This is the "Art & Art History" page of the "ARTS DATABASES" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Aug 18, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/artsdatabases Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Art & Art History Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Article Indexes covering Art History

ARTbibliographies Modern
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1974 - Present
Indexes journals covering modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art. Scope extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends. Click here for list of indexed journals.

Art Full Text
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1984 - Present; select full-text: 1997 - Present; abstracting: 1994 - Present.
Citations to articles from American and foreign periodicals and museum bulletins dealing with history of art, architecture and related disciplines. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. Art Abstracts also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. For complete list of indexed journals, click here.

Art Index Retrospective
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1929 - 1984
Cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. Retrospective index to Art Full Text.

Arts:Search
3 combined databases: Vended Periodical Index, Biographical Dictionary, full-text journals. Coverage: 20th Century
Design Abstracts Retrospective (DAR) is a new ongoing abstracting and indexing service that aims to cover many of the most important design and applied arts journals and annuals published during the twentieth century.Design ProFILES (DP) - Biographical dictionary of modern designers, craftspeople, artists and architects. ReVIEW [Full-text] - 19th and early 20th century art journals.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1975 - Present
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. For journal directory, click here.

ARTstor
Vended Image Database
Over one million images, many from museum collections, searchable by keyword and browsable by medium, time period, etc. Register and log in to download JPEGs to your computer. Create your own details by zooming in and downloading JPEGs of zoomed-in views.

Bibliography of the History of Art
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1973 - Present
Citations and abstracts of art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals covering current writing on Western fine arts, history of art and architecture. As of April 1, 2010, the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) will be available free of charge on the Getty Web site.

Design & Applied Arts Index
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1973 - Present
Contains annotated references to articles in design and craft journals and covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century. For a list of journals indexed, click here.

DYABOLA
Vended Online Database
Contains electronic subject catalogs of publications on the history of art and the ancient world. Our subscription includes the subject catalogue of European pre- and early history and the archeology of the Roman provinces in the RGK (Roman-Germanic Commission) in Frankfurt, and the Realkatalog of the DAI (German Archaeological Institute) in Rome.

FRANCIS
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1984 to present
Contains a wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities, social sciences, and economics . Strong in religion, the history of art, and literature, with emphasis on current trends in European and world literature. Includes serials, journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, French dissertations, exhibition catalogs, and more.

Humanities Full Text
Vended Periodical Index. Coverage: 1984 - Present
A bibliographic database that cites articles from more than 350 English-language periodicals, plus full-text of over 95 of those periodicals. It covers the fields of archaeology and classical studies, art and photography, history, and much more.

Index Islamicus
Vended Periodical Index
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world. Records included in the database cover almost a century of publications, with some going back to 1906. The print edition extends coverage back to 1605.

Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals
Vended Periodical Index
Indexes 42 art journals published in the US during the 19th century, providing nearly complete coverage of journals from this period. The Index describes the entire journal contents articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements.

International Bibliography of Art
Vended Periodical and Monograph Index
The definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and retains the editorial policies which made BHA one of the most trusted and frequently consulted sources in the field. The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files.

JSTOR
Vended Periodical Index
A historic archive of scholarly journals that includes the arts and humanities.

 

Library Catalogues

WorldCat
Vended Online Library Union Catalogue

WorldCat is the Online Computer Library Center's (OCLC) online "union catalog"; that is, its database of over 1 billion records of books and other materials held in more than 10,000 academic, public, special and national libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to locate materials outside of Yale, in almost any area of study, or to locate items in specific libraries and research collections.

NYARC Arcade
Free Public Online Library Union Catalogue
Arcade is the catalog for three members of the New York Art Resources Consortium (NYARC). Arcade unites the collections of the Frick Art Reference Library and the libraries of the Brooklyn Museum and The Museum of Modern Art.

artlibraries.net – Virtual Catalogue for Art History
Free Online Library Union Catalogue
Virtual Union Catalogue for Art History, formerly the VKK, this free search tool is a European specialized union library catalogue. It gives access to more than 6 million records in various European art libraries.

IRIS Consortium
Free Online Library Union Catalog
A library union catalog founded in 1993. It  is an association of Florentine area art history and humanities libraries.

SCIPIO
Vended Online Library Union Catalogue
Index to Art and Rare Books Sales Catalogs is the only online union catalog of auction catalog records in existence. SCIPIO provides bibliographic access to valuable sources of information on the provenance of art objects and rare books, the history of collecting, and contemporary and historical market trends.

