General Collections
- Victorian Database Online.Search over 100,000 records listing books, articles, and dissertation abstracts published from 1945 to 2002 on every field of nineteenth-century British studies.
- British History Online.British History Online digital library contains some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.
- Irish History Online.Irish History Online is a guide to what has been written about the history of Ireland from earliest times to the present. It has been established in association with the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History and London's Past Online. IHO contains items, drawn from Writings on Irish History from 1936 to 2002, plus all the Irish material currently held on the online Royal Historical Society Bibliography.
- British Humanities Index (CSA).An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, BHI indexes over 320 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK, including the Economist, the Financial Times, the Guardian, the Independent, the Observer, and the Times. With the Subject Index to Periodicals, BHI provides an unbroken index to the humanities in Great Britain since 1915.
- Bibliography of British and Irish History.The Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH) provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. All titles included in The Royal Historical Society Bibliography on CD-ROM (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1998) are included in the database (with the exception of unpublished theses).
- Orlando: Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present.Orlando provides entries on authors' lives and writing careers, contextual material, timelines, sets of internal links, and bibliographies. Interacting with these materials creates a dynamic inquiry from any number of perspectives into centuries of women's writing.
- Index to Theses ... Accepted for Higher Degrees by the Universities of Great Britain and IrelandThe Index to Theses provides total bibliographic control of all theses ever produced by British and Irish universities (1716 to the present). Access is by author, title, university, degree, year, and keyword. Abstracts are included for titles written since 1970. Full text is not provided, but copies of the dissertations may be requested through interlibrary loan.
- Irish women poets of the Romantic period.Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period includes more than 80 volumes of poetry by approximately 50 Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842. Compiled and edited by Stephen Behrendt of the University of Nebraska, the database also offers numerous biographical and critical essays prepared by leading scholars specifically for the project. New content is added to the collection on a regular basis. It currently contains over 9,000 pages of poetry.
- Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period.Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period (SWRP) contains 60 volumes of Romantic Poetry, extensive contemporary critical reviews, as well as material specially written for this database by leading scholars.
- Dictionary of Irish Biography.The Dictionary of Irish Biography, a collaborative project between Cambridge University Press and the Royal Irish Academy, is the most comprehensive and authoritative biographical dictionary yet published for Ireland. It contains 9,014 signed biographical articles which describe and assess the careers of subjects in all fields of endeavour, including politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, painting, music, the stage, science, medicine, engineering, entertainment and sport.
- Dictionary of National Biography.The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the premier source for biographical information on persons connected with the British Isles from all periods of history. The qualifications for inclusion are that subjects not be living, that they inhabited or were connected with the British Isles, and that they were noteworthy.
- Defining Gender – 1450-1910 (Adam Matthew Digital).A collection of original source material from British and European archives for the study and analysis of gender, leisure and consumer culture with 21 libraries for comparative study and research. Manuscripts, printed works and illustrations address the key issues from both masculine and feminine perspectives. Documents include ephemera, pamphlets, college records and exam papers, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, account books, educational practice and pedagogy, etc.
- Grand Tour.The Grand Tour was a rite-of-passage for many aristocratic and wealthy young men of the eighteenth century: a phenomenon which shaped the creative and intellectual sensibilities of some of the eighteenth century’s greatest artists, writers and thinkers. These accounts of the English abroad, c1550-1850, highlight the influence of continental travel on British art, architecture, urban planning, literature and philosophy.
- Heritage of the Printed Book Database.The HPB Database (previously called the Hand Press Book Database) is a steadily growing collection of files of catalogue records from major European and North American research libraries covering items of European printing of the hand-press period (c. 1455-c. 1830) integrated into one file. This makes it possible for information to be retrieved in one single search across all files.
- Mundus: Gateway to Missionary Collections in the United Kingdom.The Mundus Gateway is a web-based guide to more than four hundred collections of overseas missionary materials held in the United Kingdom. These materials, comprising the archives of British missionary societies, collections of personal papers, printed matter, photographs, other visual materials and artefacts, are held in a large number of libraries, record offices and other institutions in England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales.
