U.S. Federal Documents Collection

Yale University Library was designated a federal depository library in 1859. It became a selective depository when the program was reorganized by federal public law in 1962, meaning that it does not receive all materials disseminated through the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) but instead selects a subset of those materials.
Strengths of the FDLP collection include congressional and executive branch documents, economics, international relations and diplomacy, labor, history, public policy and social issues, and statistical publications. The collection includes materials from 1789 to the present.
The Yale Law Library is also a U.S. federal depository library.
Comments (0)
Other local depository libraries
- Yale Law School Library
- University of New Haven
- Southern Connecticut State University
- Connecticut State LibraryA regional depository library since 1967, the CT State Library receives all materials distributed through the Federal Depository Library Program and retains them permanently. It also serves as a resource for all selective depositories in its region and is a source for interlibrary loan.
Yale Government Documents News
Loading...
General resources for U.S. government information
- Orbis (Yale Library Catalog)Yale's government documents collection is fully cataloged and can be searched through Orbis. Most documents are shelved at LSF; make a request in Orbis to have a document delivered to any library on campus.
- FDsysFDsys, the Federal Digital System from the Government Printing Office (GPO), provides online access to official publications from all three branches of the U.S. federal government, including the federal budget, congressional documents, the U.S. Code, and more. Coverage will vary by collection, but many publications are available in full text back to the 1990s.
- ProQuest Congressional (Yale subscription database)Full-text access to Congressional documents including bills, hearings, the Congressional Record, the Serial Set, and more.
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (1976-present)The CGP is a finding tool for electronic and print publications from all branches of the federal government. It's a good way to find citations to documents that aren't in Yale's government documents collection, but could be requested through interlibrary loan.
- Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1895-1976 (Yale subscription database)The Monthly Catalog is the predecessor of the CGP. This database acts as an index to historical government documents; while it doesn't include full text, it can help you find citations to documents that you can then search for in Orbis or other library catalogs.
How to cite U.S. government documents
- DocsCite (Arizona State University Libraries)Step-by-step guide to formatting U.S. federal government document citations in MLA or APA style.
- ProQuest Congressional: How to CiteGuidelines for citing the variety of Congressional publications included in the ProQuest Congressional database.
- Legal Citation Formats (LexisNexis)The basics of interpreting, retrieving, and referencing legal citations.
- Citing Records in the National Archives of the United States
- How to Cite NCHS Publications (National Center for Health Statistics)
Subject Librarian |
Contact Info Center for Science and Social Science Information 219 Prospect Street New Haven, CT 06520 phone: (203) 432-3310 Send Email I am currently reading: Building Stories (Chris Ware) |





Loading...
