Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COVID-19 UPDATE

Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See COVID-19 library updates.

Biographical Resources for the Sciences: Women in Science and Engineering at Yale 2020 Exhibit Bibliography

This guide identifies major resources and suggestions for biographical research in the sciences.

Women in Science and Engineering at Yale 2020 Exhibit Bibliography

This bibliography includes references from both the 2012 and 2020 editions of the exhibit. Entries A-L.

Women in Science and Engineering at Yale 2020 Exhibit Bibliography

Acevedo, Gabriel and Lily Guillot Svensen. 2020. Email to Lori Bronars, Feb. 27, 2020. Data on Women PhDs at Yale, 1998-2019 from IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System). NCES (National Center for Education Statistics)

Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation. [n.d.] The Lasker Awards. laskerfoundation.org/awards (accessed: Feb. 4, 2020)

Altman, Sidney, ed. 2002. Science at Yale. New Haven, CT: Yale University. 252p.

Alumnae Association of Mount Holyoke College, compiler. 1911. Louise Freeland Jenkins. In One Hundred Year Biographical Directory of the Mount Holyoke College 1837-1937. Bulletin Series 30, no. 5. South Hadley, MA: Alumnae Association of Mount Holyoke College

Anonymous. [n.d.] Anton Richard Rose (1877-1948). WikiTree. wikitree.com/wiki/Rose-13182 (accessed: Nov. 12, 2019)

Anonymous. [n.d.] Charlotte Fairbanks. Science Stories. www.sciencestories.io/A46937920 (accessed: July 29, 2019)

Anonymous. [n.d.] Eugene Wigner and Mary Annette Wheeler. https://www.whosdatedwho.com/dating/eugene-wigner-and-mary-annette-wheeler (accessed: July 19, 2019)

Anonymous. [n.d.] Photo. Giuliani Cavaglieri Tesoro.  Wikipedia, the Free Encyclopedia. En.wikipedia.org/wiki/Giuliana_Tesoro (accessed: March 26, 2020)

Anonymous. [n.d.] Ho-Am Prize in Science. Wikipedia The Free Encyclopedia en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ho-Am_Prize_in_Science (accessed: Oct. 28, 2019)

Anonymous. [n.d.] Hortense Powdermaker. Women’s Intellectual Contributions to the Study of Mind and Society. http://faculty.webster.edu/woolflm/powdermaker.html (accessed: Jan. 7, 2020)

Anonymous. [n.d.] Mary Annette (Wheeler) Wigner (1901-1977). WikiTree. https://www.wikitree.com/wiki/wheeler-17029 (accessed: July 19, 2019)

Anonymous. [n.d.] Rosemary Vidale Buden. Prabook. https://prabook.com/web/rosemary_vidale.buden/3372085 (accessed: July 30, 2019)

Anonymous [n.d.] Ruth Wendell Washburn. Wikipedia http://www.sciencestories.io/Q45092516#7 (accessed: Jan. 9, 2020)

Anonymous. [n.d.] Sophie Aberle. Harry S. Truman Library & Museum, Photographs. http://trumanlibrary.org/photographs/view.php?id=39543&rr (accessed: Nov. 18, 2011)

Anonymous. [n.d.] Sophie D. Aberle. SNAC https://snaccooperative.org/ark:/99166/w68p9dsw From the Guide to the Sophie D. Aberle Papers, 1913-1987, University of New Mexico, Center for Southwest Research (accessed: Jan. 7, 2020)

Anonymous. 1950. News and Notes. Deaths. Dorothy A. Hahn. Science, New Series 112(2922):798 Dec. 29 https://www.jstor.org/stable/1678548 (accessed: Oct. 25, 2019)

Anonymous. 1978. Mary Wigner. Physics Today 31(7):58 physicstoday.scitation.org/doi/10.1063/1.2995119 (accessed: April 2, 2020)

Anonymous. 1982. Laura Flora Garnjobst. National Cyclopedia of American Biography 61:27 Clifton, NJ: James T. White & Company

Anonymous. 2010. Sofia Simmonds: Biography, Life and Career Facts, Invented. http://pagerankstudio.com/Blog/2010/09/sofia-simmonds-biography-life-and-career-facts-invented (accessed: Nov. 14, 2011)

Anonymous. 2014. In Memoriam: Elga R. Wasserman, Helped Bring Co-Education to Yale. YaleNews Nov. 14 news.yale.edu/2014/11/14/memoriam-elga-r-wasserman-helped-bring-co-education-yale (accessed: April 24, 2020)

