Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

HIST 131J / ER&M 392: City Limits: Urban History in the United States, 1865-Present: Manuscripts and Archives Assignment

This guide is intended for students in Professor Jennifer Klein's course and provides an overview of key resources in the Yale Library for your research papers this semester.

Archives Assignment for Wednesday, March 10th

The boxes in the 3 columns below each contain a description of a different archival collection (in one case a run of a publication) held at either Manuscripts & Archives (in Sterling Memorial Library) OR the Divinity Library Special Collections. These are two of the Yale Library’s seven special collections repositories. Each box contains a link to the finding aid or catalog record for the collection, a paragraph providing an overview of the collection, and links to several folders of material from each collection that have been digitized for your use in HIST 131J/ER&M 392. The links to the digitized folders, which are stored on Google Drive, do not work well with the Microsoft Edge browser. They seem to work best with Google Chrome and also work well with Safari.

You'll be working on this assignment in pairs (with one group of three) assigned by Professor Klein. After class today (Wednesday, March 3rd), your group will browse the collection boxes below and select one of them that you will explore and present to the rest of the class at next week’s session (March 10th). To "claim" one of the collection boxes, add your name(s) in Column A on this spreadsheet beside the collection you want to present on March 10th..

IMPORTANT NOTE: The sooner you do select a collection and add your name to the spreadsheet, the more choice you’ll have – only one team can present a collection! Also note that your selecting one of these collections is for surveying purposes only so that you can present to your classmates about the digitized material from it on March 10th. It doesn’t commit you to that collection for the writing assignments for this course!

For the Wednesday, March 10th class session, you’ll be joined by James Kessenides, the Kaplanoff librarian for American history, and Bill Landis, from Manuscripts & Archives.

Between now and class time on March 10th, your group will explore the digitized folders linked to the collection you’ve chosen and think about how best to present the collection to your classmates in about 4 minutes on March 10th. Don’t forget to follow the link to the Archives at Yale finding aid or Orbis catalog record for your collection so that you have a good sense of how much and what other types of material exist in the collection. You may need to do a little additional research online or in other sources to get a better sense of the people and time period represented in your digitized collection materials - remember that contextualizing primary sources will be a critical piece of your research paper for this course!

Each group will give a presentation on March 10th about your collection, in which you should try to address the following questions:

  1. Who created this archival collection or publications, when were the materials in it created, where were they created?
  2. What is going on in the folders you looked at? What is the context for the document(s) you looked at?
  3. Whose perspective(s) comes through in the document(s) you examined? Whose doesn’t?
  4. What can you know based on the sources you have in front of you? What do you not know?
  5. What questions do the sources raise that could help someone shape a research paper for this course?
  6. Did anything surprise you when looking at the folders in your collection?

Please keep your group's presentation to right around 4 minutes -- we have a lot to accomplish during the class session on March 10th. Be creative in your presentation, and focus on what's interesting to you and your groupmate(s) and what you think will be interesting to others in this course. Use the above questions as a framework and don't feel like you have to answer each one.

AIM Bulletin (Ovd83 N37 +Am35A)

The AIM Bulletin was a newspaper published by the American Independent Movement, a political organization based in New Haven in the late 1960s through the mid 1970s. The publication changed its title to Modern Times in May 1970 and continued publication through 1976. The group was active in local politics and concerned about civil rights and related urban issues.

Aim Bulletin (Local call number: Ovd83 N37 +Am35A): Multiple issues digitized from  the first four volumes:

Rose Pastor Stokes Papers (MS 573) and James Graham Phelps Stokes Papers (MS 1587)

Link to the finding aid in Archives at Yale (Rose Pastor Stokes Papers)

Papers consist of correspondence, writings, printed material, clippings, and other papers of Rose Pastor Stokes, writer, artist, and radical political and social activist. Much of the material relates to Stokes's activities and involvement with various radical groups, including the American Communist Party and the Socialist Party. The correspondence reflects these involvements and contains many letters exchanged with American political radicals, labor leaders, and anarchists from the early 20th century. 

Link to the finding aid in Archives at Yale (James Graham Phelps Stokes Papers)

Papers consist primarily of correspondence of James Graham Phelps Stokes and Rose Pastor Stokes between 1903 and 1910. Correspondents include personal friends, family members, and colleagues active in social reform work and the Socialist Party. 

