Skip to main content

Gates Special Collections Classroom, Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library: Welcome!

Information for students and faculty members on finding and using the Gates Special Collections Classroom.

Gates Special Collections Classroom Overview

Welcome to the Gates Special Collections Classroom in Manuscripts and Archives (Sterling Memorial Library, Room 150B). The Gates Classroom was created during the 2017 renovation of Manuscripts and Archives through the generous gift of Stephen F. Gates (Class of 1968).

The Gates Classroom is intended as a teaching laboratory for Yale classes and other groups using materials from the Yale University Library's rich special collections repositories. In addition to materials from Manuscripts and Archives, collections from the Arts Library Special CollectionsDivinity Special CollectionsMedical Historical Library, and Music Library Special Collections can be brought together here for instruction sessions for Yale classes. Class sessions that will include collection materials from the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library must be scheduled in a Beinecke classroom.

The entrance to the Gates Classroom is at the rear of the Linonia and Brothers (L&B) Reading Room in Sterling Memorial Library. In spite of having its own entrance, the Gates Classroom is within the security perimeter of Manuscripts and Archives and guests must secure personal belongings in dedicated lockers in an alcove off of the L&B Reading Room prior to entering. Food and drink are never permitted in the Gates Classroom. 

The Gates Classroom can comfortably accommodate 20 people seated at 10 tables and working hands-on with special collections materials. Larger groups, up to 30, can be accommodated with less opportunity for students to actively work with the collections. There are two 84" monitors onto which an instructor's laptop can be projected using Solstice software. 

Gates Classroom, Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library, Yale University