Background or "reference" sources are a great place to start your research. Reference works include bibliographies, scholarly encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other sources that provide overviews of topics and suggestions for further reading.
Includes the Cambridge Histories and Cambridge Companions
An extensive collection of annotated bibliographies often pointing to both primary and secondary sources.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Lengthy chapters in the Oxford Handbooks usually provide helpful overviews of topics and historiography and suggestions for further reading. Includes The Oxford Handbook of Asian American History and The Oxford Handbook of Oral History.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History
Arranged by subfields such as 20th Century: Post-1945, 20th Century: Pre-1945, Asian American History, Late 19th-Century History, the articles here are informative with substantial discussion of the historical literature and suggestions for further reading.
Wiley Online Library
Includes A Companion to Asian American Studies, Asian American Studies After Critical Mass, A Companion to 19th-Century America, A Companion to 20th-Century America, and other potentially useful reference works in which the chapters will provide overviews of topics and suggestions for further reading.
Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada and indexes over 2000 historical journals. This is a key resource if you are searching for historical scholarship related to your research project.
Archive Grid contains records for finding aids from over 1000 archival institutions. Start here when you are seeking to discover if there are any relevant archival collections for your research beyond Yale. The "Summary View" option is a good way to filter your search results after running a search. This is an open access resource/no login required.
Hathi Trust’s Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS) provides online access to in-copyright books in the Yale Library collection. Catalog records for ETAS items can be found through Quicksearch and Orbis. If you’re already using the Yale VPN, you can click on the “Log In” link at the top of any Hathi Trust page and select Yale from the drop-down menu (if you access Hathi Trust without using the VPN, you will initially receive a prompt to use Duo Multi-Factor Authentication in order to access the database first).