Skip to main content

Political Science Subject Guide: PLSC 777 and 778: Comparative Politics I and II

This guide highlights print and electronic resources in political science, plus information about Yale University Library's collections and services.

Annual Reviews

Annual Review of Political Science
(from here, can access Annual Reviews in other disciplines)


Annual Reviews synthesize the research literature and identify the principal contributions in a particular field. Editorial committees comprised of the most distinguished scholars in the discipline select all topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field.

Catalogs for books (and journals, government documents, films, archival collections, and more)

Yale Library International Collections

Each collection's site includes descriptions of its print collections and links to online resources, including news resources and country-specific data and information. Contact staff in each collection for research assistance.

Databases for journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and more

Search databases to cast a wide net for journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference reports, government documents, and other materials. Databases provide citations and sometimes full text (or links to possible sources of full text – look for the Yale Links button in the search results).

Citation databases

Citation databases allow you to see how often a work of scholarship is cited, and to trace connections between related works.

IGO search engine

Use the Intergovernmental Organization Search Engine (a Google custom search) to search across hundreds of IGO websites:

NGO search engine

Use the Non-governmental Organization Search Engine to search across NGO websites. Sites were chosen based on their consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and also collated from University of Minnesota Human Rights Library, Duke University Libraries' NGO Research Guide, and the World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO).

Librarian for Political Science. Global Affairs, and Government Information

Kenya Flash's picture
Kenya Flash