- Oxford Art Online - Grove Art Online.The Dictionary of Art Online is a fully searchable copy of the print dictionary, including some but not all of the illustrations and photographs in the print version. The online dictionary provides an image search for images from the Bridgeman Art Library and also links to images elsewhere on the internet. Types of searches include an Article Search, which performs a search for an article on a specific topic, and a full text search which searches the entire text of the articles.
- English Poetry Database.Essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th. Poems by more than 1,250 poets drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources.
- English Poetry, Second Edition (PQ).English Poetry, Second Edition includes poems by over 2,700 poets, an archive of English verse from the 8th century to the early 20th representing both of the literary heritages of Commonwealth and ex-colonial countries and of the poetic legacies of English writers who have only been brought back to scholarly attention during the last thirty years.
- English Prose Drama.English Verse Drama and English Prose Drama are now combined in this database of 4,000 plays by 1,200 authors from the late thirteenth century to the early twentieth century.
- English Verse Drama.English Verse Drama and English Prose Drama are now combined in this database of 4,000 plays by 1,200 authors from the late thirteenth century to the early twentieth century.
- Literary manuscripts (Berg).The Berg Collection is recognised as one of the finest literary research collections in the world, and the Victorian holdings are the undisputed jewel in its crown. A broad range of authors from across the nineteenth century make this an essential research tool for all scholars and students researching Victorian literature.
Comments (0)
Political and Government Documents
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (ProQuest).With all collections enabled, HCPP now includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. HCPP delivers page images and searchable full text for each paper, along with detailed indexing. HCPP is currently complete from 1801-2006. Records and papers from recent sessions of Parliament will continue to be added on a regular basis.
- Proceedings of the Old Bailey, London, 1674-1834(Universities of Hertfordshire and Sheffield). A fully searchable online edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing accounts of over 100,000 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.
- Annual Register.The Annual Register is a year-by-year record of British and world events covering 1758 to the present and including contemporary opinion, historical context and biographical information. From the American War of Independence, through western industrialisation and world wars, The Annual Register has chronicled and reported events across the globe from the perspective of a contemporary witness. The online version of The Annual Register enables cross-searching of volumes.
- State papers online - Part I and II.State Papers Online, 1509-1714 ('SPO') offers a completely new working environment to researchers, teachers and students of Early Modern Britain. Whether used for original research, for teaching, or for student project work, State Papers Online offers original historical materials across the widest range of government concern, from high level international politics and diplomacy to the charges against a steward for poisoning a dozen or more people.
- The Avalon Project.The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. We do not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text.
- British Official Publications Current Awareness Service- BOPCAS.BOPCAS stands for British Official Publications Current Awareness Service. It includes the House of Commons and House of Lords Hansard, full-text acts of Parliament from 1995 onwards, full-text statutory instruments from 1997 onwards, policy awareness discussion lists and links to UK government web sites. BOPCAS can be searched or browsed by policy / subject area or date.
- Documents on British policy overseas.Documents on British Policy Overseas provides users with access to a wide range of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office, shedding light on throughout the twentieth century. Selected and edited by the official historians of the FCO, Documents on British Policy Overseas includes many documents specifically de-classified for inclusion in the series.
- Burke's Peerage & Gentry.Burke's Peerage is the definitive historical guide to the UK & Irelands titled and landed families. There are more than 1 million names in 15,000+ family records.
- Making of Modern Law (Gale).Contains legal treatises published from 1800-1926, from the Nineteenth-Century Legal Treatises and Twentieth-Century Legal Treatises microfilm collections. Includes more than 21,000 works on U.S. and British Commonwealth law. The nearly 10 million page images are fully searchable by keyword, author, title, date, subject, and full-text.
- Confidential Print: North AmericaColonial Office records spanning 1839-1914, including CO 884/1-38 West Indies, 1826-1961; FO 414/1-278 North America 1824-1941; FO 461/1-13 America, 1942-1956; FO 462/1-10 USA, 1947-1956
Newspapers and Periodicals
- 19th Century British Pamphlets.Some of the most significant collections of 19th century pamphlets are held in UK research libraries. 23,000 paper copy pamphlets from seven university libraries were digitised by BOPCRIS and focus on political, economic and social issues. These provide an immensely rich and coherent corpus of primary sources with which to study the socio-political and economic landscape of 19th century Britain.
