Skip to main content

HIST 500: Approaching History: Problems, Methods, and Theory: Home

Information on access to Yale Library reading rooms, study spaces, and document delivery services for fall 2020.

Main search portals

Scan and Deliver & Interlibrary Loan

The library now offers limited Scan & Deliver service. However, turnaround time for these services may be significantly delayed, and the fulfillment of Interlibrary Loan scan requests is dependent on our partner libraries. We ask that you prioritize requesting items that are the most urgent for your research. At this time, Borrow Direct and physical interlibrary loan services are suspended until further notice.

 

Using the Yale Libraries in fall 2020

The Library Reopening FAQ contains the latest information and is updated regularly.

Access to general collection materials on-campus (Sept. 3, 2020):

Faculty, staff, and students with approved campus access may use the links in Orbis and Quicksearch to request materials for pickup at service desks in Bass Library, Marx Library, Haas Arts Library, and the Divinity Library.

To pick up materials in Sterling Library, use the "Contactless Pickup at Sterling Library Nave" option. The requested materials will be pre-checked-out to your library account, bagged, and arranged by user name on racks in the nave (just inside the main entrance from Cross-Campus.) Contactless pickup is also available at Cushing/Whitney Medical Library.

For those authorized to be in the libraries, most general collections are open for browsing. The following reading rooms in Sterling Library are closed, with different ways to access collection materials:

  • All reading rooms and study spaces on the upper levels of Sterling are closed. Users may request scans of chapters and articles from these collections using Scan and Deliver.
  • The Linonia and Brothers (L&B) Reading Room in Sterling is closed. Collection materials in this room may be requested for pickup or Scan and Deliver. 
  • The Microform Reading Room in Sterling Library is closed. To provide access to microform materials, we have set up a microform reader in Bass Library across from the service desk, and we are finalizing a system to request materials, Beginning Sept. 8, request microfilm and microfiche “Bass Service Desk Pickup” option in Orbis or Quicksearch. When you are finished viewing, place the materials in a designated return area. Please do not remove microform material from the library. Scans of microform material may be requested via Scan and Deliver. 
  • Access to the Peabody Museum's Babylonian Collection, located in Sterling Library, is by advance appointment only. 

For questions about collection material in the Classics Library, contact Classics Librarian Colin McCaffrey.

The Sterling Library stacks remain open, but we have discontinued checking out library materials to reserved carrels. We encourage carrel holders to check out to their personal accounts the materials most critical to their research and to take the materials with them when they leave the library. This is an important precaution against the possibility that libraries could be closed again with little notice, making materials left in carrels inaccessible.

Using Yale Special Collections in fall 2020

Across the library system, special collections reading rooms will be open by appointment only. The "Guide to Using Special Collections at Yale University" has links to request appointments at special collections reading rooms.

All researchers must make a reading room seat reservation online at least 24 hours before they plan to visit. The planned hours for each special collection reading room are:
•    Arts Library Special Collections – Mon-Fri, 1:00-4:00 PM
•    Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library – Mon-Fri, 9:00 AM-4:30 PM
•    Divinity Library Special Collections – Mon-Fri, 10:00 AM-4:00 PM
•    Lewis Walpole Library – Mon-Fri, 9:30 AM-4:00 PM
•    Manuscripts and Archives – Mon-Fri, 10:00 AM-4:00 PM
•    Medical Historical Library – Mon-Fri, 10 AM-Noon & 1:00-4:30 PM
Music Library special collections materials will be available for research use in the Manuscripts and Archives reading room.
 

Hathi Trust Emergency Temporary Access Service

Hathi Trust’s Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS) provides online access to in-copyright books in the Yale Library collection.  Catalog records for ETAS items can be found through Quicksearch and Orbis. If you’re already using the Yale VPN, you can click on the “Log In” link at the top of any Hathi Trust page and select Yale from the drop-down menu (if you access Hathi Trust without using the VPN, you will initially receive a prompt to use Duo Multi-Factor Authentication in order to access the database first).

A short video on the Hathi Trust ETAS can be found here, and a library guide here.

Internet Archive

Catalog records for e-books from the Internet Archive can be found through Orbis and Quicksearch. The Internet Archive is currently making books in its collection available to one borrower at a time. To use the Internet Archive, borrowers will need to create an Internet Archive account.

Quicksearch Tips

Quicksearch can be used to find books, journal articles, databases licensed by Yale Library, and archival materials that have been digitized from Yale special collections. Here are a few brief videos on using Quicksearch to find library materials: