Skip to main content

HIST 165/AMST 199: "The American Century": Home

Main search portals

This guide is intended for students in Professor Beverly Gage's course and provides an overview of key resources in the Yale Library for researching 20th-c. U.S. political history.

General resources

Background or "reference" sources are a great place to start in building your bibliographies. These are scholarly encyclopedias, handbooks, bibliographies, and similar sources that will often contain lengthy essays with background information on a topic and overviews of the relevant scholarship. Citations to the secondary literature will always be included, and often so too will citations to primary sources.

Wiley Online Library
Relevant titles such as A Companion to 20th-Century America will provide overviews of topics and suggestions for further reading.


Oxford Research Encyclopedia in American History
This is a recent scholarly encyclopedia with many articles that provide informative overviews of topics and suggestions for finding primary and secondary sources.


Oxford Handbooks

These are useful sources for getting started on research projects. Helpful reviews of the scholarly literature and suggestions for further reading can be found in each chapter.


Oxford Bibliographies
This is a large collection annotated bibliographies arranged by subject and often citing both primary and secondary sources.


Gale Virtual Reference Library
Includes the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences and other sources useful for quick references.

Librarian for American History

James Kessenides's picture
James Kessenides
Contact:
james.kessenides@yale.edu

Off-campus access

To access Yale resources from off-campus, you will need to use the University's Virtual Private Network (VPN).