Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Yale University Library Today's Hours: Search the websiteOff-campus access

Physician Assistant Online Program: Mobile Point of Care Resources

This guide contains resources for students in Yale's Online PA Program, such as: key resources for success in the classroom and the clinic, information on accessing materials off campus, information on drugs, diagnoses, PE, and recommended mobile apps

Additional Mobile Resources

Evidence Based Point of Care Mobile Resources

ucentral logoUCentral - Evidence-Based Medicine Guidelines

The UCentral app can be downloaded from Apple's iTunes Store or Android Google Play. All content is installed by default including 5-Minute Emergency Medicine Consult, Johns Hopkins ABX Guide, Essential Evidence/POEMS, Harrison’s Manual of Medicine, Hopkins Manual of Gynecology & Obstetrics, Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests, Taber's Medical Dictionary, selected MEDLINE Journals & Unbound Medline search.

First Time Users - You must be on the Yale or YNHH network (or using remote access) to create your mobile account username and password. Either register for mobile download online or download the app and then click on "Learn more/Support" to complete your registration on your mobile device. If it asks for a serial number then you are not connected to the Yale/YNHH network.

pubmed for handhelds logo PubMed for Handhelds (PubMed4Hh)

PubMed4Hh can be downloaded from Apple’s iTunes Store or Android Google Play. You can use it to discover relevant health information at the National Library of Medicine. Journal abstracts, TBLs ("the bottom line" summaries) and full-text articles (requires a subscription to journals) can be accessed anywhere the Internet is available. It features:

  • PICO (Patient, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome): search with a well-formulated clinical query
  • askMEDLINE: a free-text, natural language search tool
  • Consensus Abstracts: Search using PICO or askMEDLINE then select concurring abstracts from journals. View selected TBLs and Abstracts in one page.
  • CQs: Use Clinical Queries to search journal articles. Indicate Category (therapy, diagnosis, etiology, prognosis, clinical predictions guideline) and Emphasis (specific, sensitive) to focus search strategy.
  • Journal Browser: read the latest abstracts and TBLs of MEDLINE indexed journals.

dynamed plus logo DynaMed Plus

DynaMed Plus can be downloaded from Apple’s iTunes Store or Android Google Play and requires at least 500MB of free storage space. This app provides full offline content to the DynaMed Plus point-of-care resource. To start the download process, go to DynaMed Plus on the Yale or YNHH network and click on the link “Get the DynaMed Plus Mobile App". Enter your email address and follow the instructions provided there.

uptodate logo UpToDate

UpToDate can be downloaded from Apple's iTunes Store, Android Google Play, or the Windows 8 store. An active internet connection - either WiFi or cellular data - is required to access UpToDate content. The application is free but users MUST register to create a personal username and password in order to use the mobile application. You must be on the Yale University or YNHH network (or using remote access) to register. Alternatively, go to UptoDate and click on "Login/Register" or the "Register Now" link and complete the registration form. You will be prompted to enter the username/password you just created the first time you use the app.

cochrane library logoThe Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is not available as an app, but does offer a mobile-friendly website. The Cochrane Library is an electronic publication designed to supply high quality evidence to inform people providing and receiving care, and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of health care prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.