Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Yale Library

HIST 793: Research Seminar in International and Global History: Home

This page is intended for students in Professor Odd Arne Westad's course and provides a brief overview of resources in the Yale Library for your research projects this semester.

Yale Library Search Tools

The main search tools for finding books, articles, databases, archival collections, and more at Yale (and beyond) can all be found on the "Find, Request, and Use" page of the library's website. Here are a few quick refreshers, but be sure to visit the page for a full overview:

Finding resources beyond Yale

Get It @ Yale

Get It @ Yale brings together three services of the Yale Library that greatly facilitate research work: Borrow Direct, Interlibrary Loan, and Scan & Deliver. Borrow Direct will furnish rapid delivery of titles from a small group of partner libraries if the book isn't available at Yale. Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a larger library partnership that can provide scans of journal articles that aren't available at Yale as well as loans of physical items such as books and microforms. Scan & Deliver will fulfill requests to have journal articles, book chapters, and limited pages from microforms held in the Yale Library scanned by members of the library staff and provided to you electronically. All of the Get It @ Yale services help to make your research more efficient, so please don't hesitate to use them or to reach out with any questions about them as you work on your essay!

Yale Library Subject Specialists and Subject Guides

Don't hesitate to reach out to a subject specialist to schedule a research consultation or for assistance finding resources for your research!

Library contact

James Kessenides, Kaplanoff Librarian for American History

Key Journals

Links appear here to the journals recommended by Professor Westad for research in global history. Earlier years are available for several of these journals. To find complete listings, search for the journal via our E-Journals search page. Please note: If you're ever searching for a journal that isn't available electronically, try searching for the paper version through the library catalog by doing a "Journal Title" search in Books+ or Orbis.

Reference works

Background or "reference" sources are a great place to start your research and can be extremely useful, especially if you're venturing into a new research area for your project. They include bibliographies, scholarly encyclopedias, historical dictionaries, handbooks, and other works that provide overviews of topics and suggestions for finding both primary and secondary sources.

Secondary Sources/Subject Databases

Subject-specific databases are a key resource for finding secondary literature, including the latest scholarly journal articles in the field, and the main subject databases for finding historical literature are:

Searching these databases will allow you to check for the latest scholarly articles, reviews of books, citations to book chapters, and more in a wide array of historical journals.

Selected Newspaper Databases

Selected Primary Source Databases (Manuscripts, Printed Materials, Films, etc.)

Declassified U.S. & British Government Information Databases