Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

APHY 100: Energy, Environment, and Society: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the research guide for APHY 100 (Energy, Environment, and Society). In this guide, you will find:

  • Recommended resources that you can access 24/7
  • Databases for locating books, research articles, news and statistics
  • Sources for streaming video
  • Where to ask for help

Encyclopedia of Energy

Starting Your Research

Use these databases to locate articles and books on your topic.

Quicksearch
Find books, articles, and videos available through the Yale Library.

Scientific American
Locate articles on your topic in this popular science magazine. Click the search icon on the upper right of the page to find articles by keyword. Example: How Will People Adapt to Electric Cars?

Academic Search Premier
Research database combining popular and scholarly journal articles. You can limit to peer reviewed articles.

Public Policy Resources

CQ Press Library
Resource for research in U.S. government, public policy, and current affairs. Includes CQ Researcher which provides in depth coverage of current issues.

PAIS Index
Coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents related to public policy.

News and Statistics

Statista
Provides access to statistics and infographics gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources. You can download infographics in various formats to enhance your presentation. Example: U.S. electric vehicle industry - statistics & facts.

US Major Dailies
Same day full text access to five US newspapers (The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune) from 1980-present.

Nexis Uni
Includes print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers.

Factiva
Business-oriented database providing international coverage of thousands of news sources. Includes same-day and archival coverage of major and local newspapers from every corner of the globe.

Streaming Video

Academic Video Online
This platform provides access to thousands of video titles on the arts, humanities, science, and social sciences. The formats include documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, and award-winning films, all with accompanying transcripts. Example: The Race For The Electric Car. Produced by Shachar Bar-On (60 Minutes).

Docuseek2
Streaming access to documentary and social issues films and videos from a variety of distributors, including Bullfrog, Collective Eye and Icarus Films. Includes the Global environmental justice collection with films from around the world that explore human rights and environmental protection issues triggered by inequality, global development and climate change. Example: Saving Sunshine.

Films on Demand
This resource provides full-length streaming videos and clips. It covers different subject areas, genres and time periods, all sourced from various producers. Includes TEDTalks.

Subject Librarian

Andy Shimp's picture
Andy Shimp
Contact:
In alignment with Yale University's response to COVID-19, all appointments for research help will take place online using Zoom.

Presentation