Rose Pastor Stokes Papers (MS 573), Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library:

James Graham Phelps Stokes Papers (MS 1587), Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library:

Gay and Lesbian Advocates and Defenders (GLAD) Records (MS 1961)

Link to the finding aid in Archives at Yale

Records document the organization and activities of the Gay & Lesbian Advocates & Defenders (GLAD), a nonprofit legal organization dedicated to defending the rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals and people with HIV, primarily in New England. The collection primarily consists of litigation, amicus, and legal research files. Also includes are correspondence, topical files, reports, meeting minutes, publications, volunteer and training manuals, and newspaper clippings created or maintained by GLAD. While the majority of the files are related to GLAD's litigation efforts, all aspects of the organization are documented in the collection, including its history, structure, and activities from its founding in 1978 to the present. The collection provides a rich resource for the study of GLAD, anti-discrimination efforts, social attitudes towards LGBTQ people and those affected by HIV/AIDS, and the legal issues facing lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people and people with HIV in the United States.

Gay and Lesbian Advocates and Defenders (GLAD) Records, Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library:

Social Ethics Pamphlet Collection (RG 73)

Link to the finding aid in Archives at Yale

Collection includes pamphlets, brochures, typescripts, booklets, comic books, posters, cartoons, letters, memoranda, offprints, etc., documenting various aspects of social issues in America and throughout the world during the mid-twentieth century.

Social Ethics Pamphlet Collection (RG 73), Divinity Library Special Collections:

Ogden Reid Papers (MS 755)

Link to the finding aid in Archives at Yale

Papers consist of correspondence, student papers, writings, speeches, subject files, congressional papers, clippings, photographs and miscellanea documenting the personal life and professional career of Ogden Rogers Reid. Among the subjects documented in the papers are Reid's student years at Yale University, his central role with the New York Herald Tribune, and his activities as ambassador to Israel and as a United States congressman. Files relating to his newspaper career include correspondence, writings, and speeches pertaining to many national and international individuals, topics, and events of interest.

Ogden Rogers Reid Papers (MS 755), Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library:

Robert Moses Papers (MS 360)

Link to the finding aid in Archives at Yale

Mimeographed and printed matter, together with a few photocopies of letters, compiled by Robert Moses. These form a record of projects which he sponsored or was connected with, particularly the New York World's Fair (1964-1965), the Power Authority of the state of New York and the Triborough Bridge Authority. Also clippings of newspaper and magazine articles by and about him, texts of speeches and reports by agencies of which he was a member.

Robert Moses Papers (MS 360), Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library:

Potter Stewart Papers (MS 1367)

Link to the finding aid in Archives at Yale

The papers consist of United States Supreme Court case files and supporting documentation, Appellate Court case files and supporting documentation, subject files, correspondence, writings, newspaper clippings, date books, photographs, and audiovisual materials that document Potter Stewart's career as an associate justice of the United States Supreme Court and as a judge on the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals. There are a small amount of documentation and photographs relating to his service on various committees outside the Court and his leisure activities with his family.

Potter Stewart Papers (MS 1367), Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library:

Harry Weinberger Papers (MS 553)

Link to the finding aid in Archives at Yale

Papers consist of correspondence, legal papers, notes, and other materials documenting Weinberger's career as a lawyer who specialized in civil liberties cases and, later in his career, copyright law. The one hundred and sixteen (116) case files include legal briefs, writs, and memoranda prepared by Weinberger and his staff, and similar material prepared by opposing attorneys. Correspondence files include letters with clients and individuals interested in a specific case. 

Harry Weinberger Papers (MS 553), Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library:

Philip and Lorna Sarrel Papers (MS 1922)

Link to the finding aid in Archives at Yale

Papers comprise biographical information of Philip M. and Lorna Sarrel; files documenting the establishment of the Young Mothers Program (YMP) at Yale-New Haven Hospital, an outgrowth of the teenage pregnancy clinic; the inclusion of sex education courses in curricula for a New Haven high school and Yale undergraduate and medical students; audiotapes of Sarrel's lectures; films, mostly commercially produced, depicting aspects of human sexuality for the training of college students and medical personnel; and related writings by Sarrel and others.

Philip M. and Lorna Sarrel Papers (MS 1922), Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library:

John Wilkinson Papers Documenting the Center for Advocacy, Research, and Planning (CARP) (MS 1661)

Link to the finding aid in Archives at Yale

The John Arthur Wilkinson Papers Documenting the Center for Advocacy, Research, and Planning (CARP) document the administrative and institutional history of CARP, and offer a detailed view of the workings of a non-profit civil rights legal agency. CARP's work in the New Haven area with dozens of minority economic interests and neighborhood organizations is reflected in extensive correspondence, legal memoranda, proposals, and collected material. CARP was founded in December 1973 as the legal arm and research agency of the Greater New Haven Chapter of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP). Much of the CARP material also addresses the general topic of African-Americans in the professions, particularly in law and business. There is substantive documentation on housing (discrimination, fair housing, neighborhood advocacy) and educational issues (especially concerning community and technical colleges).

John Wilkinson Papers Documenting CARP (MS 1661), Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library: