Loide Marwanga. Transplants (detail), 2015. THESIS GD 2015 MAR. Special Collections, Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library, Yale University.
Lux et Femina: Women in Graphic Design at Yale highlights works by women who have graduated from the graphic design program at Yale School of Art, the first graduate program in graphic design in the United States. It represents 70 years of Yale's graphic design program by pairing the thesis books of 20 remarkable designers with a sample of their professional work in the form of books, postage stamps, posters, business cards, and more.
Curated by: Miko McGinty (B.A 1993 BA, M.F.A 1998) and Mar González Palacios, Associate Director, Arts Library Special Collections
The William H. Wright Special Collections Exhibition Area is located on the lower level of the Haas Family Arts Library
Friday, September 10, 2021 - Friday, February 25, 2022 (all day)
Continuing the celebrations of the 150th anniversary of Women at Yale, this virtual book display in the Robert B. Haas Arts Library is in conjunction with Lux et Femina: Women in Graphic Design exhibition in the Arts Library.
The physical book display showcases books from the Arts Library circulating collection designed and/or edited by a Yale graphic design graduates featured in the exhibition. Open for viewing the month of September near the Arts Library circulation desk!
Civic Action by 
The Noguchi Museum | a Portrait, by Tina Barney and Stephen Shore by
The celebrated New York museum captured by two of today's most respected photographers, Tina Barney and Stephen Shore.
Tea ceremony manua by
Published on the occasion of the exhibition Tom Sachs: Tea Ceremony at the Isamu Noguchi Garden Museum, New York, March 23, 2016-July 24, 2016.
Publisher information from website viewed 7/28/2016.
Signal. Image. Architecture by
Signal. Image. Architecture.​ aims to clarify the status of computational images in contemporary architectural thought and practice by showing what happens if the technical basis of architecture is examined very closely, if its technical terms and concepts are taken very seriously, at times even literally. It is not a theory of architectural images, but rather a brief philosophical description of architecture after imaging.
Instituting Reform by
Instituting Reform focuses an exacting lens on the Social Museum's history, motive, and meaning. Punctuated by generous portfolio sections, the book's five essays probe the museum's collection, using it as a case study to explore the early institutional uses of photographs as social documents, the systematization of exhibition display by reform organizations, and the role such institutions played in the formation of the modern research university.
Edna Andrade by
One of the foremost artists to emerge in Philadelphia in the 1960s, Edna Andrade (1917-2008) is now recognized as an early leader in the Op Art movement. Characterized by pulsating patterns, vivid colors, and a visual immediacy that surpasses narrative meaning, her work explores symmetry and rhythm through geometric design and structures inspired by nature.
A Modern World by
A Modern World draws upon the renowned collection of American decorative arts at the Yale University Art Gallery to explore the appearance and dissemination of modern design in the United States. This catalogue organizes roughly 300 examples of silver, glass, industrial design, furniture, medals, jewelry, and printed textiles into thematic groups that chart the aesthetic and social trends that defined American design from the Jazz Age to the Space Age.
Interaction of Color by
Originally issued in 1963 as a limited-edition set of commentary and 150 silkscreened color plates, the book introduced generations of students, artists, designers, and collectors to Albers's unique approach to complex principles. Lavishly produced as a two volume slipcased set, this book replicates Albers's revolutionary exercises, explaining concepts such as color relativity and vibrating and vanishing boundaries through the use of color, shape, die-cut forms, and movable flaps that illustrate his astonishing demonstrations of the changing and relative nature of color
In the Wake by
The catastrophic events of March 11, 2011 - the earthquake, tsunami, and ensuing nuclear meltdown of the Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Power Plant - have been called the triple disaster in Japan. The resulting images assembled in this lavishly illustrated volume are by turns poignant, searing, disturbing and often strangely beautiful. With interpretive essays from leading American and Japanese scholars and statements from the artists themselves, this book presents the unfolding process of how photography can address destruction, social change, anxiety and memory, through images that express emotions beyond words.
Katsura by
Originally published by Yale University Press in 1960, Katsura: Tradition and Creation of Japanese Architecture is the most significant photographic publication about the relationship of modernity and tradition in postwar Japan. Designed by famed Bauhaus graphic artist Herbert Bayer, Katsura comprises 135 black-and-white photographs by Ishimoto Yasuhiro depicting the 17th-century Katsura Imperial Villa in Kyoto, with essays by architects Walter Gropius and Tange Kenzo. Designed and typeset by Daphne Geismar.
The Home and the World by
A portrayal of the unique and vibrant city of Calcutta, shown in an intriguing array of captivating and visually arresting photographs. Photographer Laura McPhee, noted for her stunning large-scale landscapes and portraits of the people who live and work in them, has been traveling to eastern India for over a decade.
Culture Is Not Always Popular by
A collection of writing about design from the influential, eclectic, and adventurous Design Observer. Dedicated to the pursuit of originality, imagination, and close cultural analysis, Design Observer quickly became a lively forum for readers in the international design community. This book is a combination primer, celebration, survey, and salute to a certain moment in online culture.
John Lautner, Architect by
Designed with Lautner before his death in 1994, this oversized monograph is the only book available on the imaginative and exciting work of this modern master. It includes almost fifty houses, each described in detailed drawings and lavish photographs, as well as an interview in which Lautner discusses the most important influences on his work and his eccentric views on architecture. Designed by Lorraine Wild.
Scandinavian Design and the United States, 1890-1980 by
This stunning book examines design exchanges between the United States and Scandinavia over nearly a century and explores the fascinating reasons why Scandinavian design has continued to resonate with Americans. Published with the Los Angeles County Museum of Art and designed by Lorraine Wild and Xiaoqing Wang.
Léger by
This catalogue casts new light on the painting (reproducing all of its studies together for the first time), the avant-garde use of print media, and Léger's fascination with cinema and architecture, and contextualizes a network of international avant-gardes--including Blaise Cendrars, Le Corbusier, Jean Epstein, Piet Mondrian, Amédée Ozenfant, Francis Picabia, and Theo van Doesburg--in relation to Léger. Designed by Lorraine Wild and Xiaoqing Wang.
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved