Skip to main content

Art History Research at Yale: Home

Robert B. Haas Arts Library

reading room at Arts Library

Yale's Arts Library, linking Rudolph Hall and the Loria Center at 180 and 190 York Street, serves as the primary collection for the study of art, architecture, and drama at Yale. The Arts Library contains approximately 150,000 onsite volumes including important reference works, monographs, exhibition catalogs, and print periodicals, as well as digital resources, including online periodicals, article indexes, and databases. Arts Library Special Collections features artists' books and volumes on the book arts, fine printing, typography, and illustration, as well as archival materials and thesis projects from the Schools of Art, Architecture, and Drama. An additional 300,000+ volumes are stored in the offsite Library Shelving Facility for quick delivery to any Yale Library via Eli Express.

Today's Arts Library Hours

Welcome to Art History at the Haas Arts Library!

This guide will help you explore the many art resources available to you at Yale. Use the tabs above to navigate through this guide for tips on improving your research.

Don't forget: Many of our digital resources can only be accessed by subscription, which means they are limited to current Yale students, faculty and staff. If you are off-campus, you will need to connect using the VPN--see Off-Campus Access--or come to the Arts Library in person, and we'll be happy to help you.

How to Use the Haas Arts Library

One of the best resources available to you is the library and all that it holds! Search Orbis or Books+ online to see what we have, and visit us to use the print collections listed below. You can always ask us for help at the service desk on the main level. The Haas Arts Library desk is also a pickup point for Eli Express, Borrow Direct, and ILL books you’ve requested online.

Locating books in the Haas Arts Library - stacks map

Main Level
All Oversized (+) Books
Oversized Reference Collection and Serials (with circulating books)
All Current Periodicals
All Open & Closed Reserves
Patron Shelves

Lower Level
All Regular-sized Books
Regular-sized Reference Collection and Serials (with circulating books)
All Folio-sized Books

NJ18 Call Numbers

Books in the NJ18 sections of the stacks are about individual artists. They are filed in alphabetical order by artist's last name to facilitate quick browsing. Find more books by searching for the artist’s name in the library catalog. Please note: there is an NJ18 regular size section (lower level) and an NJ18 oversize (main level).

Arts Librarian

Lindsay King's picture
Lindsay King
Contact:
Associate Director for Access and Research Services,
Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library
Website

Arts Librarian

Alexandra O'Keefe's picture
Alexandra O'Keefe
Contact:
Kress Fellow in Art Librarianship
Robert B. Haas Arts Library
203-432-6219
Website