Anonymous. 2018. Martha Austin Phelps. Wikipedia the Free Encyclopedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Martha_Austin_Phelps (accessed: July 29, 2019)

Anonymous. 2019. Alan Turing. Wikipedia The Free Encyclopedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alan_Turing (accessed: Oct. 9, 2019)

Anonymous. 2019. Helen Thompson Woolley. Wikipedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Helen-Thompson_Woolley (accessed: Jan. 9, 2020)

Anonymous. 2019. Jean Milton Berdan. Wikipedia The Free Encyclopedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jean_milton_Berdan (accessed: July 29, 2019)

Anonymous. 2019. Mary Shore Walker. Wikipedia the Free Encyclopedia https://en.wikipedida.org/wiki/Mary_Shore-Walker (accessed: July 29, 2019)

Bailey, Martha J. 1994. American Women in Science: A Biographical Dictionary. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO.

Ball, J.N. 1987. In Memoriam Grace E. Pickford (1902-1986). General and Comparative Endocrinology 65:162-165 sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/001664808790236X https://doi.org/10.1016/0016-6480(87)90236 (accessed: Nov. 6, 2019)

Ballowe, James. 2016. Revisiting Sand County: An Interview with Estella Leopold. In Minding Nature  9(3) Fall. Center for Humans & Nature humansandnature.org/revisiting-sand-county-an-interview-with-estella-leopold (accessed: Sept. 16, 2019)

Blewett, John. 1978. Renate Wiener Chasman. Physics Today February 31(2):64

Bryan, Jr., Edwin H. 1966. Marie Catherine Neal. Bulletin of the Torrey Botanical Club May-June 93(3):199-200 https://www.jstor.org/stable/2483581 (accessed: Nov. 7, 2019)

Candee, Marjorie Dent, ed. 1956, 300-301. Frances Lillian Ilg. Current Biography Yearbook. New York, NY: H. W. Wilson Co.

Candee, Marjorie Dent, ed. 1956. Louise Bates. Current Biography Yearbook. New York, NY: H. W. Wilson Co. pp. 300-301

Catley, Christine Cole. 2006. Bright Star: Beatrice Hill Tinsley, Astronomer. Auckland, New Zealand: Cape Catley

Chrispeels, Maarten J. 2006. David Mahlon Bonner. National Academy of Sciences. Biographical Memoir vol. 88 nap.edu/read/11807/chapter/4#47 (accessed: Nov. 20, 2019)

CJ (Vassar Historian). 2008. Margaretta Palmer. Vassar Encyclopedia. http://vcencyclopedia.vassar.edu/alumni/margaretta-palmer.html (accessed: Dec. 10, 2019)

Creese, Mary R. S. 1998. Ladies in the Laboratory? American and British Women in Science, 1800-1900: A Survey of Their Contributions to Research. London: Scarecrow Press, Inc.

Cunningham, W. Jack. 1992. Engineering at Yale: School, Department, Council 1932-82. Transactions of the Connecticut Academy of Arts and Sciences New Haven, CT: The Connecticut Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Davis, Rebecca. 2009. Elga Ruth Wasserman. Jewish Women: A Comprehensive Historical Encyclopedia. Jewish Women’s Archive https://jwa.org/encyclopedia/article/wasserman-elga-ruth (accessed: March 26, 2020)

Elder, Eleanor S. 1982. Women in Early Geology. Photo of Mignon Talbot. Journal of Geological Education November 30(5):287-293

Fairchild, Wilma B. 1976. Obituary: Gladys Mary Wrigley. Geographical Review July 66(3):331-333 https://www.jstor.org/stable/213889?seq=1#metadata_info_tab_contents (accessed: July 30, 2019)

Farley-Barnes, Katherine I, Kathleen L. McCann, Lisa M. Ogawa, Janie Merkel, Yulia V. Surovtseva, and Susan J. Baserga. 2018. “Diverse regulators of human ribosome biogenesis discovered by changes in nucleolar number.” Cell Reports Feb. 13. doi: 10.1016/j.celrep.2018.01.056 sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S2211124718301050?via%3Dihub (accessed: Oct. 10, 2019)

Federal Judicial Center. [n.d.] Biographical Directory of Article III Federal Judges 1789-Present. http://www.fjc.gov/public/home.nsf/hisj (accessed: Dec. 9, 2019)

