Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The papers consist of material from El Salvador, including guerrilla propaganda, internal guerrilla memoranda, and U.S. and Salvadoran government documents; material from Puerto Rico relating to the Cerro Maravilla case and the Culebra island controversy; and documents on the 1981-1982 national elections of Honduras, Costa Rica, Guatemala, El Salvador, Mexico, and the Dominican Republic.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Box 1, Chile
• Box 2, El Salvador 

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: This collection contains diary entries, memos, calendars, and other papers created by, or related to, Donald Lyman. Materials also include a sixty-five page diary documenting Lyman's work in Mexico as Special Assistant to U. S. Ambassador John Gavin and Acting Deputy Chief of Mission from 1981-1984.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Box 1, Diaries

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The Vance papers primarily document Cyrus R. Vance's professional and personal activities. Of particular significance are background materials, correspondence, position papers, and handwritten meeting notes relating to SALT II negotiation between the United States and the Soviet Union; the Camp David Summit and the signing of the Middle East Peace Treaty; diplomatic relations with the Far East, especially China; and negotiations to release the American hostages in Iran.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Box 9, Meeting with Fidel Castro

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

The papers consist of correspondence, memoranda, writings, speeches, photographs and other material that document the career of the diplomat, author and foreign policy expert and scholar Henry A. Kissinger.  Dr. Kissinger served as United States secretary of state from 1973 to 1977 and as assistant to the president for national security affairs (national security advisor) from 1969 to 1975.

• Box 373, Panama Trip, February 1974
• Box 670, Panama Canal Treaty, October 1977

NOTE: The Kissinger Papers have been digitized and are searchable on Yale's digital collections. However, some folders have access requirements. If you would like to use the Kissinger Papers for your research, it is strongly encouraged you speak with Dr. Cochran to get an overview of the collections and these requirements. 

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The collection documents the career of investigative photojournalist and author Andrew St. George. The bulk of the material centers on St. George’s work in documenting United States-Latin American relations from the 1950s through the 1970s, particularly United States-Cuban relations. A significant amount of material documents Fidel Castro’s revolution in Cuba, the aftermath of the revolution on the island, and its effect on other Latin American and Caribbean countries and their relationship with the United States. This collection includes published and unpublished writings by St. George, photographs, slides, and negatives, audio recordings, and film documenting St. George's public appearances.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Box 3, Cuba
• Box 21, Photographs, Cuba

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: Sack served as Minister to Costa Rica from 1933 through 1937. During this time he also worked as a special assistant to James Farley, chairman of the Democratic National Committee for the 1936 presidential campaign. Sack resigned this post to join the Schenley Products Company in 1938 and in 1940 opened his own public relations firm in Washington, D. C.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Box 1, Costa Rica

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The John J. Peck Papers consist of journal entries, correspondence, and printed material, bound in eight volumes, that document Peck's military and political career. Manuscript copies of journals and outgoing letters to newspapers, family members, and military officers record his experience in the following campaigns: several battles including the Battle of Monterrey and occupation of Mexico City during the Mexican-American War; a campaign against the Navajo and Apache in New Mexico (1849-1851, including an account of a journey over the Santa Fe Trail); and the 1863 seige of Suffolk, Virginia during the American Civil War. Newspaper clippings and manuscript copies of correspondence document Peck's involvement in Democratic Party politics, including an unsuccessful run for Congress in New York State in 1856. The Papers include one typescript volume of transcriptions, presumably compiled when researching The Sign of the Eagle, edited by Richard F. Pourade and commissioned by James Strohn Copley in 1970.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Box 1, Journal on Mexico

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The James Watson Webb papers consist of correspondence, letterbooks, newspapers, diaries, and miscellanea documenting the personal life and professional career of James Watson Webb and his family, including his second wife, Laura Virginia Cram Webb. The papers document Webb's journalistic and political careers, his personal life, and the activities and observations of his second wife, Laura Virginia Cram Webb, a close confidante to her husband. Major topics of interest include New York politics and life, national politics, the Civil War, foreign relations with France and Brazil, and the social life of New York and Washington, D.C. As a major New York City newspaper publisher and a U.S. diplomat to Brazil, Webb corresponded with such figures as Nicholas Biddle, James Blaine, Lewis Cass, Henry Clay, Hamilton Fish, Abraham Lincoln, William Marcy, Napoleon III, William Seward and others.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Box 39, Diaries of Laura Virginia Webb

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The collection consists of the diary of Elisha Spencer Benton, which he kept during his service with the U.S. Army Seventh Artillery in Puerto Rico during the Spanish American War. Entries concern his unit's movements, the supply situation, and measures to fight the spread of yellow fever among the soldiers. Benton also includes observations on the countryside, settlements, and people of Puerto Rico. Much of the journal concerns the period after the short American military campaign in Puerto Rico ended August 15, 1898. Entries are often days or weeks apart and some appear in the journal out of their chronological order. The journal also includes several letters regarding Benton's war service and other writings from before the war, including a play and a speech, which Benton copied onto the pages by hand.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Box 1, Spanish-American War Diary

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The collection consists of audiotapes, transcripts, notebooks, correspondence, documents, printed material, and writings accumulated by Levy while conducting research for his book, Cesar Chavez: Autobiography of La Causa. The collection documents the life of Cesar Chavez as well as the early history of the United Farm Workers union. The collection contains a large oral history component, 314 audiotapes totalling ca. 500 hours of interviews, with extensive interviews of Chavez, Chavez family members, colleagues, and others involved in the labor movement in the United States. Levy typed transcripts for many tapes. These are present in the collection.
The collection also contains 96 spiral notebooks containing Levy's field notes of meetings, court hearings, and labor negotiations, extensive subject files on the California Agricultural Labor Relations Act, signed into law in 1975, and an assassination plot against Chavez by growers. These materials are augmented by research conducted by Levy after Chavez's death, with audiotape interviews, book outlines, letters, and Chavez's FBI files.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Box 22, Material related to the Bracero Program

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: This collection consists of approximately eleven thousand photographs created by Jon Lewis that document the activities of Cesar Chavez, the National Farm Workers Association, and United Farm Workers Organizing Committee in California, 1966-1971, as well as related publications and audiovisual materials, including videotapes and videodiscs, 1967-2009. Most images document activities related to the California Grape Strike in 1966.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Box 2, Fieldworkers and Fieldscapes

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The collection consists of 869 black-and-white and color photographic prints by Italian photographer Paola Agosti documenting social change, political movements, and daily life in Italy, South America, Cuba, the United States, Portugal, Mozambique and Somalia, and Lesotho and South Africa.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Box 3, Photographs from South America, 1970-1987

Link to the finding aid for this collection in Archives at Yale

Overview: The John W. Dodd Papers cover the period between 1845 and 1862, but consist primarily of chronologically arranged correspondence between John W. Dodd and his wife Eliza Dodd from May 1847 to June 1848. The papers are concerned with Dodd's military experiences in the Mexican War and Eliza's feelings of loneliness and apprehension during his absence.

Collection materials used in class session:

• Box 1, Correspondence, 1845-1848