Europeana
Free Online Library Union Catalog
Europeana is a single access point to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised throughout Europe. It is an authoritative source of information coming from European cultural and scientific institutions.

Getty Research Portal
The Getty Research Portal™ is an online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts in the public domain. Through this multilingual, multicultural union catalog, scholars can search and download complete digital copies of publications for the study of art, architecture, material culture, and related fields. The Portal is free to all users.

 

Specialized Databases for Art History

Allgemeines Künstlerlexikon Online / Artists of the World Online
Vended Online Database
The world's most contemporary, reliable and extensive reference work on artists. Content includes Thieme-Becker/Vollmer1 encyclopedia, the Nürnberger Künstlerlexikon and the Lexikon der Künstlerinnen into the database. You will find  more than 1 million artists, more than 500,000 extensive, signed biographical articles, searchable in full text - 3,500 new articles added each year, new articles published online immediately - independent of the print edition, with German and English user interfaces.

Archives Directory for the History of Collecting in America
Free Public Online Database
Provided by the Frick Art Reference Library: A database of dealer and collector archives consolidating information about repositories, dealers, collectors, and dealer archives (including dealer photograph archives). This tool provides essential information for scholars working in the fast-growing field of the history of collecting.

Art & Architecture in Video
Vended Online Database
Alexander Street Press- 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis.

Art Sales Catalogues Online (ASCO)
Vended Online Database
Provides digital access to the content of over 30,000 auction catalogues from 1600-1900. ASCO is the electronic edition of the Repétoire des Catalogues de Ventes Publiques by Frits Lugt which lists more than 100,000 auction catalogues published from 1600-1925.

Arts:Search
3 combined databases: Vended Periodical Index, Biographical Dictionary, full-text journals. Coverage: 20th Century
Design Abstracts Retrospective (DAR) is a new ongoing abstracting and indexing service that aims to cover many of the most important design and applied arts journals and annuals published during the twentieth century.Design ProFILES (DP) - Biographical dictionary of modern designers, craftspeople, artists and architects. ReVIEW [Full-text] - 19th and early 20th century art journals.

Conservation Information Network (BCIN)
Free Online Database. Coverage: 1987 - Present
BCIN is one of three conservation databases first released in 1987. CIN's objective is to facilitate the retrieval and exchange of information concerning conservation and restoration of cultural property. Contains over 190,000 bibliographic citations for conservation literature.

Facsimile Finder
Free Public Online Database
A comprehensive catalog of fine facsimile editions, created with librarians in mind. A super-fast search engine that delivers descriptions, photos and prices in just a few clicks. Search, compare and find the best facsimiles at the best prices.

Grove - Oxford Art Online
Vended Online Encyclopedia
Types of articles include artist biographies, surveys of art by location, artistic styles, schools and movements; art patronage, and materials and techniques. Articles are peer reviewed. The online Dictionary is updated frequently. Corresponds to and updates the 34-volume Dictionary of Art published in 1996.

Index Of Christian Art
Online Vended Index

The Index, produced at Princeton University, can presently provide access to complex information on approximately 200,000 photographic reproductions of Christian art in the east and west from early apostolic times up to 1400 A.D. The term Christian is broadly construed and by no means restricted to art produced within ecclesiastical contexts or theological in theme. Classical Gods, crocodiles and comets are all included in the Index if found in a Christian context.

The Montias Database of 17th Century Dutch Art Inventories
Free Public Online Database
Provided by the Frick Art Reference Library: The Frick Art Reference Library hosts a unique database of inventories of Dutch 16th and 17th century art collections compiled by late Yale University Professor John Michael Montias. Drawn largely from the Gemeentearchief in Amsterdam, these inventories contain a wealth of information that can elucidate patterns of buying, selling, inventorying and collecting art in Holland during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.

Spanish Artists from the Fourth to the Twentieth Century: A Critical Dictionary
Free Public Online Database
Provided by the Frick Art Reference Library: A dictionary providing essential bibliographic information on more than 5,000 Spanish artists, including comprehensive lists of alternate forms of artist surnames. Since its first publication in 1996, it has been widely acclaimed not only as a valuable reference tool but also as a thorough review of scholarly opinion regarding the artistic identities of numerous anonymous masters.

ULAN- Union List of Artist Names
Vended Online Database
The standard thesaurus of artists' names, based upon the several operating programs of the Getty Information Institute (formerly the Art History Information Program). Increasingly used in cataloging art objects, image collections, etc. Useful to the scholar for tracing variant forms of artists' names.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip