There are a few guidelines covering permission to publish using Yale's special collections. Yale University will supply permission to publish from collection items only when Yale University is unambiguously the copyright holder. If Yale University is not unambiguously the copyright holder, or if the collection item falls under the copyright regime of a country other than the United States, you do not need, nor can we supply, Yale University's permission simply as the physical owner of the material.
If your intended use of Yale University collection items falls within the fair use limitations on copyright specified in the U.S. copyright law (§ 107, Title 17, United States Code), you do not need our permission for that intended use. We cannot give advice on or determine for you whether fair use applies to your intended use.
Additionally, Yale University celebrates the public domain, and you do not need Yale's permission simply as physical holder of the collection material to publish anything that is in the public domain in the United States.
The Yale University Library and museums, among the world's leading research institutions, collects, organizes, preserves, and provides access to and services for a rich and unique record of human thought and creativity. Through its web sites, the Library and museums offer public access to a range of its collections through online exhibitions, archival finding aids, digital repositories, and the online public access catalog.
Yale University provides access to these materials for educational and research purposes only. Yale University makes no warranty that your distribution, reproduction or other use of these materials will be non-infringing. You are solely responsible for making legal assessments regarding the use of an item and securing any necessary permissions. The written permission of the copyright owners and/or holders of other rights (such as publicity and/or privacy rights) is required for distribution, reproduction, or other use of protected items beyond that allowed by fair use or other statutory exemptions. The Library endeavors when possible to provide accurate factual information about copyright owners and related matters in catalog records, finding aids, and other texts that accompany collections or individual items that may assist you in making necessary legal determinations. Please contact firstname.lastname@example.org if you have helpful information about any material included in these collections or if you believe the web site has not properly attributed your work or has used your material without necessary authorization.
Privacy and publicity rights reflect separate and distinct interests from copyright interests. Neither privacy nor publicity rights are the subject of federal law. While fair use is a defense to copyright infringement, fair use is not a defense to claims of violation of privacy or publicity rights. Privacy and publicity rights are the subject of state laws. What may be permitted in one state may not be permitted in another. Note also that related causes of action may be pursued under the federal Lanham Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1125 (a), for example, for unauthorized uses of a person's identity in order to create a false endorsement. While an individual's right to privacy generally ends when the individual dies, publicity rights associated with the commercial value connected with an individual's name, image or voice may continue.* Researchers bear the responsibility of making individualized determinations as to whether privacy and publicity rights are implicated by the nature of the materials and how they use such materials.
* For additional information on Privacy and Publicity rights see the Library of Congress website.
For general information about copyright, please refer to the following:
Use the following form of each repository's name in formulating your citations to materials from Yale's special collections, or providing credit lines for images:
Arts Library Special Collections
Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library
Divinity Special Collections
Law Library Rare Book Collection
Lewis Walpole Library
Manuscripts and Archives
Medical Historical Library
Music Library Special Collections
Yale Center for British Art