Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Dead Sea Scrolls: Indexes

Find Indexes/Databases

Yale University provides hundreds of electronic indexes/databases. To view an exhaustive list of those available, follow this link, Find Databases A-Z, or use the search box below.



Yale has also digitized hundreds of its own collections, including photographs, maps, drawings, photos, and more. To search for your own, follow this link: Yale Digital Collections.

To view the digital collections available through the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript library, follow this link: Beinecke Digital Collections.

Indexes

Atla Religion Database (Atla RDB) with AtlaSerials (Atlas)

Produced by Atla, a membership association of collectors and connectors in religion and theology, this database combines the premier indexing from Atla Religion Database® (Atla RDB®) with AtlaSerials® (Atlas®), one of Atla's online full-text collections of major religion and theology journals. Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials provides coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for several journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope.

Database for Verbs in the Dead Sea Scrolls

In this volume, Ken M. Penner uses an empirical method to establish that the Qumran authors’ selection of finite verb forms is determined not by aspect, but by tense or modality. Excel spreadsheet download of parsed (binyan, aspect, etc.) Dead Sea Scrolls verbs. Uses German verbal terminology: G=Qal, C=Causative/Hiph'il, D=Pi'el, N=Niph'al, Dp=Pu'al, Cp=Hoph'al, Gp=Qal passive (rare), Gt=Qal with infixed taw (possibly non-existent), and tD=Hitpa'el).

The Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library: Biblical Texts (Yale VPN)

The Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library presents a complete Hebrew transcription and English translation of the Biblical texts, together with high-resolution images. The contents of this online publication is identical to that of the Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library Biblical Texts CD-ROM, published by Brill and Brigham Young University, but its interface is adapted to Brill's online platform for reference works.

The Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library: Non-Biblical Texts (Yale VPN)

Based on the Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library CD-ROM, published by Brill and Brigham Young University, Brill proudly announces an internet edition whereby the biblical texts have been made available in 2015 and the non-biblical texts are available as of the 1st of April 2016. Both databases present a complete Hebrew transcription and English translation of the Biblical text and the Non-Biblical text, together with high-resolution images and can now be used side by side covering all the DSS texts ever published before.

JSTOR (Yale VPN)

Searches academic journals and books in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Full-text access to most journal articles.

Old Testament Abstracts (Yale VPN)

A product of a partnership between Atla and the Catholic Biblical Association, this database features indexing and abstracts for religion and theology journal articles, monographs, multi-author works and software related to Old Testament studies.

RAMBI

RAMBI is a selective bibliography of academic articles covering all of the fields of Jewish Studies, and it is largely based on the collections of the National Library. RAMBI refers to articles in Hebrew, Latin or Cyrillic letters. By the end of 2013 RAMBI included about 350,000 records, from about 21,000 different sources. A Rambi record includes – in its abbreviated form: author, title, bibliographic information and access to the full text. For further information please open the full record. Search options are: Subject, Author, Title, Source or keywords from any of these fields.The database is updated on a daily basis.

Religious and Theological Abstracts is an indexing and abstracting database covering scholarly journals in the fields of religion and theology. It includes a variety of periodical literature including Christian, Jewish, and other world religions, and it provide English language abstracts of articles in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages. It supports searching by title, author, year, Bible citation, and journal name. Updated quarterly.