Skip to main content

Yale Library Search the websiteOff-campus access

 *Library staff are here to support you during these uncertain times. Learn about our remote services and resources.*

2019 Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19): Latest Research

If you have questions about clinical care, please email your librarian: clinical.librarians@yale.edu

Latest Research

Citation Collection

The Cushing/Whitney Medical Library developed a public collection of COVID-19 citations to aid the research and clinical practice missions of the Yale Schools of Medicine, Public Health, and Nursing and the Yale New Haven Hospital.

Access the collection on the public Zotero library (no account required) 

Includes daily updates from PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov, Disaster Lit, and preprints* from bioRxiv and medRxiv. 


About the project

This project was developed at the request of Sten Vermund, Albert Ko, and other researchers at YSPH who helped determine the project scope and organization.  

Most records include abstracts and all include links for users to pursue full-text access. To access the URL, click on a citation and scroll down to the URL field. 

The tool, while thorough, is not the complete record of COVID-19 literature. Other resources in this space include:

  • LitCovid: Curated collection of more than 1,200 journal articles hosted by the National LIbrary of Medicine

  • COVID-19 Open Research Data: Tool leveraging natural language processing to aggregate articles about COVID-19 hosted by Semantic Scholar

  • COVID-19 Open Research Map: Interactively engage with COVID-19 research output and explore connections between publications


How we're collecting citations

PubMed: Citations of journal articles (strategy includes a daily date limit, too)

covid-19[tw] OR COVID19[tw] OR COVID-19[nm] OR SARS-CoV-2[tw] OR SARS-CoV2[tw] OR severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2[nm] OR severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2[tw] OR 2019-nCoV[tw] OR 2019nCoV[tw] OR coronavirus[tw] OR coronavirus[mh] 

ClinicalTrials.gov: Clinical trials registrations
COVID-19 OR Covid19 in the “other terms” search box

Disaster Lit: Guidelines, reports, conference proceedings
COVID-19 OR COVID19 OR SARS-CoV-2 OR SARS-COV2 OR 2019-nCoV OR 2019nCoV OR coronavirus 

bioRxiv and medRxiv: Preprints
Utilizing the RSS feed listed here

*Preprints -- which are manuscripts made available prior to peer review -- support the rapid dissemination of information. However, this means that these documents should be critically appraised and monitored for updates. 

Freely Accessible Literature on COVID-19