Flader, Susan. 2010. Biographical Portrait: Estella Bergere Leopold: Paleoecologist and Conservationist (1927-) Forest History Today Spring/Fall 55-57 foresthistory.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/12/2010_Bioj_EstellaLeopold.pdf (accessed: Nov. 8, 2019)

Florida Women’s Hall of Fame. Florence Barbara Seibert. flwomenshalloffame.org/bio/Florence-barbara-seibert (accessed: Dec. 9, 2019)

Gessell Institute of Child Development. [n.d.] Photo. Louise Bates Ames. Yale University

Grenier, Anya. 2015. An Advocate for Yale Women. Yale Alumni Magazine Jan./Feb. yalealumnimagazine.com/articles/4031-elga-wasserman-76jd (accessed: April 24, 2020)

Griffith, Robert K. [n.d.] Florence Seibert. http://www.chemistryexplained.com/Ru-Sp/Seibert-Florence.html Chemistry Encyclopedia Forum (accessed: Oct. 25, 2011)

Grinstein, Louise S. 1976/1977. Clara Eliza Smith. Some “Forgotten” Women of Mathematics: A Who Was Who. Philosophia Mathematica s1-13-14(2):73-78 https://doi.org/10.1093/philmat/s1-13-14.1.73 (accessed: Oct. 24, 2019)

Harkanyi, Katalin. 1997. Mary Engle Pennington. In Shearer, Benjamin F. and Shearer, Barbara S. (eds.) Notable Women in the Physical Sciences: A Biographical Dictionary. (Westport, CT and London: Routledge) pp. 292-296

Harrison, Ross G. 1947. Obituary: Lorande Loss Woodruff. Science 106(2762):533-534 Dec. 5 science.sciencemag.org/content/106/2762/533 (accessed: Oct. 24, 2019)

Harvey, Joy and Marilyn Ogilvie. 2000. Amy L. Daniels. In Ogilvie, Marilyn and Joy Harvey, eds. Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science: Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the Mid-20th Century. New York and London: Routledge 1:325

Harvey, Joy and Marilyn Ogilvie. 2000 Charlotte Cynthia Barnum. In Ogilvie, Marilyn and Joy Harvey, eds. Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science: Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the Mid-20th Century New York and London: Routledge 1:83-84

Harvey, Joy and Marilyn Ogilvie. 2000. Charlotte Fitch Roberts. In Ogilvie, Marilyn and Joy Harvey, eds. Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science: Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the Mid-20th Century. New York and London: Routledge 2:1105-1106

Harvey, Joy and Marilyn Ogilvie. 2000. Dorothy Anna Hahn. In Ogilvie, Marilyn and Joy Harvey, eds. Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science: Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the Mid-20th Century. New York and London: Routledge 1:543

Harvey, Joy and Marilyn Ogilvie. 2000. Euphemia R. Worthington. In Ogilvie, Marilyn and Joy Harvey, eds. Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science: Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the Mid-20th Century. New York and London: Routledge 2:1402

Harvey, Joy and Marilyn Ogilvie. 2000. Helen Abbot Merrill. In Ogilvie, Marilyn and Joy Harvey, eds. Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science: Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the Mid-20th Century. New York and London: Routledge 2:885-886

Harvey, Joy and Marilyn Ogilvie. 2000. Helen Tracy Parsons. In Ogilvie, Marilyn and Joy Harvey, eds. Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science: Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the Mid-20th Century. New York and London: Routledge 2:984

Harvey, Joy and Marilyn Ogilvie. 2000. Ilda McVeigh. In Ogilvie, Marilyn and Joy Harvey, eds. Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science: Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the Mid-20th Century. New York and London: Routledge 2:872

Harvey, Joy and Marilyn Ogilvie. 2000. Katharine Jeannette Bush. In Ogilvie, Marilyn and Joy Harvey, eds. Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science: Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the Mid-20th Century. New York and London: Routledge 1:214-215

Harvey, Joy and Marilyn Ogilvie. 2000. Katherine Wolf. In Ogilvie, Marilyn and Joy Harvey, eds. Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science: Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the Mid-20th Century. New York and London: Routledge 2:1393

Harvey, Joy and Marilyn Ogilvie. 2000. Laura Flora Garnjobst. In Ogilvie, Marilyn and Joy Harvey, eds. Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science: Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the Mid-20th Century. New York and London: Routledge 1:487

