Yale University Library Research Guides: Preservation and Conservation at Yale University Library: COVID-19 and Collections

Updates: COVID-19 & Yale Library Online

COVID-19 Library Update

Yale University Campus Resources

COVID-19: Returning to Campus guidance
Yale COVID-19 Statistics Dashboard
Yale EHS COVID-19 Resources
Site with links and guidance to Yale community from Yale Environmental Health and Safety
Yale Emergency Management
Office of Emergency Management website includes planning resources for various emergency situations including a pandemic
Yale Health
COVID-19 information for Yale Health members and the Yale community

Yale Library Guidelines and Protocols

Health & Safety Guidelines - COVID-19: Yale Actions and Response
Each member of the community plays a critical role in preventing the spread of COVID-19. All students, faculty, and staff must commit to following health and safety guidelines and setting an example for their peers. Because state and public health officials may need to adjust their policies based on the status of COVID-19 spread in our region, the guidelines below may be updated regularly.

Yale Departmental Return to Work Checklist
The checklist below may be used by Yale Departments, Institutes, Centers and Offices, and other units to assist in planning for return to campus. It is meant to be a helpful guide and is not required.
Precautions and Handling Guidelines COVID-19
Issued in early March 2020, this is the first guideline document issued by the Preservation & Conservation Services department in coordination with the Beinecke Library's Preservation Coordination Librarian

Yale Occupancy Requirements & Limits
Guidance on occupancy levels/limits from Enivornmental Health and Safety

Resources from Preservation and Conservation Community

Before taking any action based on any resource, please be sure to follow the advice of federal, state, local, and campus health officials.

ICON: ‘Waking Up’ Collections: A Post-lockdown Guide With museum and heritage organisations necessarily closed during the Coronavirus (Covid-19) lockdown, collections are being held dormant for a significant period, increasing the risk of general deterioration caused by the environment, pollutants and pests, as well as reduced levels of preventive monitoring and control. This checklist and guide outlines how to address collection conservation issues that might have occurred during this time.

American Alliance of Museums COVID-19 Resources & Information for the Museum Field
American Institute for Conservation COVID-19 Resources
Collections care resources compiled to assist conservators and collections care professionals during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Cleaning and Disinfecting Your Facility - CDC
CDC cleaning and disinfecting guidelines for workplace and employers
Collections Care in the Age of COVID-19
Coronavirus Updates - IMLS
Website hosted by the Institute of Museum and Library Services as a clearinghouse for libraries and museums for information on COVID-19
Coronavirus Virus and Collections Care
COVID-19 resources site from the Institute of Conservation, an international conservation professional organization;
Handling Library Materials and Collections During a Pandemic
American Libraries Association website, ALCTS-Preservation emergency and disaster resources page, includes pandemics
HENTF COVID-19 Resource Hub
COVID-19 resource page from the Heritage Emergency National Task Force (Smithsonian Institution Cultural Rescue Initiative)
IAMFA COVID-19 Resource Site
The International Association of Museum Facility Administrators (IAMFA) is an international nonprofit organization devoted to meeting the professional needs of facility and security administrators at cultural institutions.
International Association of Museum Facility Administrators: COVID-19 Resources
NEDCC: Disinfecting Books and Other Collections
The advice below is based on the current research available from the medical and scientific communities regarding COVID-19, and as their understanding of the virus evolves, NEDCC’s advice for the cultural heritage community will, too.
NYT: What’s the Risk of Catching Coronavirus From a Surface?
An excellent article describing how surface transmission occurs, and why
REALM: Reopening Archives, Libraries, and Museums
Information hub for REALM project, an OCLC, IMLS, and Battelle COVID-19 Research Partnership

Planning Templates, Posters and Videos for Workplace Safety

Basic Pandemic Continuity Plan Outline
From Yale's Emergency Managerment Office, a basic outline to walk departments and work groups through setting up a continuity plan during a pandemic

"Returning to Yale" signage (YPPS) Requires NetID and VPN To support the phased reopening of the campus, Yale has developed a sign system that follows university and state guidelines to lower the risk of COVID-19 transmission. We encourage you to use these university-approved resources to help everyone stay informed. The signs, which may be posted in work spaces, common areas, and other shared spaces, offer guidelines and reminders about social distancing, regular handwashing, health monitoring, and other measures. When possible, please order and install color printed signs from YPPS. Please contact your Facilities area manager for guidance on usage. These PDFs are made in black/white and should be printed in 100% size on letter-sized paper.
Fight Germs. Wash Your Hands!

