1. Edward Mandell House Papers (MS 466): The materials in these papers relate to a period extending from 1885 to 1938 and reflect Colonel House's three major (and lifelong) professional interests: developments in Texas, Democratic Party politics, and foreign affairs. The papers are especially useful to students of the period 1912 to 1919, when Colonel House served as President Wilson's principal political adviser. Probably the richest part of the entire collection deals with Colonel House's experiences at the Paris Peace Conference of 1918-1919.

• House Papers, Series III, Political Papers, Box 187 Pre-Armistice negotiations and Condition Reports

2. World War I Collection (MS 754): The collection consists of miscellaneous printed matter, photographs, songs, reports, and a small amount of correspondence and diaries of American men, chiefly with a Yale connection, describing their war experiences. Many of the printed items are official reports by the Belgian, British, French and German governments. Also included are special issues of illustrated magazines and memoirs of the war. Of the thirty-nine war songs in the collection, twenty-eight are in English and eleven are in French. These are in the form of sheet music and contain both lyrics and piano accompaniment. Among the reports are a history of the American military government in occupied Germany, 1918-1920 by Colonel I. L. Hunt, edited by Truman Smith, and a synopsis of the history of the European Service Division of the American Expeditionary Forces by Bryan F. Peters.

•  World War I Collection, Series I, Box 4, Photographs

3. John Hall Paxton Papers (MS 629): Correspondence, writings, photographs and printed materials of John Hall Paxton, American foreign service officer. The papers reflect primarily Paxton's service in China from 1925 to 1949, broken only by a year in Teheran in 1943. He made a dramatic escape from China (1949) and returned to the United States. He broadcast for the Voice of America, and returned as Consul to Isfahan, Iran in 1951, where he died in 1953. His papers include reports on Chinese economic and political conditions, memoranda on Nanking and the Nationalist takeover in 1927; an account of the U.S.S. Panay incident in 1937, to which he was an eyewitness; a record of his internment in Nanking by the Japanese in 1942, and articles and letters on his escape from China in 1949. An unpublished manuscript, Consul to Sinkiang, is among the papers, as are extensive collections of photographs of China and Iran. Correspondents include Everett Drumright, Margaret Mackiernan, wife of Douglass Mackiernan, and Willys Peck.

• Paxton Papers, Series I, Box 2: Memorandum and Notes on The Nanking Incident and its Aftermath, 1925 - 1929

4. Carolyn Davidson Hill Diary and Family Papers (MS 2122): The Carolyn Davidson Hill diary and family papers consist of the diary Hill kept during the Battle of Shanghai in 1949. The diary, photographs, and related material document the experiences of Hill, her husband Horace "Hod" Hill, and other workers at the Caltex Oil Terminal outside of Shanghai as the Nationalist and Communist forces engaged in intense fighting. The diary also discusses the Nationalist bombing of the Anchises, a British freighter in the Huangpu (Whangpoo) River on June 21, 1949. Carolyn subsequently compiled and edited the diary and wrote an introduction to it, which is part of this collection.

• Hill Diary and Family Papers, Series I: Box 1, Battle for Shanghai diary,

5. Henry Lewis Stimson Papers (MS 465): The papers consist of correspondence, letter books, speeches, articles, letters to the editor, statements prepared for presentation to Congress and substantial subject files with clippings, printed matter, reports, memoranda and photographs related to Henry Stimson's various public offices. While the official records of Stimson's service (as Secretary of War under President Taft, Secretary of State under Herbert Hoover and as Secretary of War in the cabinets of Presidents Roosevelt and Truman) are all in the National Archives, the substantial correspondence, as well as other papers, in this collection provide important records of his activities as a private citizen and in office and on special missions. His work in Latin America in helping to settle a dispute between Chile and Peru in 1926, and as the United States representative seeking to bring an end to a civil war in Nicaragua in 1927 is shown in the papers with first-hand reports and background material.
His service as Secretary of State under Hoover (1929-1933) is particularly well documented with memoranda of conversations with foreign diplomatic representatives, and briefing books presenting background information on foreign affairs for the period. Of major importance are Stimson's diaries which span the years 1904-1945, covering the entire period of his public career and including references to the early stages of the development of the atom bomb.

• Stimson Papers, Series XIV, Box 74, Diaries October 1, 1941- December 31, 1941

6. Lincoln MacVeagh Diaries (GEN MSS 2156): This collection contains diaries documenting Lincoln MacVeagh's work as an ambassador in Greece, South Africa, and Iceland with related guestbook and transcripts.

• MacVeagh Diaries, Box 2, Diaries from South Africa, Athens, and Cairo, 1943-1947

7. Hanson Weightman Baldwin (MS 54): The papers consist of correspondence, writings, subject files, research materials, publicity for books, and other papers of Hanson W. Baldwin, Pulitzer Prize winning journalist and military affairs reporter and editor for the New York Times from 1929-1968, and editor for Reader's Digest, 1968-1976. The papers relate to Baldwin's work and interests as a journalist and author and include correspondence with many high-ranking officers of the armed services, government officials, and writers and historians, as well as other members of the staff of the New York Times and Reader's Digest. Of particular interest are the subject files of printed materials and clippings which Baldwin collected and maintained for his own use. Included in these files are a number of important reports, transcriptions, and other items, some of which are not easily obtainable elsewhere.

• Baldwin Papers, Series I,  Box 9, Correspondence

8. Robert Abercrombie Lovett Papers (MS 1617): The papers consist of Robert Lovett's personal correspondence, speeches, photographs, and memorabilia, which date from the periods of his adult life when he was not serving in government. The papers document Lovett's personal friendships with business, military, and government associates and pioneer aviators from the Yale Naval Air Unit. The correspondence includes many exchanges with scholars doing historical research on World War II and the Truman administration.

• Lovett Papers, Series I, Box 24, Correspondence

9. Chester Bowles Papers (MS 629): The papers consist of correspondence, speeches, writings, photographs, clippings, oral history interviews, and other material documenting the personal life and professional career of Chester Bowles. Bowles' political career in Connecticut and his service as ambassador to India (1951-1953; 1963-1969) are detailed, as is his work as a foreign policy advisor, chairman of the Democratic Platform Committee at the 1960 national convention, and author and speaker on political affairs.

• Bowles Papers, Series Part VII, I Box 332: Lyndon Johnson

10. Henry Kissinger Papers, Part II (MS 1981): The papers consist of correspondence, memoranda, writings, speeches, photographs and other material that document the career of the diplomat, author and foreign policy expert and scholar Henry A. Kissinger.  Dr. Kissinger served as United States secretary of state from 1973 to 1977 and as assistant to the president for national security affairs (national security advisor) from 1969 to 1975.NOTE: The Kissinger Papers have been digitized and are searchable on Yale's digital collections. However, some folders have access requirements. If you would like to use the Kissinger Papers for your research, it is strongly encouraged you speak with Dr. Cochran to get an overview of the collections and these requirements. 

• Kissinger Papers, Part II, Series I, Box 100: Vietnam Trip, 1965 [folders, 14, 15, 16]

11. Cyrus R. and Grace Sloane Vance Papers (MS 1664): The Vance papers primarily document Cyrus R. Vance's professional and personal activities. Of particular significance are background materials, correspondence, position papers, and handwritten meeting notes relating to SALT II negotiation between the United States and the Soviet Union; the Camp David Summit and the signing of the Middle East Peace Treaty; diplomatic relations with the Far East, especially China; and negotiations to release the American hostages in Iran.

• Vance Papers Series II: Government Service (Carter Administration), Box 9

12. Albert William Sherer, Jr. Papers (MS 1487):The papers consist of correspondence, background files, notebooks, photographs, and audio tapes, which document Albert William Sherer's career in the Foreign Service. The papers include the notebooks Sherer kept as ambassador to the Republic of Guinea and numerous files concerning the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe and the Helsinki Accords.

• Sherer Papers, Box 3: Briefing books, background material, notebooks, personal files related to Republic of Guinea - ambassador (1970 Mar-1972 Jan)

13. Donald Lyman Papers (GEN MSS 2122): This collection contains diary entries, memos, calendars, and other papers created by, or related to, Donald Lyman. Materials also include a sixty-five page diary documenting Lyman's work in Mexico as Special Assistant to U. S. Ambassador John Gavin and Acting Deputy Chief of Mission from 1981-1984.

• Lyman Papers, Series I, Box 1: Diaries

14. New Haven Peace Coalition Collection (MS 2016): This collection is comprised of peace rally handouts, newsclippings, related third party materials, and correspondence of the New Haven Peace Coalition, a local grass-roots effort, begun to protest the Gulf War, 1990-1991, and later the Second Gulf War and related conflicts. Also included are materials related to the Connecticut Peace Coalition, a broader effort of the New Haven Peace Coalition, and the national Iraq Pledge of Resistance, 2003.

• New Haven Peach Coalition Collection, Box 1: Correspondence and Printed Material

15. L. Paul Bremer III Papers (MS 2123): The collection documents the career of L. Paul Bremer III in the United States State Department and his work in the private sector. The bulk of material in the collection centers on Bremer's tenure as administrator of the Coalition Provisional Authority in Iraq from May 2003 until June 2004. This material includes subject files, correspondence with his family, contemporaneous notes, speeches, and his daily schedules while in Iraq. Material related to the writing of his 2006 memoir, My Year in Iraq, is also part of the collection. Additional material including editorials, interviews, working papers, and notes provide insight into United States foreign relations during the final decade of the Cold War and the global war on terrorism.

• Bremer Papers, Series III, Box 13: Correspondence with Frances Bremer and Family (January 2004)