Skip to main content
Banner Image

Manuscripts and Archives Renovation Information: Public Services During the Renovation

 

Manuscripts and Archives will undergo a major renovation of its public spaces during 2017. While the renovation is in progress all public services, including the reading room where researchers consult collection materials, will be temporarily relocated to the Franke Room in Sterling Memorial Library. Franke is immediately to your left as you enter the library through the main (High Street) entrance.


Manuscripts and Archives will be completely closed to in-person researchers and remote reference requests from Monday, December 12, 2016 through Monday, January 16, 2017 while we relocate to the Franke Room.


We will open for public services in the Franke Room on Tuesday, January 17, 2017 and remain open during our normal operating hours through the end of the renovation project, currently anticipated to be late November 2017. Please consult the hours calendar on our website for specific dates.

 

Request Limits In Place in the Temporary Reading Room

Manuscripts and Archives researchers will be limited to requesting 5 boxes at a time (instead of the usual 10-box limit) in our temporary reading room. This is necessary due to constrained collection storage space in our temporary location. Please contact public services staff if you have questions about this temporary limitation.

Access to Manuscripts and Archives Collections During the Renovation

Please visit us in person in our temporary reading room between Tuesday, January 17, 2017 and November 2017, after which we anticipate being back in our iconic reading room in the Wall Street wing of Sterling Memorial Library.

During the renovation project all Manuscripts and Archives public services (reading room, reference, ordering reproductions, and instruction) will be located in the Franke Room and International Room on the first floor of Sterling Memorial Library. To reach us in person, enter Sterling Memorial Library through the main (High Street) entrance and turn left immediately after you pass the security guard station.

Contact

Manuscripts and Archives
Contact:
Manuscripts and Archives

Yale University Library

P.O. Box 208240

New Haven, CT 06520-8240

(203) 432-1735
Website / Blog Page