Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See
COVID-19 library updates.
Welcome to the Animal Behavior Subject Guide. In this guide you'll find:
Links to bibliographic databases for identifying primary journal literature
Links to related reference materials
Links to related key journals in the field
A note on related special collections materials in the library
To submit a collections purchase request to the library click here: Purchase Request. A library selector will be in touch with you.
Selected Books on Animal Behavior at Marx Library (click on covers & arrows)
Major Resources for Research in Animal Behavior
Major bibliographic database for zoology and natural history citations. Covers international journals 1864-.
Large bibliographic database for life sciences references and abstracts; premier database for botany citations. Covers international journals 1926-.
Web of Science
Interdisciplinary database for citations in any field of science. International coverage, 1900-. Offers cited reference searching besides topic and author searching.
Interdisciplinary bibliographic database with some journal coverage going back to 1823.
Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior
A 3-volume c2010 set from Elsevier.
For biology literature searches, offers complementary results to BIOSIS Previews searches.
Science Research Support Librarian - Life Sciences
Manage Your Literature Citations