Harvey, Joy and Marilyn Ogilvie. 2000. Louise Stanley. In Ogilvie, Marilyn and Joy Harvey, eds. Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science: Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the Mid-20th Century. New York and London: Routledge 2:1222

Harvey, Joy and Marilyn Ogilvie. 2000. Marie Catherine Neal. In Ogilvie, Marilyn and Joy Harvey, eds. Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science: Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the Mid-20th Century. New York and London: Routledge 2:932

Harvey, Joy and Marilyn Ogilvie. 2000 Mary Davies Swartz Rose. In Ogilvie, Marilyn and Joy Harvey, eds. Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science: Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the Mid-20th Century. New York and London: Routledge 2:1125-1126

Hathaway, Bill. 2018. Yale’s Joan Steitz Honored For Lifetime Achievement by Lasker Foundation. YaleNews news.yale.edu/2018/09/11/yales-joan-steitz-honored-lifetime-achievement-lasker-foundation (accessed: Nov. 20, 2019)

Hilgard, Ernest R. 2000. Josephine Rohrs Hilgard. American National Biography Online. https://www.anb.org/view/10.1093/anb/9780198606687.001.0001/anb-9780198606697-e-1400911 (accessed: Jan. 7, 2020)

Hill, Edward. 1986. My Daughter Beatrice: A Personal Memoir of Dr. Beatrice Tinsley, Astronomer. New York: American Physical Society

Hiram College. Archives. Grace Evelyn Pickford. http://library.hiram.edu/Archives/Grace%20Pickford%20Collection.htm (accessed: Nov. 18, 2011)

Hoffleit, Dorrit. 1992. Astronomy at Yale 1701-1968. Memoirs of the Connecticut Academy of Arts and Sciences vol. XXII. New Haven, CT: The Connecticut Academy of Arts and Sciences

Hoobler, Icie Gertrude Macy with Harold H. Williams and Agnes Gainey Williams. 1982. Boundless Horizons: Portrait of a Pioneer Woman Scientist. Smithtown, NY: Exposition Press

Howard, Grace E. 1963. Theodore Christian Frye (1869-1962). Bryologist Autumn 66(3):124-136 https://www.jstor.org/stable/3240712 (accessed: Nov. 8, 2019)

Howard, Grace E. 1968. Lois Clark (1884-1967). Bryologist 71(2):140-141

John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation. 2019. Hee Oh. http://gf.org/fellows/all-fellows/hee-oh (accessed: Oct. 4, 2019)

Johnson, Barbara C. [n.d.] Hortense Powdermaker. Jewish Women’s Archive. Encyclopedia. https://jwa.org/encyclopedida/article/powdermaker-hortense (accessed: Jan. 7, 2020)

Korostoliev, Anastasia. 2011. Mildred B. Mitchell. Psychology’s Feminist Voices. http://www.feministvoices.com/mildred-b-mitchell (accessed: Dec. 11, 2019)

 

Women in Science and Engineering at Yale 2020 Exhibit Bibliography L-Z

This bibliography includes references from the 2012 and 2020 editions of the exhibit. Here are the entries M-Z.

Maasen, Skyler and Paris, Sasha. [n.d.] Mignon Talbot. Daring to Dig: Women in American Paleontology. The National Endowment for the Humanities, the Institute of Museum and Library Services, the Geological Society of America. www.daringtodig.com/talbot (accessed: July 20, 2019)

Mappen, Ellen F. 1997. Florence B. Seibert. In: Shearer, Benjamin F. and Barbara S. Shearer, eds. Notable Women in the Physical Sciences: A Biographical Dictionary. (Westport, CT and London: Greenwood Press 355-359

May, Elizabeth and Francess G. Halpenny, ed. adviser. 1991. Claiming the Future: The Inspiring Lives of Twelve Canadian Women Scientists and Scholars. Markham, Ontario, Canada: The Royal Society of Canada/Pembroke Publishers Limited

McPhee, Wendy. [n.d.] Ruth Washburn History. Ruth Washburn Cooperative Nursery Schoolhttps://rwcns.org/our-preschool/philosophy-history (accessed: Jan. 9, 2020)

Meek (Whitney), Kerry L. 2000. Frances Lillian Ilg. In Ogilvie, Marilyn and Joy Harvey, eds. Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science: Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the Mid-20th Century. New York and London: Routledge 1 :642-643

Meek (Whitney), Kerry L. 2000. Leona Baumgartner. In Ogilvie, Marilyn and Joy Harvey, eds. Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science: Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the Mid-20th Century. New York and London: Routledge 1:94-95

Meek (Whitney), Kerry L. 2000. Mildred Bessie Mitchell. In Ogilvie, Marilyn and Joy Harvey, eds. Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science: Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the Mid-20th Century. New York and London: Routledge 2:905

Mendel, Lafayette B. and Sarah Elizabeth Judson. 1916. “Some interrelations between diet, growth, and the chemical composition of the body.” Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America 2(12):692-694 http://www.jstor.org/stable/83637 (accessed: July 26, 2019)

Moller, Mary L. 1993. Mary Locke Petermann. In Grinstein, Louise S., Rose, Rose K., and Rafailovich, Miriam H., eds. Women in Chemistry and Physics: A Biobibliographic Sourcebook. Westport, CT and London: Greenwood Press 476-487

Montagnini, Florencia. [n.d.] Book cover image for Integrating Landscapes: Agroforestry for Biodiversity Conservation and Food Sovereignty. drflorenciamontagnini.wordpress.com/recently-published-book (accessed: Sept. 18, 2019)

Motorau. 2011. Photo of Mount Tinsley from Lake Manapouri, New Zealand. Wikimedia Commons, the Free Media Repository. commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Mount_Tinsley_N.Z..jpg (accessed: March 4, 2020)

Mount Holyoke College Archives & Special Collections. [n.d.] Hahn papers. Biographical Note. Dorothy Anna Hahnhttps://asteria.fivecolleges.edu/findaids/mountholyoke/mshm151.html (accessed: July 29, 2019)

Nicholas, J. S. 1961. Ross Granville Harrison. Biographical Memoir. National Academy of Sciences. nasonline.org/publications/biographical-memoirs/memoirs-pdfs/Harrison-ross.pdf (accessed: Nov. 19, 2019)

Nicholas, Sylvia. 1997. Sofia Simmonds. In Shearer, Benjamin F. and Barbara S. Shearer, eds. Notable Women in the Physical Sciences: A Biographical Dictionary Westport, CT and London: Greenwood Press 373-375

Nobel Prize. [n.d.] Eugene Wigner. Biographicalhttps://www.nobelprize.org/prizes/physics/1963/wigner/biographical 

(accessed: July 19, 2019)

Norman, Rebecca. 2001. Grace Murray Hopper. In Biographies of Women Mathematicians http://www.agnesscott.edu/lriddle/women/hopper.htm (accessed: Dec. 11, 2019)

Oakes, Elizabeth. 2002. International Encyclopedia of Women Scientists. New York: Facts on File, Inc.

Ockerbloom, John Mark (ed.) 2005. Kate Grace Barber Winton. The Online Books Page (onlinebooks.library.upenn.edu/webbing/book/lookupname?key=Winton%2C%20Kate%20Grace%20Barber%2C%201882- (accessed: July 29, 2019)

O’Connor, J. J. and E.F. Robertson. 2010. James P. Pierpont. University of St. Andrews, Scotland. School of Mathematics and Statistics. Mathhistory.st-andrews.ac.uk/Biographies/Pierpont.html (accessed: Nov. 22, 2019)

Ogilvie, Marilyn and Joy Harvey, eds. 2000. Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science: Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the Mid-20th Century. New York: Routledge 2 vols.

Pawashe, Aruna B., Paolo Golino, Giuseppe Ambrosio, et. al. 1994. A Monoclonal Antibody Against Rabbit Tissue Factor Inhibits Thrombus Formation in Stenotic Injured Rabbit Carotid Arteries. Circulation Research 74(1):56-63 Jan. 1 ahajournals.org/doi/pdf/10.1161/01.RES.74.1.56 (accessed: Oct. 28, 2019)

Phillips, Ralph. 1994. Einar Hille. The National Academies Press. Biographical Memoirs vol. 63. nap.edu/read/4560/chapter/12 (accessed: Nov. 21, 2019)

Pierson, George Wilson. 1983. Yale Book of Numbers: Historical Statistics of the College and University 1701-1976. New Haven, CT: Yale University

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global. Mary Annette Wheeler. https://search.proquest.com/pqdtglobal/results/4E52D932324E97PQ/1?accountid=15172 (accessed: July 19, 2019)

Ragsdale, Samantha. [n.d.] Helen Bradford Thompson Woolley. http://faculty.webster.edu/woolflm/wooley.html (accessed: Jan. 9, 2020)

Remington, Jeanne E. 1977. Katharine Jeannette Bush: Peabody’s Mysterious Zoologist. Discovery Fall 12(3):2-8

Reynolds, Moira Davison. 1999. American Women Scientists: 23 Inspiring Biographies, 1900-2000. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Company, Inc., Publishers.

