Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Archives at Yale: Staff Training: Requesting Materials

Using the new public user interface for Yale Special Collections

Introduction

 

General information about requesting materials can be found in the lower right corner of the Archives at Yale home page, under "Requesting Materials." Patrons are advised to consult with the repository for specific hours, access policies, etc. Contact information for each repository is given under the top bar tab "Repositories".

 

Each finding aid contains a link to request materials from the collections. Each repository has its own location, hours, and policies for providing access to its collections. Please consult the repository with questions about using the materials. Collections are non-circulating and must be used in the repository’s reading room. In many cases the collections are stored off-site and require advance notice for retrieval. Some finding aids contain digitized versions of all or parts of a collection, but in most cases viewing a collection in its entirety will require visiting the repository.

Requesting materials (part one)

Part of collection that can be requested

Request materials by clicking on the "Request" icon. After you click "Request," you will be directed to "Login" to Aeon through the Yale University Library.

Requesting Materials (part two)

screenshot of Aeon request page

After logging into Aeon, your requests will appear in a queue. If you have duplicate requests (since materials is requested at the folder level), you will be notified that they will merge into a single entry. Like with YFAD, you will have to enter the scheduled date for viewing the material before clicking "Submit."

Requesting Materials

When using the Navigate the Collection pane, requesting materials may only be done at the folder or item level. An error message will appear if an attempt is made to request material at the collection or series level. 

 

Part of collection where request cannot be used


It is also possible to place a request through the Container List view. After you click on the container, a request icon will appear at the top of the page. In this case, it is not necessary to select a specific folder or item to request.

Container list

Request from container list