It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Bibliography of British and Irish history provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.
Provides access to magazines and journals published in Great Britain from 1800-1900 with color facsimiles of all articles. It includes publications on aspects of 19th century life, including literature, culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine, and other professions.
Collection of material focusing on popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Includes full-text, full-color reproductions of books, ephemera, handbills, pamphlets, photos, posters, programs, scripts, and other types of materials. Coverage is most extensive for Great Britain; but there is also material from the U.S.A.
Features primary source collections of the nineteenth century. Includes a variety of material types: monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, and statistics. Of note in this collection: British politics and society; British theatre, music, and literature; Children's literature and childhood.
Throughout the 19th century, pamphlets were an important means of public debate, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day. 19th Century British Pamphlets contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in research libraries in the United Kingdom, more than 26,000 pamphlets from collections in seven universities in the UK.
Librarian for Literature in English, Comparative Literature, and Linguistics