Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LING 211: Grammatical Diversity in U.S. English: Home

This guide is intended for students in Professor Raffaella Zanuttini's course and provides an overview of resources in the Yale Library for your final projects this semester.

Reference sources

Scholarly encyclopedias, handbooks, bibliographies, and other reference works are a great place to start and provide helpful overviews of/citations to the relevant scholarship.


The Atlas of North American English (Labov, Ash, and Boberg)


The Cambridge Grammar of the English Language (Huddleston and Pullum)

Print copy available in SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-circulating)


Oxford Bibliographies

A large collection of annotated bibliographies with many articles in the Linguistics module.


Oxford Handbooks Online

Includes 56 books in the Linguistics collection.


Wiley Online Library

Many resources are available here via the Language and Linguistics collections.

Main search portals

Secondary sources

Citing your sources

Documenting the sources you use in your final project is a key part of the research and writing process. Complete and accurate citations to the journal articles, books, and other items you use will allow readers to verify your sources and explore them further if they'd like to learn more about the issues you've raised.

Please consult the Unified style sheet for linguistics for information on how to cite your sources:

Related guides

Contact information

James Kessenides, Kaplanoff Librarian for American History, james.kessenides@yale.edu