Cleaning & Disinfecting Your Facility
Printable pdf from CDC
Don't Spread Germs at Work
Stop the Spread of Germs

Bibliography

Berendes, David, and Catherine Rasberry. 2020. "Mitigating COVID-19 When Managing Paper-Based, Circulating, and Other Types of Collections." Institute for Museum and Library Services (IMLS), March 30. Accessed April 1, 2020. https://www.imls.gov/webinars/mitigating-covid-19-when-managing-paper-based-circulating-and-other-types-collections.

Biryukov, Jennifer, Jeremy A. Boydston, Rebecca A. Dunning, et al. 2020. "Increasing Temperature and Relative Humidity Accelerates Inactivation of SARS-CoV-2 on Surfaces." mSphere, Jul-Aug. Accessed July 20, 2020. doi:10.1128/mSphere.00441-20.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2020. Cleaning and Disinfecting Your Facility. April 14. Accessed April 20, 2020. https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/disinfecting-building-facility.html.

—. 2020. Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19): Guidance for Healthcare Providers about Hand Hygiene and COVID-19. May 17. Accessed July 21, 2020. https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/hand-hygiene.html.

—. 2020. How to Protect Yourself & Others. March 20. Accessed April 20, 2020. https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/prepare/prevention.html.

Chin, Alex W H, Julie T S Chu, Mahen R A Perera, Kenrie P Y Hui, Hui-Ling Yen, and Michael C W Chan. 2020. "Stability of SARS-CoV-2 in Different Environmental Conditions." The Lancet Microbe. Accessed April 15, 2020. doi:https://doi.org/10.1016/S2666-5247(20)30003-3.

Environmental Protection Agency. 2020. List N: Disinfectants for Use Against SARS-CoV-2. April 21. Accessed April 22, 2020. https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/list-n-disinfectants-use-against-sars-cov-2.

Fiorillo, Luca, and et al. 2020. "COVID-19 Surface Persistence: A Recent Data Summary and Its Importance for Medical and Dental Settings." International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health. Accessed May 12, 2020. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/32365891.

Jansen, Kerri. 2020. "How We Know Disinfectants Should Kill the COVID-19 Coronavirus." Chemical and Engineering News, March. Accessed April 20, 2020. https://cen.acs.org/biological-chemistry/infectious-disease/How-we-know-disinfectants-should-kill-the-COVID-19-coronavirus/98/web/2020/03.

Kampf, G., D. Todt, S. Pfaender, and E. Steinmann. 2020. "Persistence of coronaviruses on inanimate surfaces and their inactivation with biocidal agents." Journal of Hospital Infection (104): 246-251. Accessed March 20, 2020. https://www.journalofhospitalinfection.com/article/S0195-6701(20)30046-3/fulltext .

Parker-Pope, Tara. 2020. "Is the Virus on My Clothes? My Shoes? My Hair? My Newspaper?" The New York Times, April 17. Accessed April 20, 2020. https://www.nytimes.com/2020/04/17/well/live/coronavirus-contagion-spead-clothes-shoes-hair-newspaper-packages-mail-infectious.html.

—. 2020. "What's the Risk of Catching Coronavirus from a Surface?" The New York Times, May 28. Accessed May 28, 2020. https://www.nytimes.com/2020/05/28/well/live/whats-the-risk-of-catching-coronavirus-from-a-surface.html.

Ratnesar-Shumate, Shannna, Gregory Williams, Brian Green et al. 2020. "Simulated Sunlight Rapidly Inactivates SARS-CoV-2 on Surfaces." Journal of Infectious Diseases, July 15: 214-222. Accessed July 22, 2020. doi:https://doi.org/10.1093/infdis/jiaa274.

van Doremalen, Neeltje ; Bushmaker, Trenton; Morris, Dylan H.; et al. 2020. "Aerosol and Surface Stability of SARS-CoV-2 as Compared with SARS-CoV-1." New England Journal of Medicine. Accessed March 24, 2020. https://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJMc2004973.

Yale University: Yale Environmental Health & Safety. 2020. COVID-19: Return to Yale Campus Online Training Course. New Haven, CT. Accessed June 5, 2020.

—. 2020. EHS COVID-19 Information. Accessed May 13, 2020. https://ehs.yale.edu/covid-19.

Preservation and Conservation at Yale University Library: COVID-19 and Collections