Skip to main content

GLBL 351/HIST 471J Development and Development Aid in US History: Home

This guide is intended for students in Professor David Engerman's course and provides an overview of key resources in the Yale Library for writing your research papers this semester.

Reference works

Background or "reference" sources such as scholarly encyclopedias, handbooks, and bibliographies are a great place to start. They provide good overviews of the relevant scholarship and always include citations to secondary sources. Often they include primary source suggestions too.

The SHAFR Guide Online: An Annotated Bibliography of U.S. Foreign Relations since 1600

Latest edition of the major reference work for the study of U.S. foreign relations. Chapters are arranged both chronologically and topically. Among potentially relevant chapters is Ch. 28, "Economic Issues and U.S. Foreign Relations." 


Cambridge Histories
A key reference collection. Relevant works here include The Cambridge History of the Cold War and The Cambridge World History, Vol. 7, Part 1 and Part 2.


The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics

For technical references on economics issues.


Oxford Research Encyclopedia in American History

A fairly new resource that is likely to have relevant articles such as "United States Foreign Economic Aid."


Oxford Bibliographies

A large collection of annotated bibliographies, often with citations to both primary and secondary sources.


Oxford Handbooks Online

The Oxford Handbooks may be a helpful starting point for any number of topics. Books in this series include The Oxford Handbook of the Politics of Development.


Gale Virtual Reference Library

Includes the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences and other sources useful for quick references.

Maps

Citing your sources

Documenting the sources you use in your research paper is a key part of the research and writing process. Complete and accurate citations to the books, journal articles, primary sources, and other items you use will allow readers to verify your sources and explore them further if they'd like to learn more about the issues you've raised.

In the field of history, the standard citation style is the Chicago Style, and you will want to consult it to find the proper format for citing sources in your footnotes as well as at the end of your paper in your bibliography. Here are the main links for referring to the Chicago Manual of Style:

In addition, the Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab) offers a helpful overview of the Chicago Manual of Style (currently in its 17th edition).

Contact us

For questions about library resources, please contact:

  • Kenya Flash, Librarian for Political Science, Global Affairs & Government Information
  • James Kessenides, Kaplanoff Librarian for American History

Secondary sources

Government Reports

And, don’t forget, Orbis and Books+ are both important tools for locating secondary sources!

Country reports and analyses

IGO search engine

Use the Intergovernmental Organization Search Engine (a Google custom search) to search across hundreds of IGO websites:

NGO search engine

Use the Non-governmental Organization Search Engine to search across NGO websites. Sites were chosen based on their consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and also collated from University of Minnesota Human Rights Library, Duke University Libraries' NGO Research Guide, and the World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO).

Primary sources

Government information and related sources:


Historical newspapers and periodicals:


Don’t forget, Orbis and Books+ are also useful tools for finding primary sources.

Archives at Yale and contacts


Contacts:

Christopher J. Anderson, Special Collections Librarian and Curator of the Day Missions Collection, Divinity Library, christopher.j.anderson@yale.edu

Michael Brenes, Senior Archivist for American Diplomacy, Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library, michael.brenes@yale.edu

Bill Landis, Head of Public Services, Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library, bill.landis@yale.edu