the subject librarian for women's, gender & sexuality studies. You can reach her at 432.3213 or gwyneth.crowley@yale.edu. Her office is located at the Social Science Library, 140 Prospect St.