- 19th century British Library newspapers.Searchable full text of full runs of newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth-century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as newspapers from: established country or university towns; the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands; and Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform and Chartism.
- The Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition.A free, online edition of six nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers.The edition is formed of two integrated components: the 'Facsimile' component - a repository of full-page facsimiles and textual transcripts generated through OCR; and the 'Keyword' component - an index of semantic keywords and person, place and institution names, generated using data mining and natural language processing techniques. Both components of the system are fully searchable.
- British Periodicals I.British Periodicals Collection I consists of journals spanning the late 17th through early 20th centuries, and covering a range of topics such as literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences. Derived from the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals the collection will contain the equivalent of 5,238 printed volumes and over 3 million pages.
- British Periodicals IIAccess to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images of
English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts. Topics covered include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture. - Periodicals Archive Online (ProQuest).An archive of digitized, full-image journal articles, international, scholarly literature in the humanities and social sciences disciplines from 1802 to 1995 with links to JSTOR enabled. Yale's Subscription includes access to these collections of titles that extend the range of JSTOR: English Literature (75 titles, 1813-1989), History (75 titles, 1813-1989) , British Periodicals Collection I (160 journals, 1681 - 1920).
- Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900.The print edition of the Waterloo Directory was published in 10 volumes in 1998 and represents an expansion of the earlier one-volume Waterloo Directory of Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900. The latter title was published in 1976 with about 29,000 brief entries gathered from a number of extensive secondary sources: the Times’ Tercentenary Handlist of English and Welsh Newspapers, the British Union Catalogue of Periodicals, the British Library Catalogue, and Mitchell’s Newspaper Press Director
- Highland History & Culture.A searchable database of stories and articles carried in the newspapers of the Highlands and Islands of Scotland. The database contains a short summary of each article and a reference to the issue in which the article was published.
- World newspaper archiveMostly holdings from North and South America, as well as titles from numerous Caribbean nations and Commonwealth Nations with relevant information about the UK.
- Access Newspaper Archive for Great BritainContains about 600 titles of varying extend and quality, mostly from the nineteenth to twentieth century.
- Georgian and early Victorian regional newspapers (1750's-1870's)Extracts and transcripts of English and Irish newspapers, principally concentrating on Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Hampshire, London, Lancashire, Middlesex, Surrey, Worcestershire, and Wiltshire.
- John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera.Large collection of 19th century British pamphlets from the Oxford University Library.
- Illustrated London News.
- Internet Library of Early Journals.ILEJ, the "Internet Library of Early Journals" was a joint project by the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford, conducted under the auspices of the Electronic Libraries Programme. It aimed to digitise substantial runs of 18th and 19th century journals, and make these images available on the Internet, together with their associated bibliographic data. Active curation was discontinued in 1999.
Microform Collections
- Anti-Slavery Collection: 18th-19th Centuries, from the Library of the Society of Friends, 1760-1978.This collection contains all of the society’s anti-slavery materials, including tracts, miscellaneous pamphlets, and other ephemeral documents, and some rare, early periodicals of the Thompson-Clarkson Collection, on which Thomas Clarkson based his ‘History of the Abolition of Slavery’.
- Anti-slavery materials: regional records and other pamphlets, 18th-19th centuries: the collection at John Rylands University Library, Manchester.
- Australia: Colonial Life and Settlement. Part 2 Special Budles, 1789-1825.Governmental issues about the colony of Australia. Topics include the massacre in New Zealand of the crew of the Boyd, correspondence with Charles Throsby, medical treatment of convicts, meeting minutes about orphan institutions, and other colonial issues.
- Australia: Colonial Life and Settlement. Part 2, Letters Received, 1788-1825.Governmental and civilian letters received in the colony of Australia from 1788 to 1825. Topics included are agreements, dispatches, general orders, instructions, regulations, proclamations, memoranda, and reports.
