A growing index of thousands of consolidated African archives as well as special collections consisting of manuscripts, newspaper clippings, photographs, articles and more, to researchers with an interest in Africa.

Publications, correspondence, reports, statements, and collected material document the work of the Washington Office on Africa and the issues addressed by its work. The Washington Office on Africa was founded in 1972 to support the movement for freedom from white-minority rule in southern Africa. Its activities have included the monitoring of Congressional legislation and executive policies and actions, as well as the publication of action alerts.

This collection is an addendum to the publications, correspondence, reports, statements, and collected material documenting the work of the Washington Office on Africa.

This collection is an addendum to the publications, correspondence, reports, statements, and collected material documenting the work of the Washington Office on Africa.

The records consist of lists, bibliographies, correspondence, finances and expenses, and publications documenting the activities and operations of the curator of the African Collection at Yale University Library.

The collection consists of printed material and memorabilia relating to current political, economic, and social conditions in South Africa. The majority of the material pertains to the African National Congress and the first democratic election of April 27, 1994.

The collection consists of correspondence; journals and diaries; government documents; reports and printed material of various organizations, political parties, and individuals; ephemera; and photographs which document various aspects of the history of South Africa and its political, economic, social, and cultural conditions from the colonial period of the 1800s to 1961, the year which marks the legalization of apartheid.

The collection documents the apartheid system in South Africa and the different stages of the liberation struggle which was instrumental in bringing about the decline of the system. The collection consists of printed materials such as newsclippings, publications, reports, press releases, newsletters, pamphlets and newspapers of the South African government, parliamentary parties, non-parliamentary groups such as the African National Congress, and American and other foreign groups.

The collection consists of legal papers and other materials from the firm of Cheadle, Thompson & Haysom of Port Elizabeth, South Africa. The firm represented Dr. Wendy Orr and forty-two other applicants in obtaining an interim restraining order against the South African police in September 1985. Included are affidavits of the applicants and printed matter relating to instances of excessive police force, legal challenges to the state of emergency measures, and legal aspects of apartheid.

The papers consist of signed manuscripts for the second and third articles of James Bryce's "Impressions of South Africa," which appeared in the Century Illustrated Monthly Magazine in 1896.

The papers consist of correspondence and printed material relating to South Africa and Namibia and document E. S. Reddy's work with anti-apartheid organizations around the world. Also included is material on Mahatma Gandhi and Indians in South Africa.

The papers include correspondence, writings, subject files, scrapbooks, clippings, legal documents, photographs, and other materials created and compiled by Benjamin Pogrund, the South African journalist. The collection extensively documents prison conditions in South Africa, the South African Communist Party, the Rand Daily Mail, the South African Coloured National Convention, the South African press, and many other organizations and individuals who worked to subvert apartheid.

The collection consists of printed material relating to political and social conditions, and development in Botswana.

The collection consists of printed material relating to current political, economic, and social conditions in Cameroon. Also included are photographs.

These records are the result of a project to photocopy and scan documents held by the Anglican Church of Congo and send them to the Yale Divinity School Library for safekeeping due to political upheaval in Congo (former Zaire) in the 2000s.

The collection consists of a ship's logbook and printed material relating to the history of Gambia and its current political, economic, and social conditions.

The collection consists of correspondence, printed material, writings, and photographs relating to the history of the Gold Coast (now known as Ghana) and the current political, economic, and social conditions.

These papers represent the source materials gathered by Breman while preparing her dissertation, "The Association of Evangelicals in Africa: Its History, Organization, Members, Projects, External Relations, and Message", which was published in 1996. More than 8,000 photocopies from documents in the offices of the Association of Evangelicals in Africa in Nairobi, Kenya are supplemented by materials related to Dr. Tokunboh Adeyemo and Dr. Byang H. Kato.

The collection consists of reports and printed material relating to political, economic, and social conditions in Kenya. Also included are photographs.

The collection consists of reports, speeches, and printed material relating to the history of Lesotho and its current political, economic, and social conditions. Photographs are also included.

The collection consists of printed material relating to political, economic, and social conditions in Malawi.

The papers consist of correspondence, subject files, printed material, maps, and photographs relating to Northern Rhodesia (now Zambia) and Nyasaland (now Malawi). Compiled by William Vernon Brelsford.

The papers are comprised of letters written by Roy Welensky to Flag Captain Gabriel Teixeira of Portugal, a former governor-general of Mozambique. The correspondence documents the condition and dissolution of the Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland as well as the state of affairs in Southern Rhodesia after the dissolution.

The collection consists of manuscripts and printed material relating to the history of Mauritius and its political, economic, and social conditions.

The collection consists of printed material, photographs, and textiles relating to the history of Mozambique and its current political, economic, and social conditions.

The collection consists primarily of printed material relating to political, economic, and social conditions in Namibia. Also included are photographs.

The records in this collection primarily document the ECFSA's work in relation to Namibia. The ECFSA has served as a link between Anglicans in Southern Africa and people in the United States by publishing a newsletter, issuing news releases, sponsoring public meetings, preparing and publishing special reports, sponsoring speaking and study tours for Southern Africans, raising funds to support education and provide relief in Southern Africa.

The papers include a unique collection of reports, memoranda, maps and anthropological and historical notes generated by officials and researchers who worked for the British colonial administration in Northern Nigeria. The materials document aspects of the policy of Indirect Rule pursued by the Colonial Government dating ca. 1908-1950, including the establishment and consolidation of a hierarchy of administrative units for ruling rural Nigerians.

The collection consists of printed material relating to political, economic, and social conditions in Rwanda.

Printed material and ephemera relating to historical, political, social, and economic conditions in Senegal. Chronological coverage is 1816-2013, in French, English, and Afrikaans.

The collection consists of printed material relating to political conditions in Seychelles.

The papers consist of correspondence, and official government and military directives to and from Holwell Walshe, which document his career in the 1st and 2nd West India Regiments, particularly his years as commander of Sherbro Island, Sierra Leone. Walshe took possession of Sherbro in September 1862 and successfully defended the island and revitalized its economy. He remained as Civil Commandant until 1871, when he was transferred to Singapore as a police magistrate.

The collection consists of printed material and photographs relating to political and social conditions in Swaziland.

The collection consists of printed material relating to political, economic, and social conditions in Tanzania. Photographs are also included.

The papers consist of reports, correspondence, and working papers documenting the professional life of Robert Stevens and the activities of the E.A.C.S.O., the East African Community, and the Commission on East African Cooperation.

The collection consists of printed material and photographs relating to political, economic, and social conditions in Zambia.