Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Archives at Yale: Staff Training: Publishing Archival Records

Using the new public user interface for Yale Special Collections

Publishing Full Finding Aids

After completing a finding aid, go to its collection-level page and click on "Publish All". 

Publish All button

Then, after a minute or two, you can use "View Published" to be directed to the Archives at Yale public interface and see the finding aid live. You may need to refresh your browser.

Publication confirmation message

 

In the staff interface, a green message and a check in the "Publish?" box will appear to confirm the publication.

Why couldn't you simply check the "Publish?box instead clicking the "Publish All" button? Because the public would then only see the collection-level description (Summary, Biographical Statements, etc), but not any series, subseries, and files in the hierarchy below.

The "Publish All" function will publish all notes created in the Notes section. See the page Understanding Publish All for more information and options of fields to use for internal notes that will not be affected by the "Publish All" function.

Publishing Parts of Collections

To publish only selected components of a collection:

  1. Publish the collection-level record without its components by ticking the "Publish?" checkbox on your resource record and saving. This will publish the main parent record without its associated children (series, subseries, etc), unlike the "Publish All" button. 
    Publish? checkbox for top-level record

  2. Navigate to the level of collection you want to publish. (If you want to publish only 1 subseries within a series, you will have to repeat the previous step for the series-level record: tick the "Publish?" checkbox at the series level).
  3. Expand the drop-down menu under "More" at the top right of your record, and select "Publish this and all children". (Nota bene: This option will only appear for components that have children. To publish or unpublish files or items at the lowest level of the hierarchy, you'll have to manually tick the "Publish?" box for each.)
     Drop-down menu under the tab More

"Publish?" Checkbox

The following principles apply when manually publishing and unpublishing content at any level of the collection using the "Publish?" checkbox: 

  1.  Publishing a parent record does not automatically publish the child record (except when using the "Publish All" or "Publish this and all children" functions).
  2.  BUT un-publishing a parent record automatically un-publishes the child record (except when using the "Unpublish all chidren" function).

Here is an example to illustrate these principles:

Finding aid example with a series and file list in ArchivesSpace

Let's say you were to go into the Writings, 1970-2005 series-level page and check the "Publish?" box. Patrons using the Archives at Yale public interface would see the series-level information (title, date, extent, descriptive notes, etc.), but they would not see the file Scientific article, 2002. Such granular publishing control can be beneficial if, for instance, the contents of a series are to be kept confidential and restricted until a certain date. Note that, for a series record to display successfully in the public interface, its parent collection record must also be published.

Warning message about an unpublished ancestor in ArchivesSpace

However, if you tried to publish only the Scientific article, 2002 file without also publishing its parent series Writings, 1970-2005, you would get a warning message and fail to display the content in Archives at Yale.

The system was designed so that you cannot accidentally display information about an orphaned child record without its associated parent record.