- The Blenheim Papers from the British Library, London: The Papers of the 1st Duke of Marlborough, Sarah, Duchess of Marlborough, and the 3rd Earl of Sunderland.Archives from Blenheim Palace. Includes the papers of Charles Spencer, 3rd Earl of Sunderland, writings from John Churchill, 1st Duke of Marlborough, his correspondence with Lord Treasurer Godolphin and other officials and ministers, diplomats and foreign powers, personal papers of his wife, Sarah, Duchess of Marlborough and her correspondence with Queen Anne, and their son-in-law, the 3rd Earl of Sunderland. Topics covered are continental war efforts, domestic policy, the Whig cause, etc.
- British biographical archive.Included in this British biographical archive are biographical entries from 324 reference books originally published between 1601 and 1929. Particular care was taken to include women in this collection, and there are many cross references. Like the other Saur biographical archives, the first fiches provide the title pages and prefaces from the source works. The entries are arranged in one alphabetical sequence.
- Colonial Discourses, Series One: Women, Travel, and Empire, 1660-1914.Women authors writing about travel and the British Empire. Topics included are transforming gender roles, colonial attitudes, identity issues, colonialism, and national awareness within the colonies. Parts two and three are focused on “the Orient” including the Middle East, China, and Japan.
- Colonial Discourses, Series Two: Imperial Adventurers and Explorers.The personal papers of Richard Burton, James Agustus Grant, and John Hanning Speke discussing the Empire and masculinity in the Empire.
- Colonial Discourses, Series Three: Colonial Fiction, 1650-1914.Books of fiction from Britain and Imperial India exploring colonial life, policy, and the colonial experience.
- East India Company Factory Records: Sources from the British Library, London.Material from the East India Company’s dealings in China and Japan. Sources include diaries, ledgers, shipping instructions, business papers, papers on Chinese debts, documents from commercial and factory consultations.
- East Meets West: Original Records of Western Traders, Travellers, Missionaries, and Diplomats to 1852.Documents from William Adams (1564-1620), Englebert Kaempfer (1651-1716), John Scattergood (1681-1723), Isaac Titsingh (1740?-1812), Heinrich Julius Klaproth (1783-1835), and East India Company: Ships’ logs, ledgers and receipt books, 1605-1701.
- Ecclesiastial Authority in England: Church Court Records, c. 1400-c. 1660, 1373-1700.Also includes British Foreign Office Files for China, 1949-1976. Events covered are foundation of the People’s Republic, the deaths of Zhou Enlai and Mao, the arrest of the Gang of Four and the end of the Cultural Revolution in 1976, population issues, the Marriage Law, the Agrarian Reform Law, Sino-Soviet relations, and British commercial policy in China.
- Empire and Commonwealth: Archives of the Royal Commonwealth Society from Cambridge.Materials concerning colonists’ relations with the native people, issues of race and empire, initial cultural contacts, cultural interchange, Commonwealth conferences for 1887-1955 and materials on colonial reform within the Empire. Sources include periodical literature, articles, conference minutes, and reports.
- Government publications relating to the Cape of Good Hope to 1910.Group I consists of Votes & Proceedings of the Cape House of Assembly and the Legislative Council, and Annexures to the Votes and Proceedings (including Select Committee Reports), 1854-1910.
- Government Publications Relating to Nigeria, 1862-1960British government publications consisting of annual reports, blue books, government gazettes, trade supplements, and command records relating to Nigeria, Lagos, Southern Nigeria and the Niger Coast. Topics included are demographic information, transitional colonial government, political and social situations, sources of revenue, public works activities, legislation and laws, agriculture, wages, and the British protectorate interests.
- Ireland: Politics and Society through the Press: 1760-1922Newspaper and journal articles describing the Irish experience under British control from the years 1760-1922. Topics addressed include accession, famine, propaganda on issues such as Repeal, Home Rule, Land League, Pernallism, Irish nationalism, Irish self-awareness, seizure and censorship of the Irish press, Orange Order, Roman Catholic Church, literary revival, economic concerns, Easter Risings, Irish Nationalism, relationship between Irish abroad and the mother country.
