It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Includes printed ephemera and publications documenting the development of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer communities in their own voices. Includes mass circulation and small press publications.
Features historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals.
Sample collections within Archives of Sexuality and Gender:
The materials in this collection span the period from 1980 to 2000, tracing the development of the AIDS crisis in the 1980s, the formation of ACT UP in 1987, and its grassroots activities through the 1990s. ACT UP by-laws and administrative manuals showcase the group’s early history and structure, and financial records track operational expenses such as bills and postage, as well as fundraising auctions. Several years’ worth of meeting minutes from the founding New York chapter of ACT UP are included in the collection, as well as minutes and materials from other US and international chapters. Correspondence found here reveals the nature of the group’s dialogue and relationships with governments, corporations, other organizations, and the public.
Subject files include personal papers, correspondence, news clippings, photographs, and other media. Festivals, gay pride marches, conferences, music and comedy shows, theater, and other events were documented by ALFA. Records also trace ALFA's sponsorship of out lesbian softball teams in the local Atlanta leagues. Advertisements and listings of women-only and gay and lesbian resorts, bookstores, and other destinations can be found here as well. Also includes documents relating to issues of interest to older women within the community.
Kepner (1923-1997) was a writer, historian, and activist who founded the Western Gay Archives (later renamed the National Gay Archives and then the International Gay & Lesbian Archives). Vigorously active in the gay liberation movement, Kepner began collecting gay– and lesbian–related material in the 1940s and writing about the gay and lesbian community in the 1950s. The bulk of this collection consists of Kepner's writings, including autobiographies; non-fiction books and essays ; science fiction publications; journals and notebooks; as well as fiction, poetry and erotica. Researchers will also find Kepner's extensive correspondence files; class material for courses he taught in gay and lesbian studies; and minutes and organizational material for the many organizations in which he participated throughout his life.
Features documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
Includes documents ranging from letters, speeches, interviews, and ephemera covering the political evolution of gay rights as well as memoirs, biographies, poetry, letters and works of fiction that illuminate the lives of lesbians, gays, transgendered, and bisexual individuals and the community.