Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Archives at Yale: Staff Training: Looking at Finding Aids

Using the new public user interface for Yale Special Collections

Intro

Finding aids in Archives at Yale look different than in the Yale Finding Aid Database (YFAD). There are three ways to view a finding aid: Collection Overview, Finding Aid view, and Container List - as well as the option to download a pdf of the finding aid.

Collection Overview

 

Collection Overview gives select information about a collection, with additional fields collapsed below. There is a Navigation Bar on the right side of the screen, which features expandable levels of information.

Collection Overview view of a collection record

Finding aid view

 

Finding Aid View allows the user to scroll through the entire finding aid. The material loads dynamically as you scroll. Note that this particular feature does need some adjustment, and will not be fully operational until early 2019. In the interim, please direct patrons to the PDF download.

Finding Aid View of a collection record

 

 

 

Container List

The Container List view is very helpful for staff. Clicking on the number of the container will show you what items are in that container.

Container List view of a collection record