Skip to main content

ENGL 265 / AFAM 228 / AMST 385 / HUM 241: James Baldwin's American Scene: Home

This guide is intended for students in Professor Jacqueline Goldsby's course and provides an overview of key resources in the Yale Library for your reception archive assignment this semester.

Main search portals

Finding Archives Beyond Yale

Archive Grid contains records for finding aids from over 1000 archival institutions. Start here when you are seeking to discover if there are any relevant archival collections for your research beyond Yale. The "Summary View" option is a good way to filter your search results after running a search. This is an open access resource/no login required.

America: History and Life

Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada and indexes over 2000 historical journals. This is a key resource if you are searching for historical scholarship related to your research project.

Historical Newspapers and Periodicals

MLA International Bibliography

The MLA (Modern Language Association) Bibliography is the major index for literary studies; it's udated several times throughout the year. Subjects covered are:

  • Modern literatures
  • Literary theory and criticism
  • Linguistics
  • Teaching of language
  • Film, television and theater
  • Rhetoric and composition
  • History of the book
  • Folklore

A helpful way to search the MLA Bibliography is by using the Advanced search interface to run a "Primary Subject Author" and "Primary Subject Work" search.

Reference

Background or "reference" sources are a great place to start your research. Reference works include bibliographies, scholarly encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other sources that provide overviews of topics and suggestions for further reading.

Hathi Trust Emergency Temporary Access Service

Hathi Trust’s Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS) provides online access to in-copyright books in the Yale Library collection.  Catalog records for ETAS items can be found through Quicksearch and Orbis. If you’re already using the Yale VPN, you can click on the “Log In” link at the top of any Hathi Trust page and select Yale from the drop-down menu (if you access Hathi Trust without using the VPN, you will initially receive a prompt to use Duo Multi-Factor Authentication in order to access the database first).

A short video on the Hathi Trust ETAS can be found here, and a library guide here.

Library contacts

Carla Baricz, Librarian for Literature in English and Comparative Literature, carla.baricz@yale.edu

James Kessenides, Kaplanoff Librarian for American History, james.kessenides@yale.edu