Skip to main content

English Language Judaica Research Materials: Archival and Manuscript Material

The Research Guide in Judaic Studies provides pointers to the print and microform collections, online databases, internet resources, and other resources for conducting research in Judaic Studies at the Yale University Library.

Yale Finding Aid Database

Archives and Manuscripts

Abba Hillel Silver papers [microform]. Cleveland, Ohio : Western Reserve Historical Society, [1994].

SML, Microform (Non-Circulating) Film B14818

235 microfilm reels; 35 mm.

Baruch Nadel Papers. 1847-1992 (inclusive), 1971-1985 (bulk)

SML, Manuscripts & Archives (Non-Circulating), MS 1393

The Baruch Nadel Papers consist of research materials collected by Nadel for use in his proposed studies of Abraham Stern and of the mass emigration of Jews from Iraq to Israel in 1950 and 1951. The papers also include correspondence, writings, printed material, and other documents pertaining to Nadel's father, Menahem Nadel, the Labor Zionist Movement, and Israeli history. The bulk of the material is composed of interviews and documents relating to Abrhaam Stern, the founder of Lohame Herut Yisrael ("Lehi"), an armed underground organization founded in 1940 which directed its activities against the British Mandatory authorities in Palestine.

Nadel donated his papers to the Yale University Library between 1984 and 1988. The papers are arranged in three series:

  1. Abraham Stern Files, 1929 - 1985
  2. Iraqi Jewish Immigrant Files, 1949 - 1985
  3. Other Papers, 1918 - 1985

Unpublished finding aid is available in the repository. A microfilm guide is also available. The papers (excluding Box 9 and the additions) are also available on microfilm (8 reels, 35mm) from Manuscripts & Archives. Yale University Library, at cost. Order no. HM208. Gift of Baruch Nadel, 1984-88 and 1992.

Despatches from U.S. consuls in Jerusalem, Palestine, 1856- 1906 (inclusive), [microform]

SML, Microform (Non-Circulating) FILM RG 59 M-453

5 reels. A register of despatches is available on reel one.

Palestine Statehood Committee: "Concerning the campaigns for a Jewish Army; to save the Jewish people of Europe and the establishment of a Hebrew Republic in Palestine" papers, 1933-1972 (inclusive).

SML, Manuscripts and Archives (Non-Circulating) MS 690

1939-1949 (bulk) 15.5 linear ft. (20 boxes, 6 folios, 15 v.) Unpublished finding aid in repository.