Riddle, Larry. 1995. Elizabeth Street Dickerman. Biographies of Women Mathematicians. Agnes Scott College. https://www.agnesscott.edu/lriddle/women/dicker.htm (accessed: July 29, 2019)

Riddle, Larry. 1995. Leona May Peirce. Biographies of Women Mathematicians. Agnes Scott College. https://www.agnesscott.edu./lriddle/women/peirce.htm (accessed: July 29, 2019)

Riddle, Larry. 1995-2019. Helen Abbot Merrill. Biographies of Women Mathematicians. Agnes Scott College. http://www.agnesscott.edu/lriddle/women/hmerrill.htm (accessed: Dec. 10, 2019)

Riddle, Larry. 2010. Ruth Goulding Wood. Biographies of Women Mathematicians. Agnes Scott College. http://www.agnesscott.edu/lriddle/women/wood.htm (accessed: Nov. 14, 2011)

Riddle, Larry. 2019. Clara Eliza Smith. Biographies of Women Mathematicians. Agnes Scott College. agnesscott.edu/lriddle/women/smith.htm (accessed: Nov. 22, 2019)

Roberts, Charlotte F. 1896. The Development and Present Aspects of Stereo-Chemistry. Boston: DC Heath & Co., Publishers

Rodgers, John. 1977. Memorial to Eleanora Bliss Knopf 1883-1974. Memorials – Geological Society of America. vol. vi, 4p

Rodkey, Elissa. 2010. Profile. Helen Thompson Woolley. Psychology’s Feminist Voiceshttp://www.feministvoices.com/helen-thompson-woolley (accessed: Jan. 9, 2020)

Roger, Heather. [n.d.] Giuliana Cavaglieri Tesoro. Heather Roger’s Bloghttp://blogs.oregonstate.edu/heatherrogers/giuliana-tesoros-beginning (accessed: Nov. 14, 2011)

Rose, Mary Swartz. 1928. The Foundations of Nutrition. New York: The Macmillan Company

Rossiter, Margaret W. 1980. “Women’s Work” in Science, 1880-1910. Isis Sept. 71(3):381-398

Rossiter, Margaret W. 1981. Geology in Nineteenth-Century Women’s Education in the United States. Journal of Geological Education November 19(5):228-232

Rossiter, Margaret W. 1982. Women Scientists in America: Struggles and Strategies to 1940Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University Press

Rossiter, Margaret W. 1994. Mendel the Mentor: Yale Women Doctorates in Biochemistry, 1898-1937. Journal of Chemical Education March 71(3):215-219

Rossiter, Margaret W. 1995. Women Scientists in America: Before Affirmative Action 1940-1972. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University Press

Rothe, Anna, ed. 1950. Leona Baumgartner. Current Biography: Who’s News and Why. New York, NY: H. W. Wilson Co., 22-24

Rutgers University. Department of Physics and Astronomy. Photo. Mary Wheeler Wigner Memorial Scholarship. Page maintained by Prof. Mohan Kalelkar. https://www.physics.rutgers.edu/ugrad/awards/wigner.html (accessed: July 19, 2019)

Sawin, M. D. and T. Clark. 2002. Evelyn Brower Man. Endocrinologist Sept./Oct. 12(5):369-373

Scarborough, Elizabeth and Laurel Furumoto. 1987. Untold Lives: The First Generation of American Women Psychologists. New York: Columbia University Press

Schiff, Judith. 2004. Milestones in the Education of Women at Yale. New Haven, CT: Yale University. Office of Institutional Research. May 6.

