This is the "Protocols and Databases" page of the "Basic Science Resources and Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Guides Home
A collection of basic science resources of interest to researchers and students.
Last Updated: Sep 3, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/basic_science Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Protocols and Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Workshops

 

Online Protocols

  Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is an interdisciplinary journal containing research methods in cell, developmental and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, computational biology, immunology, neuroscience and imaging.


The Current Protocols  is a collection of peer-reviewed laboratory protocols for the biomedical and life sciences in general.


 Nature Protocols  is an online journal (part of the Nature Publising Group) of peer-reviewed laboratory protocols for bench researchers.


Springer Protocols is one of the largest subscription-based laboratory protocols in the biomedical sciences.


  The Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological research in a video format.


 Bio-protocol is an open access e-journal that curates and hosts high quality, life science protocols.


Protocol Online is a database of research protocols in a variety of life science fields.

 

Laboratory Methods and Protocols Guide

The Laboratory Methods and Protocols guide at Yale provide additional and valuable resources for those looking for laboratory protocols/ methods.

 

Databases and Other Tools

BIOBASE Knowledge Library (INCLUDES Proteome Bioknowledge Library) The BIOBASE Knowledge Library™ (BKL), an expanded version of the Proteome Bioknowledge Database, is a collection of gene-regulation and protein oriented scientific databases created from the peer-reviewed scientific literature. The TRANSFAC®, TRANSPATH® and PROTEOME™ products are included in BIOBASE.


BIOSIS is the online version of Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts- Reports, Reviews, Meetings contains literature references from all of the life sciences including: agriculture, cell biology, nutrition, public health, botany, biochemistry, biophysics, genetics, zoology, psychology. This is the premier database for coverage of botany research.  


Faculty of 1000 Biology Faculty of 1000 is a literature awareness tool for the biomedical sciences. Highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biomedical sciences, based on recommendations of a faculty or well over 1000 selected leading researchers.


Neuroscience Information Framework is an inventory of Web-based neuroscience resources: data, materials, and tools accessible via any computer connected to the Internet.


OvidSP Medline Ovid  Allows to search across a number of databases including    MEDLINE(R) 1946 to present; Embase 1974 to present; AMED (Allied and Complementary Medicine) 1985 to present; Books@Ovid May 15, 2014; Global Health 1910 to present; Health and; Psychosocial Instruments 1985 to April 2014; PsycBOOKS 1806 to present; PsycINFO 1967 to present

PubMed@Yale Enter PubMed through the Yale link to have access to all our licensed content.

SciFinder Scholar is the interface to the following databases: Chemical Abstracts, CASReact, Registry, CHEMCATS, and Medline. The SciFinder Scholar interface allows users to search these databases using a chemical structure, chemical reaction, research topic, and author information. Registration is required to use this database.


SCOPUS is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.


 Web of Science provides access to research data, books, journals, proceedings or patents from multiple disciplines.


Find a Biomedical Resource by Title, Keyword, or Subject

 Visit the Center for Science and Social Science Information for more resources

Enzyme, Gene & Protein Databases

BioSystems Database (NCBI) The NCBI BioSystems Database provides integrated access to biological systems and their component genes, proteins, and small molecules, as well as literture describing those biosystems and other related data throughout Entrez.

BRENDA BRENDA is one of the main collection of enzyme functional data available to the scientific community. It isavailable free of charge.

Entrez Simultaneously search multiple life sciences databases at the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Entrez provides integrated access to nucleotide and protein sequence data from >160,000 organisms, along with 3D protein structures, genomic mapping information, PubMed MEDLINE, and more. Sequence data are combined from various sources, including GenBank, EMBL, DDBJ, RefSeq, PIR-International, PRF, Swiss-Prot, and PDB.

European Bioinformatics Institute The Institute manages databases of biological data including nucleic acid, protein sequences and macromolecular structures. The Institute also provides an exhaustive web-based collection of tools for the field of bioinformatics. A number of applications and databases can be found at EBI that are not offered by other resources.

GeneCards GeneCards is a searchable, integrated, database of human genes that provides concise genomic related information, on all known and predicted human genes.

Nucleic Acids Research Molecular Biology Database Collection  A public resource that contains links to the databases described in this issue of Nucleic Acids Research, previous NAR database issues, as well as a selection of other molecular biology databases that are freely available on the web and might be useful to the molecular biologist.

Biomedical Sciences Research Support

Profile Image
Rolando Garcia-Milian
Follow me on ResearchGate
Contact Info
Yale Medical Library, 333 Cedar St, Room L-111, New Haven CT 06520
Send Email
Personal Librarian:
Combined Program in the Biological and Biomedical Sciences (BBS)

Use Yale Links!

Be sure to use Yale Links so that you are getting the most complete and efficient access to thousands of electronic journals.

Finding Patents

Scopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database.  It allows users to limit search results to patents. Try it at SCOPUS. You can also find a link to Scopus under the Resources section of our website.

Also try SciFinder Scholar.  SciFinder Scholar requires that you download the application to your computer.

Other Yale sites with patent information include:

 

Yale Research Accelerator

 The YCCI Research Accelerator is designed to facilitate scientific collaboration and resource sharing throughout Yale and beyond. Researchers can share and discuss data, reagents, human samples, laboratory protocols, validated antibodies, cell lines, research projects and more.  The Accelerator can be modified to work with researchers in professional organizations as well.   Check it out!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip