Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For information about visitor access, see COVID-19 library updates..

BENG 405: Biotechnology and the Developing World: Home

Find articles in journals

Web of Science
Use to locate interdisciplinary articles and cited references.

PubMed
Comprehensive article database for biomedical research. To find journal articles with significant statistical content, add this statement to your search: (vital statistics[mh] OR statistics as topic[mh])

 

Find public health data and statistics

Statista
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources. Includes country report dossiers. See Example. You can use charts and graphs in your presentation.

Demographic and Health Surveys (USAID)
USAID DHS program provides country specific and comparative data on population, health and nutrition in developing countries. See Example survey.

The Global Health Observatory of the World Health Organization (WHO)
WHO's gateway to health-related statistics for its 194 member countries.The country statistical pages bring together the main health data and statistics for each country and include descriptive and analytical summaries of health indicators for major health topics.

DataBank (World Bank)
DataBank is an analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. Available databases include Health Nutrition and Population Statistics that includes key health, nutrition and population statistics gathered from a variety of international sources. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.

Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME)
IHME creates and collates information about population health, health determinants, and the performance of health systems. The Global Burden of Disease analyzes causes of death, diseases and injuries, and risk factors in 204 countries and territories. The Global Health Data Exchange is a catalog of health-related data including surveys, censuses, and vital statistics; you can search by topic or by country. 

For additional sources. see the library research guide on health statistics.

Find country data and statistics

United Nations Statistical Yearbook
View and download tables on population and migration, health, energy, environment, and more.

World Factbook (CIA)
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for world entities.

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Andy Shimp
Contact:
17 Hillhouse Avenue
Room 110
PO Box 208342
New Haven, CT 06520
203-432-7460

Contact the Public Health Librarian Team