Schlesinger, Frank with Margaretta Palmer and Alice Pond. 1924. General Catalogue of Stellar Parallaxes. New Haven, CT: Yale University Observatory

Seitz, Frederick, Erich Vogt, and Alvin M. Weinberg. 1998. Eugene Paul Wigner 1902-1995. National Academy of Sciences. Biographical Memoirwww.nasonline.org/publications/biographical-memoirs-pdfs/wigner-eugene.pdf (accessed: July 30, 2019)

Shearer, Benjamin F. and Barbara S. Shearer, eds.1997. Notable Women in the Physical Sciences: A Biographical Dictionary. Westport, CT and London: Greenwood Press

Sheehy, Noel, Antony J. Chapman, and Wendy A. Conroy, eds. 2002 (c1997). Biographical Dictionary of Psychology. London: Routledge Reference

Siegel, Patricia Joan and Kay Thomas Finley. 1985. Charlotte Cynthia Barnum. In Women in the Scientific Search: An American Bio-Bibliography, 1724-1979. Metuchen, New Jersey and London: The Scarecrow Press, Inc., 213

Siegel, Patricia Joan and Kay Thomas Finley. 1985. Ruth Goulding Wood. In Women in the Scientific Search: An American Bio-Bibliography, 1724-1979. Metuchen, New Jersey and London: The Scarecrow Press, Inc., 218-219

Skinner, Brian J. and Barbara L. Narendra. 1985. Rummaging through the Attic; Or, A Brief History of the Geological Sciences at Yale. Geological Society of America, Centennial Special 1:355-376

Slight-Gibney, Nancy. 1997. Ida Barney. In Shearer, Benjamin F. and Barbara S. Shearer, eds. Notable Women in the Physical Sciences: A Biographical Dictionary. Westport, CT and London: Greenwood Press, 1-4

Smithsonian Institution Archives. [n.d.] Jean Milton Berdan Papers, 1943-1993, Accession 01-029. https://sova.si.edu/record/SIA.FA01-029 (accessed: August 8, 2019)

St. Mary’s University. [n.d.] Dr. Geraldine Kenney-Wallace. smu.ca/academics/archives/dr-geraldine-kenney-wallace.html (accessed: Oct. 30, 2019)

Stimson, Nancy F. 1997. Icie Gertrude Macy Hoobler. In Shearer, Benjamin F. and Barbara S. Shearer, eds. Notable Women in the Physical Sciences: A Biographical Dictionary. Westport, CT and London: Greenwood Press, 197-202

Stronck, David R. 1997. Jane Anne Russell (1911-1967). In Grinstein, Louise S., Carol A. Biermann, and Rose K. Rose, eds. Women in the Biological Sciences: A Biobibliographic Sourcebook Westport, CT and London: Greenwood Press, 451-457

Thomas, Jean. 2012. Photo. Mary Swartz Rose. Femilogue: An Exercise in Remembering the Ladies femilogue.blogspot.com/2012/10/mary-swartz-rose.html (accessed: March 26, 2020)

TIA Telecommunications Industry Association. Image https://www.tiaonline.org/industry-priorities/cross-industry/artificial-intelligence (accessed: Oct. 2, 2019)

Turing, Alan M. 1950. Computing Machinery and Intelligence. Mind 49:433-450

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Civil and Environmental Engineering. 2019. CEE’s ThirdWomen in Science and Engineering at Yale 2020 Exhibit Bibliography

Wellesley College Archives. 2 Photos of Charlotte Fitch Roberts. Photo in the lab in email to Gwyneth Crowley Nov. 18, 2011 from Ian Graham.

Whiting, Beatrice B. 1982. Anne Millspaugh Cooke Smith, 1900-1981. American Anthropologist June 84(2):395-396  https://www.jstor.org/stable/676412?Search=yes&resultItemClick=true&searchText=anne&searchText=millspaugh&searchText

=cooke&searchText=smith&searchUri=%2Faction%2FdoBasicSearch%3FQuery%3Danne%2B

millspaugh%2Bcooke%2Bsmith%26amp%3Bfilter%3Djid%253A10.2307%252Fj100028&ab

_segments=0%2Fbasic_SYC-5152%2Fcontrol&refreqid=search%3A77777ea75487dff689b1801db436f34d&seq=

1#metadata_info_tab_contents (accessed: April 30, 2020)

Yale School of Medicine. [n.d.] Louise Bates Ames. Biography. https://medicine.yale.edu/profile/115807 (accessed: Jan. 9, 2020)

 

April 30, 2020

Suggested citation:

Bronars, Lori and Gwyneth Crowley, co-curators. 2020. Women in Science and Engineering at Yale University 2020 Edition Exhibit Bibliography. Marx Science and Social Science Library | Yale University Library. https://guides.library.yale.edu/sciencebiography/exhibit.