Skip to main content
Banner Image

Faber Birren Collection of Books on Color: Faber Birren Collection of Books on Color

Information about the Faber Birren Collection of Books on Color, part of Arts Library Special Collections at the Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library.

Robert B. Haas Arts Library

reading room at Arts Library

Yale's Arts research library contains approximately 125,000 volumes on-site, including current issues of art and architecture journals, plus related rare and unique materials. Off-site, an additional 300,000+ books and periodicals are stored in the Library Shelving Facility for quick delivery to any Yale Library.

Library Hours

Introduction

The Faber Birren Collection of Books on Color is particularly strong in color systems, color standards, and color nomenclature. Color theory, artists' manuals and treatises, and color techniques are also well represented. In addition, the collection has materials on vision, psychology, printing and the graphic arts, textiles, music, religion, biology, medicine, heraldry, and the occult. The collection has materials ranging from the 16th to the 20th centuries with important editions by Renee Descartes, Isaac Newton, Moses Harris, M.E. Chevreul, and G.B. Greenough, among others.

Accessing the Collection

The Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library welcomes researchers from around the globe.  The Birren Collection is a non-circulating research collection accessible through the facilities of the Special Collections in the lower level of the Haas Family Arts Library. Access is controlled because of the rare and often delicate nature of the materials.  On-site items may be viewed on the same day as they are requested at the front desk of the Special Collections Reading Room. Off-site items (with Orbis message "LSF. Contact haasalsc@yale.edu to Request Item") must be requested at least 2 business days in advance. Requests can be made in person or through the Arts Library Special Collections Request Form. Each reader must fill out a registration form and follow all ALSC policies and procedures.

Associate Director for Special Collections & Public Programs, Arts Library

Jae Rossman
Contact:
The Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library, 180 York Street.

203.432.4439
Website / Blog Page