It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See COVID-19 library updates.
This course guide has information, research tips, recommended resources, and links that will be beneficial to you as you investigate food and culture. You will find suggestions for research or tools to assist you in completing the class projects. If you have questions about this guide or about doing research on food and culture, please contact me!
If you're dining out in Colombia, don't miss the candied hormigas, an unusual after-dinner sweet made from the world's largest species of ant. While the Guane Indians eat these queen ants fried as a savory, city dwellers prefer them enrobed in caramel or chocolate.
In over 1,400 entries, this new edition reflects the many changes in American food consciousness during the twenty-first century. Once a niche market, food television has become ubiquitous, as are websites devoted to all sorts of regionalcuisines. New health consciousness has spawned obesity taxes, transfat and calorie-count laws, the slow food movement, and locavorism. Ethnic foods and the fusion of these have led to new crazes for such cuisines as Southwestern sushi and Filipino hamburgers. Also included: food science and nutrition, molecular gastronomy, genetically-modified foods, food controversies, regional foods, the volatile nature of food prices, and food traditions of major American cities..
Plenty of cultural insights and background history lend to a survey. It is clear, well-written, spiced with interesting examples, and illustrated with many evocative photographs taken by the author Everyone eats, but rarely do we investigate why we eat what we eat. Why do we love spices, sweets, coffee? How did rice become such a staple food throughout so much of eastern Asia. Everyone Eats examines the social and cultural reasons for our food choices and provides an explanation of the nutritional reasons for why humans eat what they do, resulting in a unique cultural and biological approach to the topic. This thoroughly updated Second Edition incorporates the latest food scholarship, most notably recognizing the impact of sustainable eating advocacy and the state of food security in the world today.
Comprehensive in scope, this two-volume encyclopedia covers agriculture and industry, food preparation and regional cuisines, science and technology, nutrition and health, and trade and commerce, as well as key contemporary issues such as famine relief, farm subsidies, food safety, and the organic movement. Articles also include specific foodstuffs such as chocolate, potatoes, and tomatoes; topics such as Mediterranean diet and the Spice Route.
The twenty-seven essays in this book are organized into five basic sections: historiography and disciplinary approaches as well as the production, circulation, and consumption of food. Chapters on historiography examine the French Annales school, political history, the cultural turn, labor, and public history. Disciplinary methods that have contributed significantly to the history of food including anthropology, sociology, geography, the emerging Critical Nutrition Studies. The final chapter in this section explores the uses of food in the classroom. The production section encompasses agriculture, pastoralism, and the environment; using cookbooks as historical documents; food andempire; industrial foods; and fast food. Circulation is examined through the lenses of human mobility, chronological frames, and food regimes, along with case studies of the medieval spice trade, the Columbian exchange, and modern culinary tourism. Finally, the consumption section focuses oncommunities that arise through the sharing of food, including religion, race and ethnicity, national cuisines, and social movements.
Did you know that "croissant" literally means "crescent" or that oranges are native to China? Do you realize that the word "pie" has been around for seven hundred years in English or that "toast" comes from the Latin word for "scorch"?From absinthe to zabaglione, this lively guide presents the meaning and origin of over 2,300 food and drink terms.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture by Solomon H. Katz; William Woys Weaver
Twenty years in the making, the first edition of Alan Davidson's magnum opus appeared in 1999 to worldwide acclaim. Its combination of serious food history, culinary expertise, and entertaining serendipity was recognized as utterly unique.
Encyclopedia of North American Eating and Drinking Traditions, Customs, and Rituals by Kathyln Gay
Larousse Gastronomique by Librairie Larousse Staff
Call Number: LSF TX349 L365X 2001 (Request for delivery)
Publication Date: 2001
Larousse Gastronomique has been an unparalleled resource. In one volume, it presents the history of foods, eating, and restaurants; cooking terms; techniques from elementary to advanced; a review of basic ingredients with advice on recognizing, buying, storing, and using them; biographies of important culinary figures; and recommendations for cooking nearly everything. Larousse Gastronomique is rich with classic and classic-to-be recipes, new ingredients, new terms and techniques, as well as explanations of current food legislation, labeling, and technology. User-friendly design elements create a whole new Larousse for a new generation of food lovers.
Provides a comprehensive and academically rigorous introduction to a range of key themes in the field of food, drink and culture and explores the complex relationships between food and drink, and individuals and society. It provides analysis of social conditions that shape these relationships and examine their consequences on areas such as health, the environment, the distinctiveness of cultures, and the cohesiveness of communities.
Contains over 6,150 entries covering all aspects of food and nutrition, diet and health, including 150 entries new to this edition. From absinthe to zymogens, the volume offers jargon-free definitions that clearly explain even the most technical of nutritional terms, covering types of food (including everyday foods, little-known foods such as payusnaya, and dishes from around the world, from accoub and fair maids to mushy peas and zakuska), nutritional information, vitamins, minerals, and much more.
Food History Almanac by Janet Clarkson
Call Number: SML Stacks TX353 .C568X 2014
Publication Date: 2013
The Food History Almanac covers 365 days of the year, with information and anecdotes relating to food history from around the world from medieval times to the present. The daily entries include such topics as celebrations; significant food-related moments in history from the fields of science and technology, exploration and discovery, travel, literature, hotel and restaurant history, and military history; menus from famous and infamous meals across a wide spectrum, from extravagant royal banquets to war rations and prison fare; birthdays of important people in the food field; and publication dates for important cookbooks and food texts and first known recipes. Food historian Janet Clarkson has drawn from her vast compendium of historical cookbooks, food texts, scholarly articles, journals, diaries, ships logs, letters, official reports, and newspaper and magazine articles to bring food history alive. History buffs, foodies, students doing reports, and curious readers will find it a constant delight. An introduction, list of recipes, selected bibliography, and set index, plus a number of period illustrations are added value."
Food Around the World by Ph.D., R.D., Professor Emeritus, Margaret McWilliams
Call Number: SML TX353 .M396X 2015 (LC) Oversize
Discover the evolution of food. Food Around the World: A Cultural Perspective, 4e is a unique and fascinating text examining the geography, history, economic, religious, and cultural factors influencing food consumption and availability. Appropriate for all students, especially those in food science, dietetics, and nutrition, it examines cultural food patterns and fosters an appreciation for various regions, nations, and cuisines. Chapters explore how and why different regions developed their unique cuisines and include recipes from each region. Vivid maps and photographs bring global cultures and foods to life as students travel through each chapter.
Street foods run deep throughout human history and show the movements of peoples and their foods across the globe. For example, mandoo, manti, momo, and b ozi: all of these types of dumplings originated in Central Asia and spread across the Old World beginning in the 12th century. This encyclopedia surveys common street foods in about 100 countries and regions of the world, clearly depicting how "fast foods of the common people" fit into a country or a region's environments, cultural history, and economy. The entries provide engaging information about specific foods as well as coverage of vendor and food stall culture and issues. An appendix of recipes allows for hands-on learning and provides opportunities for readers to taste international street foods at home."