- London directories from the Guildhall Library, 1677-1900.The bibliography London Directories 1677-1855, published in 1932 by Charles W.F. Goss, was the starting point for this microfilm collection. These directories serve as a resource for genealogical and urban studies, showing the growth of the city of London over a span of three centuries.
- Masculinity: Men Defining Men and Gentlement, 1560-1918.Rare advice books, manuals and literary texts relating to masculinity between 1560 and 1918. Part 1 comprises 61 core texts from the collections of the Bodleian Library, Oxford.
- Sex and Sexuality, 1640-1940: Literary, Medical and Sociological Perspective.Material that relating to sex and sexuality from 1640 to 1940. Resources included are advice books, medical works, moral guides, erotic and pornographic literature, and literary critiques. Topics cover include prostitution, the sociology of sex, lesbianism, romantic friendships, and flagellation.
- Women, Education, and Literature: The Papers of Maria Edgeworth, 1768-1849.Literary manuscripts, correspondence, and other writings of the British author Maria Edgeworth. The scope of the collection includes Anglo-Irish literature, female education, literary life, society, women’s writing, women’s reading, life in Ireland, and the history of the novel.
- British Foreign Office Japan Correspondence, 1856-1905.http://www.library.yale.edu/microform/microform/list.html#BFOJC
- British general election campaign guides: 1885...1950. (British political sources series)The Guides were compiled for the years 1885, 1892, 1895, 1900, 1906, 1909, 1914, 1922, 1929, 1931, 1935, 1945, and 1950. They provide a history of all major issues of the times and describe the performance of the Conservative, Labour, Liberal and Radical parties, and all significant utterances of major political figures of the period. There is often an introduction at the beginning of a Guide to provide commentary on the political issues of the year or years covered.
- Conservative Party (Great Britain)These minutes and reports are the only extant records of the Conservative Party's Annual Conferences.
- The Crimean War, 1853-1856: From the Holdings of the Russian State Military History Archive.Military archives focused on the correspondences of Emperor Nicholas I and War Minister Prince V.A. Dolgorukov; the local commanders-in-chief, Field Marshall I.F. Paskevich, Prince Alexander Menshikov, and Prince M.D. Gorchakov; some of their top subordinates, Generals A.N. Luders and P.E. Kotsebu (Kozebue) and Adjutant General Annenkov. Among the memoranda and memoirs are contributions of General F.V. Rudiger, Col. A.P. Khrushchov, the experienced statesman and architect of Balkan policy.
- Education of pauper and destitute children in the nineteenth century: a collection of theses on microfiche.The educations of these children was one of the more notable social welfare efforts in Victorian England. This collection of eleven theses covers three categories of institutions: workhouse schools, ragged schools, and industrial schools. Included are several regional case studies. The theses have been selected by W.E. Marsden of the University of Liverpool.
- Great Britain: government documents from multiple government ministries, including the Cabinet Office, Colonial Office, Foriegn Office, Home Office, War Office, and othersComprehensive index of The Guardian Newspaper from 1842-1928. Events included are Peel’s Corn Law Bill, 1848 Revolutions, Chartist Risings, the Great Exhibition, Crimean War, Indian Mutiny, Wars with China, World War I, post World War I politics, and international events.
- The Guardian Index, 1842-1928Comprehensive index of The Guardian Newspaper from 1842-1928. Events included are Peel’s Corn Law Bill, 1848 Revolutions, Chartist Risings, the Great Exhibition, Crimean War, Indian Mutiny, Wars with China, World War I, post World War I politics, and international events.
- Labour Party (Great Britain)Included in Series II are pamphlets and leaflets from the Labour Party. The documents cover the period 1900-1969 and are arranged chronologically in 5 parts.
