The following are a few resources on the web that will be of use in researching Yale's history. Many of these resources are digitized versions of the reference materials most commonly used by the staff of Manuscripts and Archives in answering patron questions about the history of Yale University.
For information on print resources related to Yale, please see our guide to the Yale Publications collection.
- Directory of the living non-graduates of Yale university (1914)
Scanned from a published directory of individuals who attended Yale but did not graduate. The directory was published in 1914, and includes only non-graduates alive in that year.
- Documentary History of Yale University (1916)
Scanned copy of Franklin Bowditch Dexter's 1916 compilation of documents relating to the history of Yale University, of a date earlier than that of the charter of May 1745.
- Yale Banner
Many public domain volumes of the Yale Banner and the Yale Banner and Pot Pourri are available through the HathiTrust Digital Library.
- Yale Class Books
Many volumes of Class Books for Yale College and the Sheffield Scientific School are in the public domain and are available online. The link above takes you to a search for "Yale Class Books" on the Google Books website. More class books may be available at the Internet Archive
or the HathiTrust Digital Library
The exact titles of Yale Class Books have changed over the years, making it difficult to find them with only one set of search terms. Many titles use phrases such as "Record of the Class of" or "History of the Class of" followed by the graduation year. For an example of an additional search in Google Books that finds many more Class Books, see here
- "Old Yale" Articles from the Yale Alumni Magazine
Annotated list of articles about various aspects of Yale history. The list includes abstracts of articles published from 1987 to 2007, and links to online versions beginning in 1998.
- Yale Daily News Historical Archive
- Yale Law Journal
Issues published prior to 1923 are available for free at the Internet Archive.
- Yale Literary Magazine
Some volumes published before 1923 are available through the HathiTrust Digital Library.