Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
At this time, Yale libraries are open to current faculty, staff, and students; IDs are required for entrance. Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Archives at Yale: Staff Training: Editing Content

Using the new public user interface for Yale Special Collections

Navigating Between Staff and Public Interfaces

Thanks to the "View Published" button in your resource record, you can move from the staff interface to the public interface to view a published finding aid. Similarly, you can navigate directly from the public interface to the staff interface to edit records using the "Staff Only" icon. 

The "Staff Only" editing icon will only appear if:

  1. You are logged in the ArchivesSpace staff interface in the same browser.
  2. You are permitted to edit the record. (Most staff members creating archival description can only edit finding aids of their own repositories. For example, a Beinecke Library staff looking at a Divinity Library finding aid will not see the "Staff Only" icon.)

The "Staff Only" icon will appear at many levels of description in the public interface (collection-level, series, files, top container records, etc.) and will link to the corresponding record in the staff interface. In the example below, an edit is made in a file description:

Archives at Yale with Staff Only buttonStaff Interface for the same record

The "Staff Only" editing button is the only way to reach from the public interface a specific part of a finding aid in the staff interface. 

Saving Edits to a Published Record

Edits to published content made in the staff interface, like fixing a typo, changing a date of creation, or adding a sentence to an existing note, will be updated automatically in the public interface. All you have to do is saving your changes ("Save Resource" or "Save Archival Object") as usual.

Note: If you have an Archives at Yale tab open while making edits, you may need to refresh your browser before seeing the changes displayed.

If you have set your defaults to not publish, as is recommended here, more substantial additions to published resources will need your manual input before they are added to Archives at Yale. There are two cases where edits require manual publication:

  1. You added 1 or more subrecords (new series, subseries, files, or items) to a published resource.
  2. You added a note to a resource or a subrecord.

After publishing a resource, any new subrecord or note will display a blank "Publish?" box. When ready, you have the option to check the "Publish?" box for each new subrecord/note you create, or hitting the collection-level "Publish All" button another time.

Remember:

  1. Clicking the "Publish?" box for a parent record (like an added series) will not publish child records (the files listed under that new series).
  2. Multi-part notes have two "Publish?" boxes (one for the note label, one for the note text). Both must be checked in order to display properly. Unchecked Publish? boxes in new notes fields in ArchivesSpace
  3. If you must record information that should not be public, but that cannot go in internal collection management fields, you may add notes to your resource or subrecords after hitting "Publish All", making sure their "Publish?" boxes are blank. However, if you later make public additions to your resource, you will not be able to use the "Publish All" function without risking exposing the confidential notes. Any workflows involving confidential information should be treated with care during the transition to the new public user interface.