Index of more than 2300 historical journals in over 40 languages. Essential stop for research.

The Bibliography of British and Irish history provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.

The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography contains biographies of noteworthy people, no longer living, who inhabited or were connected with the British Isles.

Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in across varied subject areas

Print and Online holdings at Yale. Multi-authored series on a variety of topics in British history with bibliographies for further research.

Archive of papers from the original Mass Observation including all material generated by Mass Observation between 1937 and 1949, a few later additions from the 1950s and 1960s and other collections which relate to the historical period and themes of Mass Observation. Many of these are personal papers: diaries, letters, scrapbooks and albums of various kinds.

Digitized primary source collections support study and research of the territories colonized by Britain as well as domestic British history. Collections range from colonial, missionary and transatlantic relations to twentieth century political and social development, covering over four-hundred years of world history.

Encompasses all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed. Includes House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688.

Documents on British Policy Overseas (DBPO) is a fully searchable collection of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO), shedding light on diplomatic history throughout the 20th C. It is based on three print series which form a record of British peacetime diplomacy since the end of the 19th C: British Documents on the Origins of the War 1898-1914, Documents on British Foreign Policy 1918-1939 and Documents on British Policy Overseas.

Yale holdings in print, digital, and microfilm. Use filters on left to sort by region, period and format.