Series three of the Labour Archives has been filmed in 6 parts, 1-3 and 5-6 of which are included in this collection. Committee period, 1900-1906; Part 2 covers the early years of the Labour Party, 1906-1907; Part 3 documents the War Emergency Workers' National Committee, 1914-1918; Part 4 records the years 1906-1918 of Women's Labour. - Me The Sir Winston Churchill Papers, 1874-1965: from the Churchill Archives Centre.Churchill's engagement in all aspects of national and international affairs over six decades of his public life as politician, soldier, journalist, wartime leader, historian and Nobel Prize winner. Collection is divided into six series:
1-Speeches of Resonance and Power
2-Official Papers of Government Departments
3-Official Papers: Cabinets and Committees
4-Personal Papers: A Family in War and Peace
5-Public and Political Life: Party and Reform
6-Constituency Politics- The Napoleonic Wars, 1805-1815.
The Military History section or Voenno-Uchenyy Arkhiv (VUA) houses the core of the archival holdings on the Napoleonic era in relation to Russia. Contains military, political, and diplomatic documents, official and private correspondence from Emperor Alexander and generals.- Muriel and William Peters Collection, 1817-1968
The collection contains material on the capture, trial, and release of the Amistad captives who were illegally sold into slavery. After seizing the ship that was taking them to the Caribbean, the Africans were captured by a U.S. Navy ship and imprisoned in New Haven, Connecticut. The Amistad Case was tried before the Supreme Court and the Court decided in favor of the Africans.- Northern Ireland political literature.
This collection concentrates on locally published material not easily obtainable from other sources and generally includes three categories of material, namely pamphlets, periodicals and news-sheets, and ephemera. It does not include established newspapers and periodicals, government publications, or official party organs; specifically excluded are the Dublin-based newspapers of both wings of Sinn Fein/Irish Republican Army.- Oliphant: The Collected Writings of Margaret Oliphant.
The complete fiction and non-fiction writings of Margaret Oliphant.- Norton: The Collected Writings of Caroline Norton.
The writings of Caroline Norton.- Pamphlets of socialist and reform movements since 1884.
The ILP became the largest and most influential of British socialist organizations and its history is in large part the story of the early growth of working-class parliamentary power. The material illustrates the views and attitudes of the ILP over this period. It show what was read, highlights the personal connections of the leading protagonists, and covers a wide range of social, political, and cultural concerns.- Pamphlets and leaflets of the Social Democratic Federation and the British Socialist Party, 1883-1931.
The SDF was the first Marxist political organization founded in Britain. This set brings together material from the individual collections at the Marx Memorial Library, London, and the International Institute of Social History, Amsterdam, to form a comprehensive collection of pamphlets and leaflets of the Social Democratic Federation and the British Socialist Party.- Politics in the Age of Revolution, 1715-1848.
The archives of Burke’s letters and papers from the Wentworth Woodhouse, including drafts of speeches and bills, memoranda discussing America, Ireland and the Roman Catholic Question, English politics and the French Revolution.- Social and political status of women in Britain, 1870-1928.
The periodicals included here are from the Newspaper Library of the British Library and cover every aspect of the surge of emancipationist activities in Britain between the passing of the Married Women's Property Act in 1870 and the gaining of full, universal suffrage in 1928.- Sources for the history of the British in the Middle East, 1800-1978.
This is a catalog of the Private Papers Collection in the Middle East Centre, St. Anthony College, Oxford, whose particular strengths include Palestine during the British Mandate, and Saudi Arabia and other Gulf states from World War I on. Not only is precise information given on individual items in the collection, but also there is information on other collections of relevance to the modern Middle East.- Women and Medicine: Remedy Books, 1533-1865: From the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine, London.
Remedy books written by women about lay medicine in Europe in the 17th and 18th centuries.- Working women in Victorian Britain, 1850-1910: the diaries and letters of Arthur J. Munby (1828-1910) and Hannah Cullwick (1833-1909) from Trinity College, Cambridge.
Arthur Joseph Munby was a poet, barrister, and civil servant. He traveled widely and was a noted raconteur. He was also a talented photographer and a Fellow of the Society of Arts. However, his greatest legacy was the record that he kept of his private passion--an obsession with the circumstances, habits and aspirations of working women. - The Napoleonic Wars, 1805-1815.
Description
Loading...

