Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
At this time, Yale libraries are open to current faculty, staff, and students; IDs are required for entrance. Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

HIST 272J / ER&M 326: Militia and State Violence in British and American Empires: Home

This guide is intended for students in Kate Birkbeck's course and provides an overview of key resources in the Yale Library for your research papers this semester.

Main search portals

Finding Archives Beyond Yale

Reference Sources

Background or "reference" sources are a great place to start your research. Reference works include bibliographies, scholarly encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other sources that provide overviews of topics and suggestions for further reading.


Ashgate Research Companion to Modern Imperial Histories


Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History and Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History

These scholarly encyclopedias are great starting points that can be useful in the early stages of your research project. Each article has a discussion of the literature, including primary sources.


The "Gale in Context" series brings together reference articles, along with selected primary and secondary sources for getting started on your research:

Gale in Context: Global Issues

Gale in Context: U.S. History

Gale in Context: World History


Oxford Bibliographies

A large collection of annotated bibliographies arranged by subject. Includes articles such as:

"Empires and Colonialism" (Sociology module)

"Settler Colonialism" (Anthropology module)

"Settler Colonialism" (Literary and Critical Theory module)


Oxford Handbooks Online
Lengthy chapters in the Oxford Handbooks usually provide helpful overviews of scholarly topics and historical literature, along with suggestions for further reading. A number of the handbooks may be helpful depending on your research topic.


The Oxford History of the British Empire:

Volume 1: The origins of empire British overseas enterprise to the close of the seventeenth century

Volume 2: The Eighteenth Century

Volume 3: The Nineteenth Century

Volume 4: The Twentieth Century

Volume 5: Historiography


The Routledge handbook of American military and diplomatic history the Colonial Period to 1877

The Routledge handbook of American military and diplomatic history 1865 to the present

Guides to Historical Research & Writing

Subject Databases

The following bibliographic databases will be helpful for finding secondary sources, especially scholarly/peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, book reviews, and citations to book chapters and edited collections of books. Please note: the full text of articles will not always be available in these databases. If you see the "YaleLinks" icon instead of a PDF, click on the icon to discover whether we have online access to the article: 

And, don’t forget, Orbis, Books+ and Articles+ are all useful tools for locating secondary sources!

Library contacts

James Kessenides, Kaplanoff Librarian for American History - james.kessenides@yale.edu

Michael Printy, Librarian for Western European Humanities - michael.printy@yale.edu