This is the "Home" page of the "Botany and Plant Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Botany and Plant Sciences   Tags: botany, flowers, plant sciences  

This guide identifies major information resources in botany including databases, bibliographies, handbooks, and guides.
Last Updated: Mar 28, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/botany Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New Books in Botany at the CSSSI (click on cover)

Major Resources and Tools for Botany (abstracts and databases)

  • BIOSIS Previews
    Premier botany database, 1926-. International coverage.
  • BIOSIS Previews tutorial
    Online help provided by the database producer.
  • Web of Science
    International coverage of core journals, 1900-. Includes cited reference searching. (Science Citation Index)
  • CAB Abstracts (Ovid)
    Agriculture and applied biology abstracts. International. Includes plant breeding, horticulture, grasslands and TREECD (Forest Science Database).
  • Agricola
    U.S. agriculture literature citations, 1970-.
  • Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
    (eLS) A multi-volume work from Wiley. Key subject areas: biochemistry, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolution and diversity oflife, genetics, molecular biology, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, plant science, structural biology, virology.
  • Scopus
    Interidsciplinary database. Includes links to citing articles, 1996-.
  • F1000Prime
    Database of article recommendations by faculty.
  • Google Scholar
    A good complement to BIOSIS Previews searches. Use Yale Fulltext links and note "Cited by" numbers. Not all Yale libraries' online content is reflected in Yale Fulltext links; search Orbis manually for other items of interest.
  • JSTOR Global Plants
    A database of nearly 2 millon herbaria specimen images from around the world. Some special collecton materials such as Carl Linneaus's annotated editions of Species Naturae and illustrations from Curtis's Botanical Magazine.
 

Indexes and Bibliographies in Botany

- Major Resources and Tools (indexes and bibliographies)


Current Advances in Plant Science - Print index arranged in a classified system. Over 2,000 journals indexed. CSSSI Z5353 C87 (LC) 1972-2006

Catalogue of Scientific Papers (Royal Society) - for citations 1800-1900. LSF Subject Index, SML, Starr Main Reference Room (non-circulating) Z7403 R69 Index (LC) + Oversize, Medical/Historical, Reference Hist Ref 2 Z7403 R79 1908-1914

Just's Botanischer Jahresbericht - Citations cover 1873-1935. Classified arrangement. LSF

Botanical Abstracts - CSSSI QK1 B64A, LSF 1918-1926

International Catalogue of Scientific Literature - Section M is botany. Covers some unique sources 1901-1914. From The Royal Society of London. LSF Z7403 I58

Bradley Bibliography: a guide to the literature of the woody plants of the world published before the twentieth century by Alfred Rehder. 5 volumes. Cambridge, 1911. - arranged by broad subject (dendrology, forestry, arboriculture) with title and author indexes in volume v. CSSSI Z5356 T7 R4 5 volumes

Index of Mosses: a catalog of the names and citations for new taxa, combinations, and names for mosses. Citations to nomenclature literature of mosses, 1963-1995. With Index to Plant Chromosome Numbers, a subset of the TROPICOS database of vascular plant nommenclature citations. LSF QK538 C77X (1992, 1994, 1997)

Kew Record of Taxonomic Literature - An index providing a subject-arraged listing of references to the world's taxonomic literature for flowering plants, gymnosperms and ferns. A genus and author index are also provided. Published since 1971. In print from HMSO. Online from the Royal botanic Gardens, Kew. Online it is part of the Kew Bibliographic Databases, along with Plant Micromorphology Bibliographic database and Economic Botany Bibliographic Database. LSF Z5354 C53 K48 (LC) Oversize

Garden Literature: an index to periodical articles and book reviews. Indexes published material pertaining to gardening and related areas (medicinal botany, plants in legends, ecology and conservation of plants, landscape architecture). Annual volumes available 1992-2001. LSF

Guide to Reference and Information Sources in Plant Biology by Diane Schmidt, Melody M. Allison, Kathleen A. Clark, Pamela F. Jacobs, and Maria A. Porta. Libraries Unlimited, 2006. 282p. CSSSI Z5351 G85X 2006 (LC)

 

- Illustrations


Gallery of Connecticut Wildflowers (URL is http://www.ct-botanical-society.org/) Site is from the Connecticut Botanical Society. The color photos of CT wildflowers are accessible by common name, scientific name, or by color group and were obtained from several well-known reference books.

An Illustrated Flora of the Northern United States and Canada by Nathaniel Lord Britton and Addison Brown. In 3 volumes. Dover Publications, Inc., 1970. CSSSI QK117 B8 1970 Main arrangement of information is by family. Line drawings accompany entries.

Illustrated Guide to Tropical Plants by EJH Corner and K. Watanabe. Hirokawa Publishing Co., Inc., 1969. LSF QK 936 C67 1983 Line drawings for each entry are found. Numerous drawings in color can also be found in this resource.

Picture Australia Site is from the National Library of Australia; images are from Australian collections. Follow the Wildflowers trail for drawings, paintings, or photos of Australian wildflowers.

Wild Flowers of the United States by Harold William Rickett and (Ed.) William C. Steere. McGraw-Hill Book Company, 1966. CSSSI QK 115 R53 1966 In 6 volumes, a source for many color drawings of U.S. wild flowers.

 

- Tools and tips for assistance

List of Journal Indexed by BIOSIS Previews

Search results in Orbis can be limited to Online Books and Serials using the Quick Limits drop-down box below the simple search box. Yale subscriptions include access to the PlantSCIENCEnetBASE online book collection from CRC/Taylor & Francis.

For shelf browsing, Library of Congress classification QK is for botany.  At QK47 textbooks of botany may be found.

- Related Departments and Libraries

Department of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology

Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology 

Center for Science and Social Science Information

Harvey Cushing/John Hay Whitney Medical Library

Related Guides:

Biographical Information Resources for the Sciences

Taxonomy and Classification Resources Guide

Guide to Selected Library Information Sources in Forestry and Environmental Studies

Choosing a Journal for Publication of an Article

 

Dissertations

 

Some of the Yale dissertations in botany are available through Orbis paging (Place Requests) from the Library Shelving Facility, the earliest two being Alexander William Evans' (later Eaton Professor of Botany at Yale University) "The Hawaiian Hepaticae of the Tribe Jubuloideae" (1898, reprinted from Transactions of the Connecticut Academy, vol. X, March 1900), and Wilton Everett Britton, "Vegetation of the North Haven Sand Plains" (1903, reprinted from the Bulletin of the Torrey Botanical Club, vol. 30:571-620, November 1903).

Dissertations from over 1,000 educational institutions in the U.S. can be identified (1861-) and read (1997-) by using Dissertations & Theses- Full-Text. Citations with abstracts appear for 1980 onward. Some master's theses information is also accessible (citations and abstracts from 1988 to present). If not available in the Yale libraries or through the Dissertations and Theses Full-Text subscription, current affiliates may request a loan through Interlibrary Loan services. Requests for non-U.S. dissertations generally take considerably longer to fill.

 

Browsing by Call Number in Orbis

Science Research Support Librarian - Life Sciences

Profile Image
Lori Bronars
Contact Info
Send Email
 

Contact Information

 

203 432 6213

lori.bronars@yale.edu

Center for Science and Social Science Information

Kline Biology Tower

219 Prospect St.

New Haven, CT 06520-8111

 

non-CSSSI office hours:

Tuesdays 9-10 am OML 1st floor break room by EEB Business Office

Fridays 9-10 am 362A JWG 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip