Skip to main content

Open Access: Open Access Initiatives Support

Support for Open Access Initiatives

Yale University Library supports the following Open Access initiatives through membership fees:

arXiv
Through funding from YUL, Yale is an institutional supporting member of this repository, which offers open access to e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
More information
Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL)
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” BHL contains material that has been scanned from collections at the Yale Peabody Museum of Natural History and the Yale Cushing/Whitney Medical Historical Library.
More information
BioLine International
A not-for-profit scholarly publishing cooperative committed to providing open access to peer-reviewed research journals published in developing countries (currently Bangladesh, Brazil, Chile, China, Colombia, Egypt, Ghana, India, Iran, Kenya, Malaysia, Nigeria, Tanzania, Turkey, Uganda and Venezuela).
More information
DataHaven
A nonprofit organization that collects, interprets, and shares data about the Greater New Haven area and Connecticut. The organization works with local and national partners to develop reports, tools, and technical assistance programs to make this data more useful for local communities.
More information
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
More information
Knowledge Unlatched
The Knowledge Unlatched model depends on many libraries from around the world sharing the payment of a single Title Fee to a publisher, in return for a book being made available on a Creative Commons licence via OAPEN and HathiTrust as a fully downloadable PDF. YUL has pledged support to Knowledge Unlatched Round 2, KU Select 2016, and KU Select 2017.
More information
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
NDLTD is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). It supports open access to scholarship.
More information
Open Book Publishers
OBP includes academic books in the humanities, social sciences, arts, and law, with open access editions that can be downloaded, reused, or embedded anywhere. OBP is creating interactive books and works that incorporate moving images, links, and sound. More traditional titles are equipped with digital resources, including extra chapters, reviews, links, and image galleries.
More information
OpenEdition
OpenEdition is a French program for the development of open access academic publishing in the humanities and social sciences. Its open access content – journals, books, research blogs and academic announcements – is available to all users in HTML format. YUL supports OpenEdition Freemium for Journals, which allows users at Yale University to download PDF and ePub formats of the Freemium journal content.
More information
Open Library of Humanities (OLH)
Open Library of Humanities supports academic journals from across the humanities disciplines, as well as hosting its own multidisciplinary journal. The OLH is funded by library partners, including YUL, and has no author-facing charges.
More information
PhilPapers
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. It hosts the largest open access archive in philosophy.
More information
Reveal Digital
Reveal Digital uses a library crowd-funding model to fund the development of digital collections. YUL has contributed to specific collections and to Reveal Digital's investment fund.
More information
South Asia Open Archives
A collective of nearly 25 libraries from the US and across the Subcontinent is dedicated to creating a freely accessible, curated collection of historical research materials on South Asia.
More information
SCOAP3 - Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics
SCOAP3 is a partnership of thousands of libraries, funding agencies, and research centers in more than 40 countries. Working with leading publishers, SCOAP3 has converted key journals in the field of high-energy physics to open access at no cost for authors.
More information
SPARC
SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition) is an advocacy organization, an international alliance of nearly 800 academic and research libraries working to create a more open system of scholarly communication.
More information

For more information

For more information, contact:

Daniel Dollar

Associate University Librarian for Collections, Preservation, and Digital Scholarship
Yale University Library

daniel.dollar@yale.edu

(203) 432-9534


For medical OA resources, contact:

Lindsay Barnett

Collection Development & Scholarly Communication Librarian
Cushing/Whitney Medical Library

lindsay.barnett@yale.edu

(203) 785-2883


For science and social science OA resources, contact:

Kevin Merriman

Director of Collection Management, Technical Services, and Access Services Center for Science and Social Science Information
Yale University Library

kevin.merriman@yale.edu

(203) 436-9852