This is the "About this Guide" page of the "Manuscripts and Archives (Repository) Sexuality Subject Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Manuscripts and Archives (Repository) Sexuality Subject Guide  

Guide to resources in Manuscripts and Archives on sexuality and gender.
Last Updated: Jun 14, 2011 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/mssa_subjects_sexuality Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

About this Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Recent Acquisitions

Gay & Lesbian Advocates & Defenders records
Call Number: MS 1961
The records document the organization and activities of the Gay & Lesbian Advocates & Defenders (GLAD), a nonprofit legal organization dedicated to defending the rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals and people with HIV, primarily in New England. The collection primarily consists of correspondence, topical files, reports, meeting minutes, legal research, litigation and amicus files, publications, volunteer and training manuals, and newspaper clippings created or maintained by GLAD. The records document all aspects of the organization, including its history, structure, and activities from its founding in 1978 to the present. The collection provides a rich resource for the study of GLAD, anti-discrimination efforts, and the legal issues facing lgbt people and people with HIV in the U.S.

Love Makes a Family records - Love Makes a Family, Incorporated.
Call Number: MS 1962
The Love Makes a Family (LMF) records consist of email correspondence, bylaws, reports, meeting minutes, research data, publications, Web pages, social media account files, topical files, interviews and testimonies, photographs, audiovisual recordings, and newspaper clippings documenting the history, structure, and activities of LMF, Inc. and its related organizations. The records primarily document LMF's successful efforts on behalf of marriage equality for same-sex couples in Connecticut.

John Glines papers - Glines, John
The papers primarily consist of correspondence, writings, theatrical production files, biographical and financial records, memorabilia (including awards and scrapbooks), photographs, photo albums, and audiovisual materials documenting Glines’s personal and professional life as a writer for stage and screen, actor, and producer of gay theater. The Glines, the oldest professional gay theater production company in the United States, founded in 1976 by John Glines, Barry Laine, and Jerry Tobin, is also documented.

 

What's Here

 

The Manuscripts and Archives Sexuality Subject Guide is an annotated list of personal papers and organization records in Manuscripts and Archives related to gender, sexuality, and lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender lives and culture. The guide, though not comprehensive, lists the most substantive sources. The guide is organized in rough chronological order.  Choose a particular time period or view a list of all the collections by choosing the appropriate tab above.  

 

Additional information about each collection is available in the catalog record in ORBIS, the Yale University Library online public catalog, and/or a finding aid. (Finding aids are more detailed than the annotations in this guide.  They provide context for the materials described as well as a contents list, usually to the box and folder level and sometimes to the item level.) Click on the highlighted titles to access the finding aid.

 

While the subject content of several of the collections described is exclusively or primarily sexuality and gender, the majority of the collections contain additional materials relevant to a broad spectrum of other research topics.  Additionally, many of our collections not listed in this guide may be relevant to research in gender and sexuality.

 

 

 

About Manuscripts and Archives (Repository)

Manuscripts and Archives is a major center for historical inquiry and also serves as the documentary memory of Yale University. All members of the Yale community as well as those outside the university are welcome to use the resources and services of the department.

 

 

To learn more about us, our services, or how to access our collections, please visit our website.

 

Archivist

Mary Caldera
Contact Info
Manuscripts and Archives
150 Sterling Memorial Library
(203) 432-1735
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip