Yale University Library Research Guides: Indigeneity: Key Resources

Reference Sources

Native Peoples of the World: an Encylopedia of Groups, Cultures and Contemporary Issues by Steven L. Danver
This work examines the world's indigenous peoples, their cultures, the countries in which they reside, and the issues that impact these groups. [Print]
Indigenous peoples and environmental issues : an encyclopedia by Bruce E. Johansen From Argentina to Zimbabwe, the industrialized world's encroachment on native lands has brought disastrous environmental harm to indigenous peoples. More than 170 native peoples around the world are facing life-and-death struggles to maintain environments threatened by oil spills, explosions, toxic chemicals, global warming, and other pollutants. This unique resource surveys those indigenous peoples and the environmental hazards that threaten their existence, providing a wealth of information not readily available elsewhere. Arranged geographically, each entry focuses on the peoples of a particular country and the environmental issues they face, from the global warming and toxic chemicals threatening the Arctic Inuits, to the logging that is devastating indigenous habitats in Borneo. General entries overview such topics as climate change, dam sites, and Native American Concepts of Ecology. The 'Guide to Related Topics' and index provide access to recurring themes such as deforestation, hydroelectric power, mining, and land tenure.

Relevant Research Guides Outside of Yale

COVID-19 Resources for Indigenous People
Created by the University of Arizona Labriola Center, this guide provides a wealth of information that is international in scope
Edward Curtis Collection
According to the site, "The Curtis collection consists of more than 2,400 silver-gelatin, first generation photographic prints--some of which are sepia-toned--made from Curtis's original glass negatives.

Images from each of the geo-cultural regions documented in The North American Indian are represented in the collection: the Pacific Northwest, New Southwest, Great Basin, Great Plains, Plateau Region, California, and Alaska. Included are both studio and field photographs. A large number are individual or group portraits, and many subjects are identified by name. Other subjects include traditional and ceremonial dress, dwellings and other structures, agriculture, arts and crafts, rites and ceremonies, dances, games, food preparation, transportation, and scenery."
Labriola Center Research Guide
University of Arizona research guide that provides insight into a variety of sources
Law Library of Congress Indigenous Law Portal
Collected resources from the library of Congress
Mt Royal Indigenous Studies Research Guide
Guide created by Cree Metis Librarian/Scholar Jessie Loyer at Mt Royal University in Canada. Has a primarily Canadian Focus
Oxford University Research Guide on Indigenous Peoples' Rights
Legal research guide with information about Indigenous peoples- has wide geographic range
Sheridan College Indigenous Studies Research Guide
Sheridan College is a college in Canada. It provides this research guide that provides quite a bit of information for its Indigenous Studies program.
University of Saskatchewan Indigenous Studies Portal
From the site, "The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond."
UN Research Guide on the Permanent Forum of Indigenous Peoples
Research guide that centralizes resources through the UN about Indigenous peoples

Resources from IGOs and NGOs and others

Center for World Indigenous Studies: global community of activist scholars advancing the rights of indigenous peoples through the application of traditional knowledge.
United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Peoples (UNPFII): United Nations coordinating body for concerns and matters pertaining to the rights of indigenous peoples
- UN COVID-19 Indigeneity page
Indigenous People Major Group for Sustainable Development (IPMG) Resources: forum for coordination and planning in response to the 1992 Earth Summit
- IPMG National/Regional Reports
Indigenous Labor- ILO resources on Indigenous Labor
FAO Indigenous Resources: Resources from the UN's Food and Agricultural Organization regarding Indigenous people
Global Indigenous Data Initiative: Provides global resources that highlight protections of the data about Indigenous people include policy papers and more
Native Nations Institute- Tools and Resources: Provides resources on governance, including an Indigenous governance database. Also, provides resources for students
Protocols for Native American Archival Materials: Highlights best professional practices for culturally responsive care and use of American Indian archival material held by non-tribal organizations (language taken from website).
Indigenizing the News: Provides articles and insights on the experiences of Native Americans

IGO search engine

Use the Intergovernmental Organization Search Engine (a Google custom search) to search across hundreds of IGO websites:

NGO search engine

Use the Non-governmental Organization Search Engine to search across NGO websites. Sites were chosen based on their consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and also collated from University of Minnesota Human Rights Library, Duke University Libraries' NGO Research Guide, and the World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO).

Indigeneity: Key Resources

Reference Sources

Relevant Research Guides Outside of Yale

Resources from IGOs and NGOs and others

IGO search engine

NGO search engine

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries