MedEd Portal (AAMC)
MedEdPORTAL is an open-access journal of teaching and learning resources in the health professions published by the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC), in partnership with the American Dental Education Association.
Books, Journals, and Digital Learning Objects
The list below highlights a few of the top journals in the field of Medical Education available through the Yale libraries. For a comprehensive list of journals, please refer to the Annotated List of Journals tab. If a journal is not available at Yale, you can request that an article be sent to you via our document delivery services.
- AAME MedEdPublishAMEE MedEdPublish is a highly visible, open access, specialist practitioner e-journal that enables academics, teachers, clinicians, researchers and students to publish their experiences, views and research findings relating to teaching, learning and assessment in medical and health professions education. An innovative and key feature of MedEdPublish is that the peer review process begins following publication.
- Academic MedicineAcademic Medicine is the official, peer-reviewed journal of the Association of American Medical Colleges.
- Advances in Health Sciences EducationAdvances in Health Sciences Education is a forum for scholarly and state-of-the art research into all aspects of health sciences education.
- BMC Medical EducationBMC Medical Education is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles in relation to the training of healthcare professionals, including undergraduate, postgraduate and continuing education. The journal has a special focus on curriculum development, evaluations of performance, assessment of training needs and evidence-based medicine.
- BMJ Simulation & Technology Enhanced Learning (STEL)BMJ Simulation & Technology Enhanced Learning focuses on the use of simulation and innovative technology as an educational method or intervention for professionals in all areas of health and social care education, workforce development and quality of care.
- Chronicle of Higher EducationThe Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
- Journal of Continuing Medical Education in the Health ProfessionsThe Journal of Continuing Education in the Health Professions is the official journal of the Alliance for Continuing Education in the Health Professions, the Society for Academic Continuing Medical Education, and the Council on CME, the Association for Hospital Medical Education. JCEHP publishes articles relevant to the theory and practice, and policy development for continuing education in the health sciences.
- Medical EducationThe journal is the senior international scientific journal for undergraduate, postgraduate and continuing medical education. As such, all issues of current interest, including teaching methods, curriculum reform, the training of medical teachers, the selection of entrants and assessment techniques, are covered. It is the main forum for teachers of medicine worldwide. The readership consists primarily of teachers of medicine, medical educators, administrators of faculties or medicine workers and researchers involved in the development of medical education as a whole.
- Medical Education OnlineMedical Education Online is a peer-reviewed international Open Access journal for disseminating information on the education and training of physicians and other health care professionals.
- Medical Science EducatorMedical Science Educator is the successor of the journal JIAMSE. It is the peer-reviewed publication of the International Association of Medical Science Educators (IAMSE). The Journal offers all who teach in healthcare the most current information to succeed in their task by publishing scholarly activities, opinions, and resources in medical science education. Published articles focus on teaching the sciences fundamental to modern medicine and health, and include basic science education, clinical teaching, and the use of modern education technologies.
- Medical TeacherMedical Teacher is the journal of AMEE, an international association for all involved with medical and healthcare professions education. Medical Teacher addresses the needs of teachers and administrators throughout the world involved in training for the health professions.
- Perspectives on Medical EducationPerspectives on Medical Education(PME) is the official, peer-reviewed journal of the Netherlands Association of Medical Education.PME offers an international platform for innovation and research in health professions education. The readers of the Journal are clinical and preclinical health care professionals, education experts, professionals, policymakers, students and other professionals with an interest in health professions education.
- Teaching and Learning in MedicineTeaching and Learning in Medicine ( TLM) is an international, forum for scholarship on teaching and learning in the health professions. Its international scope reflects the common challenge faced by all medical educators: fostering the development of capable, well-rounded, and continuous learners prepared to practice in a complex, high-stakes, and ever-changing clinical environment.
- Annotated Bibliography of Journals for Educational Scholarship 2019This update to the Annotated Bibliography of Journals for Educational Scholarship was coordinated by the SGEA in collaboration with members from the CGEA, NEGEA, WGEA. The Annotated Bibliography provides scholars and researchers with detailed information about the topics, types of manuscripts, and audiences for more than 60 journals that publish health professions education manuscripts.
- Academic Medicine CollectionsCurated collections of medical education literature arranged by topic.
- AM Last PageOne page summaries on a wide range of medical education research topics.
Below is a small sampling of resources available at Yale on the subject of health sciences education. Most are in print, with call numbers listed, but some are also available electronically. Use the link in the box to the right to search Quicksearch Books+ for the full range of library resources available.
Extraordinary Learning in the Workplace by
The contributing authors of this multidisciplinary text agree that workplace learning truly is extraordinary when it is marked by structural congruence and a positive synergy among the intended and formal preparation of professionals, that tacit learning occurs within the hidden curriculum, and that the subsequent demands, both formal and tacit, are embedded in subsequent workplace settings. Thus, for this text, these authors explore research and practice literature related to curriculum, instruction and assessment of professionals' learning in the workplace and the implications for best practices. But what makes this book truly unique is that the authors examine that literature in the context of four professions--education, nursing, medicine and clergy--at the point of those professions wherein students are learning during the degree program stages of their education. Extraordinary Learning in the Workplace is broken into four main sections. Part I explores curriculum, both formal and hidden. Part II focuses on conceptions and theories of learning and instruction and is intended to inform the work of educators with regard to components of professional education that occur in the practice settings of the workplace. Part III covers assessment, using medicine as its example to argue that assessment has remained largely unchanged for years, thus making the multiple choice questions tests introduced in the 1950s the de facto gold standard for "quality" assessment. And Part IV focuses on the training of the instructors, visiting the three key themes of relationships, activities or tasks, and work practices.
Call Number: HF5549.5 T7 E98 2011ISBN: 9400702701Publication Date: 2011-01-07
A Practical Guide for Medical Teachers by
This Fourth Edition of the highly praised Practical Guide for Medical Teachers provides a bridge between the theoretical aspects of medical education and the delivery of enthusiastic and effective teaching in basic science and clinical medicine. Healthcare professionals are committed teachers and this book is a practical guide to help them maximise their performance. Practical Guide for Medical Teachers charts the steady rise of global interest in medical education in a concise format. This is a highly practical book with useful "Tips" throughout the text. The continual emergence of new topics which are of interest to teachers in all healthcare disciplines is recognised in this new edition with seven new chapters: The hidden curriculum; Team based learning; Patient safety; Assessment of attitudes and professionalism; Medical education leadership; Medical education research; and How to manage a medical college An enlarged group of 73 authors from 14 countries provide both an international perspective and a multiprofessional approach to topics of interest to all healthcare teachers.
Call Number: R735 P73 2013ISBN: 9780702045516Publication Date: 2013-07-02
Evidence-based education in the health professions : promoting best practice in the learning and teaching of students by Call Number: R737 .E95 2015 (LC)ISBN: 1909368717Publication Date: 2015
Coaching for Effective Learning by Call Number: R737 C43 2005ISBN: 1857756339Publication Date: 2005
Teaching and Learning in Clinical Settings by Call Number: R737 H28 2006ISBN: 1857757513Publication Date: 2006
Reflective Teaching and Learning in the Health Professions by
This book deals with the nature of professional education and the need to produce professionals who are capable of reflection upon practice. It derives comprehensive guidelines for developing curricula and teaching methods that encourage reflective thinking. It is heavily research-based and the multiprofessional approach is unique to this subject matter. It will appeal to educators in all health science disciplines. <p>The book includes an introduction to the concepts of reflection and reflective thinking and describes action research methodology used to carry out this study. Findings are presented in the form of case studies and the conclusions drawn are considered in the context of practical implementation.</p>
Call Number: R737 R344 2001ISBN: 0632057394Publication Date: 2001-04-25
Fostering Reflection and Providing Feedback by
"This book is a treasure trove of practical suggestions for promoting reflections and feedback that is based upon sound educational theory and research. I recommend it highly." - David M. Irby, PhD, Vice Dean for Education University of California The authors of this concise volume describe the two underlying principles of becoming a thoughtful practitioner: reflection and feedback. They offer strategies to assist students in developing the attitudes and skills to think about and assess their work, consciously and consistently. Physicians, nurses, psychologists, social workers who are educators of students, residents and practitioners in the health professions will find this an invaluable resource.
Call Number: R737 W465 2001ISBN: 0826114296Publication Date: 2001-09-01
Best Practices for Medical Educators by Call Number: R834 S73 2009ISBN: 1422500497Publication Date: 2009
Precepting medical residents in the office by Call Number: R837 P74 P74 2006ISBN: 1846191025Publication Date: 2006
Practical Guide to the Evaluation of Clinical Competence by
This up-to-date, practical guide to outcomes-based assessment in clinical education delivers important evaluation methods, tools, and faculty training approaches for all medical educators. Written by proven experts, this guide will be an invaluable resource to you in developing, implementing, and sustaining effective systems for the evaluation of clinical competence in medical school, residency, and fellowship programs. Content is organized and written according to the ACGME-mandated Core Competencies making the information timely and useful. Guidelines that apply across the medical education spectrum allow you to implement the book's methods in any educational situation. The authors' suggested techniques and approaches to all aspects of medical education let you translate theory into practice. Includes a DVD with video case studies of effective (and ineffective) evaluation sessions, highlighting key steps and mistakes to avoid. Includes major evaluation methods, including: Evaluation forms and rating scales Standardized tests and in-training examinations Medical record and practice audits 360 degree evaluations Portfolios Direct observation by standardized patients and faculty Simulation
Call Number: Ref R837 A2 P73 2008 OversizeISBN: 0323047092Publication Date: 2008-02-15
Empirical Methods for Evaluating Educational Interventions by
New US government requirements state that federally funded grants and school programs must prove that they are based on scientifically proved improvements in teaching and learning. All new grants must show they are based on scientifically sound research to be funded, and budgets to schools must likewise show that they are based on scientifically sound research. However, the movement in education over the past several years has been toward qualitative rather than quantitative measures. The new legislation comes at a time when researchers are ill trained to measure results or even to frame questions in an empirical way, and when school administrators and teachers are no longer remember or were never trained to prove statistically that their programs are effective. Experimental Methods for Evaluating Educational Interventions is a tutorial on what it means to frame a question in an empirical manner, how one needs to test that a method works, what statistics one uses to measure effectiveness, and how to document these findings in a way so as to be compliant with new empirically based requirements. The book is simplistic enough to be accessible to those teaching and administrative educational professionals long out of schooling, but comprehensive and sophisticated enough to be of use to researchers who know experimental design and statistics but don't know how to use what they know to write acceptable grant proposals or to get governmental funding for their programs. * Provides an overview to interpreting empirical data in education * Reviews data analysis techniques: use and interpretation * Discusses research on learning, instruction, and curriculum * Explores importance of showing progress as well as cause and effect * Identifies obstacles to applying research into practice *Examines policy development for states, nations, and countries
Call Number: SML, Stacks, LB2822.75 .E56X 2005 (LC)ISBN: 0125542577Publication Date: 2005-03-07
Pearls for Leaders in Academic Medicine by
This is a collection of concise bits of advice for medical school administrators on how to manage the challenges of playing a leadership role. The book covers topics ranging from how to negotiate the terms of a contract once you have accepted an administrative position, to broaching difficult subjects like termination, to managing budget crises. The authors have several years of experience as leaders in academic medicine and each "pearl" is the product of their practical expertise.
ISBN: 0387771144Publication Date: 2008-05-28
Essential Skills for a Medical Teacher by
2013 BMA Medical Book Awards Highly Commended in Basis of Medicine! Essential Skills for a Medical Teacher is a new book that will serve as a perfect introduction for new teachers to the exciting opportunities facing them, whether they are working in undergraduate, postgraduate or continuing education. It will also be of considerable use to more experienced teachers to review and assess their own practice and gain a new perspective on how best to facilitate their students' or trainees' learning. The contents are based on the authors' extensive experience of what works in medical education, whether in teaching and curriculum planning or in the organisation of faculty development courses in medical education at basic and advanced levels. About the authors Ronald M Harden is General Secretary for the Association of Medical Education in Europe, Editor of Medical Teacher, former Professor of Medical Education, Director of the Centre for Medical Education and Teaching Dean at the University of Dundee, UK and Professor of Medical Education at Al-Imam University, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. He is internationally recognised for his commitment to developing new approaches to medical education, curriculum planning and to teaching and learning. His contributions to excellence in medical education have attracted numerous awards. Jennifer M Laidlaw is Former Assistant Director of the Education Development Unit of the Scottish Council for Postgraduate Medical and Dental Education and the University of Dundee, UK. She has planned, organised and lead courses on medical education both in Dundee and overseas. She has acted as a medical education consultant for the World Health Organisation, the British Council, medical schools and colleges. The text provides hints drawn from practical experience to help teachers create powerful learning opportunities for their students, providing readable guidelines and introducing new techniques that potentially could be adopted for use in any teaching programme. Throughout the book introduces some key basic principles that underpin the practical advice that is given and which will help to inform teaching practice. This book will assist readers to reflect on and analyse with colleagues the different ways that their work as a teacher or trainer can be approached and how their student or trainee's learning can be made more effective.
ISBN: 9780702045820Publication Date: 2012-06-26
Understanding Medical Education by
In this new and extensively updated second edition, the Association for the Study of Medical Education presents a complete and authoritative guide to medical education. Written by leading experts in the field, Understanding Medical Education provides a comprehensive resource of the theoretical and academic bases to modern medical education practice. This authoritative and accessible reference is designed to meet the needs of all those working in medical education from undergraduate education through postgraduate training to continuing professional development. As well as providing practical guidance for clinicians, teachers and researchers, Understanding Medical Education will prove an invaluable resource to those studying at certificate, diploma or masters level and a first ?port-of-call? for anyone engaged in medical education as an academic discipline. Exploring medical education in all its diversity and containing all you need in one place, Understanding Medical Education is the ideal reference not only for medical educators, but for anyone involved in the development of healthcare professionals, in whatever discipline wherever they are in the world.
Call Number: Med R845 .U53 2014ISBN: 9781118472408Publication Date: 2013-12-31
The resources below are learning object digital libraries. They include searchable databases of image files, assessments and simulations for download and use in teaching. The teaching materials listed are peer-reviewed and some also contain user ratings.
- MedEdPORTAL (AAMC)The Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) developed MedEdPORTAL as a free publishing venue and dissemination portal to support educators and learners as they create and use on-line teaching materials, assessment tools, and faculty developmnent resources. Learning objects within MedEdPORTAL are peer-reviewed.
- MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching)MERLOT is a free and open resource designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education. Links to online learning materials are collected here along with annotations such as peer reviews and assignments. This link is to the Health Sciences Portal page.
Search Yale libraries for health sciences education materials
Quicksearch Books+ searches library catalogs at Yale. Click on the link to begin your search.
TIP: search for areas of interest using keywords, such as "curriculum development medical" or "clinical teaching" or "nursing and simulation". You can filter your search results to a particular date range or other factors. If you are looking for a known item, type the title in the search box.