Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Documents and Information: Home

This guide is a portal to Yale's government information collections and related research tools.

About this guide

Welcome! This guide is a portal to Yale's government information collections and related research tools. Use the tabs to explore our depository collections and additional topics, including the Harvard M. Applebaum Award for Senior Essays.

IGO search engine

Use the Intergovernmental Organization Search Engine (a Google custom search) to search across hundreds of IGO websites:

NGO search engine

Use the Non-governmental Organization Search Engine to search across NGO websites. Sites were chosen based on their consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and also collated from University of Minnesota Human Rights Library, Duke University Libraries' NGO Research Guide, and the World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO).

Yale University Library's depository collections

Yale University Library is a depository for publications from the following governments and IGOs:

Although many documents and publications from these organizations are now available electronically, the library continues to receive core documents in print and to maintain rich historical collections in these areas. The library's depository holdings are supplemented by subscription databases that facilitate full-text searching and access to these collections.

By federal law or depository agreements, Yale University Library's government documents collections are available for use by the public.

For more details about the scope and strengths of Yale's government documents collections, please consult our collection development policy.

Where are the government documents and how do I get them?

Yale Library's print government document collections are fully cataloged and searchable in Orbis.

Most documents are located in the Library Shelving Facility (LSF) and can be requested through Orbis for delivery to any library on campus. When you've found the Orbis record for the item you need, click on Request Recall or Delivery and either log in with your Yale NetID and password or with the barcode on the front of your Library-issued ID Card (Visitor Card or Proxy Card) and your last name.

Non-Yale affiliates may request government documents from LSF; for more details about policies and privileges, please see the library's borrowing and circulation guide. For questions about specific documents, contact the Librarian for Government InformationPlease be aware that depending on the item type, it may take up to TWO days for facilitated access to materials.

Access to electronic government information

The library provides public access to government electronic information disseminated through the Federal Depository Library Program subject to the Yale University Library Policy on Appropriate Use of Library Computers. Electronic government documents on removable media (CD-ROM, DVD-ROM, floppy disk) that are held in the library's collections may be checked out in accordance with the library's borrowing policies.

Librarian for Political Science. Global Affairs, and Government Information

Kenya Flash's picture
Kenya Flash