Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Dead Sea Scrolls: Internet Resources

Internet Resources

Biblical Archaeology Society Library

Full text of Biblical Archaeology Review, Bible Review, Archaeology Odyssey, the New Encyclopedia of Archaeological Excavations in the Holy Land (2008), and other BAS publications.

Google Scholar

A freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

Israel Antiquities Authority

Provides resources on current archaeological excavations, the Dead Sea Scrolls, and various collections and archives.

Orion Center for the Study of the Dead Sea Scrolls and Related Literature

Provides a fascinating virtual tour of the Kh. Qumran site with reconstruction of the ancient buildings, background material, extensive bibliographies, and links to articles available online.

The Dead Sea Scrolls Timetable

An in-depth timetable of the discovery of the Dead Sea Scrolls and the resulting debates and scholarship.

The Digital Dead Sea Scrolls

The Israel Museum's Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Project allows users to examine and explore the most ancient manuscripts from Second-Temple times at a level of detail never before possible. Developed in partnership with Google, the new website gives users access to searchable, fast-loading, high-resolution images of the scrolls, as well as short explanatory videos and background information on the texts and their history. The Dead Sea Scrolls, which include the oldest known biblical manuscripts in existence, offer critical insight into Jewish society in the Land of Israel during the Second Temple Period, the time of the birth of Christianity and Rabbinic Judaism. Five complete scrolls from the Israel Museum have been digitized for the project at this stage and are now accessible online.

The Leon Levy Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Library

The Leon Levy Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Library offers an exceptional encounter with antiquity. Using the world's most advanced imaging technology, the Digital Library preserves thousands of scroll fragments, including the oldest known copies of biblical texts, now accessible to the public for the first time.