Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Italian Language and Literature: Looking for Books, Articles, & More

Library resources for Italian language and literature at Yale

Core bibliographic databases for Italian Studies

Look here for bibliographic databases and collections of abstracts.

How to find book reviews?

Book reviews on Italian literature on the Web:

_________________________________________________________

Yale journal databases for literary book reviews:

General book review and journal databases can help you discover whether a book on literature has reached a broader scholarly and sometimes general audience, and if so, what the reception might have been.  These databases will of course overlap with the literary databases.

Academic Search is a general database covering all fields, including many important popular magazines.  To find book reviews in it, follow the following instructions when you connect, you will be in the default Basic Search.  Switch to Advanced Search.  In the lower left there's a section called "Limit your results."  Look in the "Document Type" field for "Book Review."  Then go ahead and enter your search terms and run the search.  (Or if you prefer, enter your search terms and the add the book review limit before running the search.)

Search for the book title (not the review title). Some reviews will be available in full text, but others will only be citations -- use the Yale Links feature to find the full text of the review in another database, or look up the journal in Orbis.

IBR includes reviews in foreign languages!  It does not provide any full text, but again, the Yale Links button may locate the reviews in other databases.

____________________________________________________

Newspaper databases for book reviews

Newspaper reviews have the widest readership, and some are highly respected.  In this section I've included general newspaper databases, and direct links to a few important review sources (even though they're covered by other Library databases).

Covers numerous newspapers and magazines in full text.  Unfortunately it does not provide any way to limit to books reviews.

Covers numerous newspapers and magazines in full text.  To get to reviews, first click on the News tab.  Then, in the "Sources" drop-down box, select "Book, movie, music, play and video reviews."

These reviews are accessible through a number of Library databases, but this is a direct link for coverage from 1985 on.  Remember that it covers only the NYTBR, if the book was never reviewed there your search will be unsuccessful.

Click on "Subscribers" to get to the search screen.  Be aware that this database covers only the TLS, and that currently it only covers 1909-1990, with a few gaps.  So if the book was never reviewed there or it's too recent (as, alas, Modern Social Imaginaries is) your search will be unsuccessful.  But all is not lost: more recent issues of TLS are covered by some of the Library's other databases, including Book Review Digest, Book Review Index, Academic Search and others.

Finding Books in Italy

OPAC SBN: Catalogo del servizio bibliotecario nazionale 

Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Firenze: catalogo

Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Roma: catalogo

Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Napoli: catalogo

Biblioteche italiane on Internet 

Searching other institutions' catalogs for books

You didn't find what you needed in the Yale catalog? Please look here: